Jo V. (jovan) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 302 - Page:
100 Ways to Improve Your Writing
100 Ways to Improve Your Writing
Author: Gary Provost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/6/2006


I was disappointed with how small the book is, but it does have some good advice in it. Geared primarily for writing articles rather than fiction, it still has something to offer every writer.


Addicted to Love
Addicted to Love
Author: Lori Wilde
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 3/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It's a cute story, but the author's voice didn't really work with it. The telling felt flat, while the story itself would have been wonderful had it been laced with little jabs of humorous understatement. It just didn't do it for me.


Ageless: The Naked Truth about Bioidentical Hormones
Ageless: The Naked Truth about Bioidentical Hormones
Author: Suzanne Somers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/15/2008


I've stayed away from Suzanne Somer's books because I remember her too well as Crissy Snow. However, I've recently started going to an anti-aging clinic and this book was recommended by my doctor. I found it extremely enlightening. It definitely reinforces what my doctor says (we don't have health care in this country; what we have is disease management.) Since I'm not happy with what I see in main stream medicine and since I don't wish to fall apart at the accepted rate of decay, I will be demanding my future doctors be familiar with the research presented here.


The Alchemy of Love and Lust
The Alchemy of Love and Lust
Author: Theresa L. Crenshaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/24/2008


While this is, in some ways, about male and female relationships, it's focus is largely on the hormones that cause the different ways we relate to each other. That said, it goes far beyond estrogen and testosterone. It deals with how these hormones change over our life cycles and even how to get the body to release some of these hormones, which is sometimes as simple as hugging someone, and how we respond to these various chemical messages.


All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 3)
All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 3)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 244
Review Date: 7/31/2006


Cornwell's third Scarpetta book. Much better than the later books when the characters are all angry and unpleasant.


Arrogance : Rescuing America From The Media Elite
Arrogance : Rescuing America From The Media Elite
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/12/2007


As good as I thought Goldberg's book Bias was, Arrogance is even better. If you think that the bias in news programs or in the paper is limited to how they handle politicians, read this. It will open your eyes to the many ways the public is being "handled" by the media.


Arrogance: Rescuing America From the Media Elite
Arrogance: Rescuing America From the Media Elite
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


As good as I thought Goldberg's book Bias was, Arrogance is even better. If you think that the bias in news programs or in the paper is limited to how they handle politicians, read this. It will open your eyes to the many ways the public is being "handled" by the media.


Arrogance: Rescuing America from the Media Elite
Arrogance: Rescuing America from the Media Elite
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/12/2007


As good as I thought Goldberg's book Bias was, Arrogance is even better. If you think that the bias in news programs or in the paper is limited to how they handle politicians, read this. It will open your eyes to the many ways the public is being "handled" by the media.


Arrogance: Rescuing America from the Media Elite
Arrogance: Rescuing America from the Media Elite
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/12/2007


As good as I thought Goldberg's book Bias was, Arrogance is even better. If you think that the bias in news programs or in the paper is limited to how they handle politicians, read this. It will open your eyes to the many ways the public is being "handled" by the media.


Arrogance: Rescuing America from the Media Elite (Large Print)
Review Date: 1/12/2007


As good as I thought Goldberg's book Bias was, Arrogance is even better. If you think that the bias in news programs or in the paper is limited to how they handle politicians, read this. It will open your eyes to the many ways the public is being "handled" by the media.


The Art Of Dramatic Writing : Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives
Review Date: 9/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


For anyone who has thoroughly integrated the idea that plot springs from character, this book is just a rehashing of that concept. It in fact rehashes and rehashes it until you start skimming, looking for some new insight.


The Art of Political War and Other Radical Pursuits
The Art of Political War and Other Radical Pursuits
Author: David Horowitz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/19/2009


This is a useful insight into why the Democrats do so much better at getting their candidates elected than Republicans do. In short, it's all about making people believe you care about them. Such a simple thing. And it's something Republicans are so bad at. But if they don't learn this simple lesson, it's plain that they will forever be the also-rans of American politics.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 975
Review Date: 8/13/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I'm not a big fan of talking animal stories. Give me the original narrated version of The Incredible Journey over the cutesy talking-animal version any day. (The first makes me cry; the second makes me barf.)

This book I loved. And I cried at the bittersweet ending. As a character who doesn't always understand what his people are doing (and sometimes understands better than they do), Enzo relates the story with compassion, understanding, and sometimes even acceptance of the unfairness of life. An exceptional book that's a deceptively easy read.


Author Unknown: Tales of a Literary Detective
Author Unknown: Tales of a Literary Detective
Author: Don Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Fascinating as this is, I thought the chapters lasted just a little longer than my interest in each case. Even so, this an interesting book. Particularly if one is interested in what makes each writer's voice unique.


The Awakening (Servant, Bk 1)
The Awakening (Servant, Bk 1)
Author: L. L. Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 7


People who like reading Lori Foster's books probably won't like L.L. Foster's books. These are not sweet little romances. Servant is a dark, violent, paranormal story with a romantic subplot. Within that genre expectation, I enjoyed it a lot. I enjoyed the repartee, the jockeying for position, between Luther and Gaby. But then I'm not a Lori Foster fan.


The Baker's Boy (Book of Words, Bk 1)
The Baker's Boy (Book of Words, Bk 1)
Author: J. V. Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 1/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The story seems good and the characters are interesting, but the writing was so amateurish, I couldn't finish reading it.


The Bastard on the Couch : 27 Men Try Really Hard to Explain Their Feelings About Love, Loss, Fatherhood, and Freedom
Review Date: 4/25/2009


The men who wrote the essays in this book range widely in their attitudes toward relationships. Since they are all writers, however, they are all articulate.

The major section headings are:
Hunting and Gathering
Can't Be Trusted With Simple Tasks
Bicycles for Fish
All I Need


Beauty
Beauty
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is not the book described in the book details. This is not a horse story. Rather Mcinley has written a lovely retelling of Beauty and the Beast.


Before the Dawn: An Autobiography
Before the Dawn: An Autobiography
Author: Gerry Adams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2007


A well written book by the Sein Fenn president of Northern Ireland. A good insight into how the modern troubles began. While this is a memoir, Gerry Adams eye is cast more outward to the society around him than in toward himself.


Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News
Bias: A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 1/12/2007


As good as I thought Goldberg's book Bias was, Arrogance is even better. If you think that the bias in news programs or in the paper is limited to how they handle politicians, read this. It will open your eyes to the many ways the public is being "handled" by the media.


1 to 20 of 302 - Page: