C G. (countrygal) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Around the World in the Middle Seat: How I Saw the World (and Survived!) as a Group Travel Leader
Review Date: 8/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


If you love to travel, this is a great read. Lots of good stories! Some are really funny. Some I laughed so hard and loud, my eyes watered up. And to believe this lady did all of this after the age of 40 is truly inspiring. She has made a difference in so many seniors lives because without her, some would have never left the US. Great advice in the last couple of chapters too! Even though I have traveled solo out of the country on a couple of occasions, I can take away some solid advice she gives in those chapters. I can't wait to read her other book - 7 Continents before 70.


Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Author: Jim Edgar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 4/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Lots of cute and funny pictures. Some of the photo comments have drug and sexual references, so parents be advised.


Better Off: Flipping  The Switch On Technology
Better Off: Flipping The Switch On Technology
Author: Eric Brende
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/1/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Good look at "regular" folks looking to reduce their dependence on technology. Actually makes you think about your own use. They continue to practice some of the skills they lived after the move as well. A good drop out book.


Car Camping: The Book of Desert Adventures
Car Camping: The Book of Desert Adventures
Author: Mark Sundeen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great escape reading. Young man travelling and working odd jobs around the desert in search for adventure. Ending up making friend and living a an old - what I would call and earthship - built by an old Nazi and turned into a pig farm. He trained and work as a riverboat guide on the Colorado. Oh to have the freedom to do what he did makes for good escapist-type read.


Mississippi Solo : A River Quest
Mississippi Solo : A River Quest
Author: Eddy Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/3/2007


Absolutely fabulous tale of a black man in the 80s doing a solo trip in a canoe down the Mississippi river. Interesting characters and insights of himself. One of my favorite travel essay books.


Mutant Message Down Under
Mutant Message Down Under
Author: Marlo Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/25/2007


Great story about walking in the outback.


Ramona the Pest (Ramona Quimby, Bk 2)
Ramona the Pest (Ramona Quimby, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Cleary, Louis Darling (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 4/25/2007


I loved this book as a kid in the 70s and I am sure kids today would love it as much as I did.


Rubyfruit Jungle
Rubyfruit Jungle
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book is required reading for all lesbians. Rita Mae is a fabulous author and I dearly loved this book.


Running with Scissors: A Memoir
Running with Scissors: A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 525
Review Date: 4/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This guy had an interesting childhood. A good read, much better than the movie.


The Survival of Jan Little
The Survival of Jan Little
Author: John Man
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Intriguing story of a nearly blind/deaf woman raising a daughter while homesteading in Mexico and Brazil in the 50s to 70s. A true homesteader and intellectual woman who's daughter and 2nd husband die while she is in the jungle. Left to fend for herself for a while, she not only survives but thrives despite what is place in her path along the way. After reading this book, I would really like to see the BBC documentary done on Jan Little.They managed to live in the jungle without a lot of technology and without destroying hardly any of the rain forest for their gardening and basic needs.


The Thousand Mile Summer
The Thousand Mile Summer
Author: Colin Fletcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/19/2007


Great story about a hike in 1958 the length of California from Mexico to OR. Great glimpse of hiking of a then soon to be hiking author guru.


Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith
Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 569
Review Date: 5/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great informative book about Mormons researched from a non-Mormon perspective. I have a new appreciation for Mormons after reading the stories in this book.


A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail
A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 4/17/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is one of my favorite books of all time. I love books about hiking. This is about 2 fat boys setting out to hike the AT. Bill's partner starts throwing stuff out of his backpack within the first day or so. Funny and interesting. Led me to read most of Bill's books, but I like this one the best.


Walking the Trail
Walking the Trail
Author: Jerry Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book several years ago. I loved it. This guy walked the Trail of Tears from Oklahoma backwards to the beginning to the Cherokee homeland. He met several people and the book has historical tibits. If I still had this book, I would read it again.


Weird Hikes: A Collection of Bizarre, Funny, and Absolutely True Hiking Stories
Review Date: 4/26/2007


I love stories about hikes. This guy went on over 500 and only had 13/14 weird experiences like compass anomolies, crytozoology and mad deer. Good fun reading book. Some of the stories jump around, but other than that a good read.


1 to 15 of 15