Maureen (Missy1019) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 102 - Page:
30 Days
30 Days
Author: Christine D'Abo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/14/2015


Wished more plot less sex, very predictable. A sequel 30 Nights set to come out


Another Piece of My Heart
Another Piece of My Heart
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2012


I initially didn't like it but midway I really got into it, it was a love/hate relationship since you really felt sorry for the stepmom but then as the story develops you learn more about the other characters that you start to feel empathy for them as well. I really felt sad by all the turmoil and chaos in the story and see how this happens a lot in real life too. Green writes such a gripping story and makes the characters so real to life. I would definitely recommend this book. Get ready to lose yourself in a great story because it is like a rollercoaster ride.


The Art of Forgetting
The Art of Forgetting
Author: Camille Noe Pagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/3/2012


Friendship stories are the best, especially of best friends who are so different. I thought the storyline was interesting but the story was written in a choppy fashion. Most of the story doesn't center on the friendship but rather with the guy they both had an interest with and what happens when she breaks the pact and makes contact with him. I didn't like the way the storyline was going; expecting the reconciliation process to be much more interesting than what it was. Highly disappointed since I really didn't feel loose ends were tied up clearly or meaningfully. This supposed best friend does not leave me feeling sorry for her, memory loss or not, it just leaves me to feel she is just as manipulative as she was before the accident. Yet she gets away with what she does because of her new condition. Makes me feel despicable that their best friendship continues!


Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother
Author: Amy Chua
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/10/2011


I was interested to see what all the hype was about and very curious to read this story. It started out very engaging and I could very well relate to what she was saying growing up in an Asian home myself. But the whole story revolves around her obsession with getting her children to practice music which 1) you get tired of even reading about and 2) really feel bad for the children. She tries to redeem herself in the end by saying how her children appreciate her for pushing them so hard but I can't imagine what the children lost in the process. She defines that giving her children this hard discipline leads to happiness in the Chinese sense which I don't agree. Success does not mean happiness and the way she ended her story was weak, as if she had to come to conclusion as to how she chose to raise her children to justify her doing it in this way.


Before I Forget (Charnwood)
Before I Forget (Charnwood)
Author: Melissa Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/5/2011


Interesting storyline about memory loss...I am reading the book and wait it has been done before! It reminds me of the movie 51st Dates with Drew Barrymore....wait a second did the movie copy Melissa Hill's idea or vice versa?


The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 1/31/2011


This was a well written story about best friends and conflicting roles with other family members. I really enjoyed this out of all her other stories because it was easy to relate to. How many of us had friends who were from a different level of class as you or who was more beautiful? You won't be disappointed with this story!


The Best of Me
The Best of Me
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 11/6/2011


Nicholas Sparks knows how to write romance, for a guy that is surprising. He builds and describes love relationships that one can only yearn for in real life. I really like his books but this one feels like a combination of The Notebook and another of his past novels combined. A predictable ending....a death! Geez why must he always kill someone off. But he certainly is not original with his surprise ending--no surprise there, but won't spoil it for you all who haven't read it. Let's just say what are the odds that it's from someone we all know.


A Black Tie Affair
A Black Tie Affair
Author: Sherrill Bodine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/16/2010


This book didn't hold my attention like her first book did. I was thoroughly disappointed by the simple storyline and lack of romance. I think what bothered me is the idea that a dress can have some powerful impact just because of its historical value.


Blame It on the Bachelor (All the Groom's Men, Bk 2) (Harlequin Blaze, No 673)
Blame It on the Bachelor (All the Groom's Men, Bk 2) (Harlequin Blaze, No 673)
Author: Karen Kendall
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/19/2012


Oh boy what have these books come to? I cannot believe there is a chapter about a dead fish and him having a silly burial on it. And then to talk about spraying air freshener in the bathroom because he just came out of it, this just gets bad to worse!!


Borrowed & Blue
Borrowed & Blue
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/20/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This is not a new book. It is a combination of her books so people are buying it thinking she has a new one out.


The Broken
The Broken
Author: Tamar Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/12/2016


What a haunting engrossing story. Your typical adultery storyline where the husband leaves the wife for another woman. It was very well written, and leaves you hanging on to find out what happens. Without giving much away, I kind of suspected how things would end.


Burning Up (Harlequin Blaze)
Burning Up (Harlequin Blaze)
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/14/2008


Very excellent read...just like the original ones.


By Appointment Only
By Appointment Only
Author: Janice Maynard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/22/2009


Out of all the books I read by this author, this one was not bad. I like that the storyline tied in well together and not just 3 short stories of 3 characters like her other books. This one held a plot, storyline flowed, and very sexual.


Can't Stand The Heat
Can't Stand The Heat
Author: Louisa Edwards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 8/16/2010


What a disappointment. There could have been more done on the relationship but very disjointed. I expected this to be hotter but there was no heat. I was so annoyed by the storyline of the brother and his sex life. I have her other novel, and not as motivated to start it.


Cool Down and Work Through Anger (Learning To Get Along)
Review Date: 11/9/2010


Excellent resource for kids dealing with anger. It gives a lot of info on how to help kids calm down and gives activities. I would highly recommend it for children ages 5-9.


The CoParenting Toolkit: The Essential Supplement for Mom's House, Dad's House
Review Date: 9/5/2013


I was hoping for a more practical usage provided in the book but felt like it was just filled with pictures of people and not enough material to use for parents going through divorce. Highly disappointed!


The Coupon Mom's Guide to Cutting Your Grocery Bills in Half
The Coupon Mom's Guide to Cutting Your Grocery Bills in Half
Author: Stephanie Nelson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/3/2011


Interesting tips; however the sites she recommends like Upromise is strictly for educational use, and grocerymiles.com ended March 2010. I think that this book needs to be updated since I haven't got through the whole book yet and have looked up two of the sites and find it not what I thought it was.


Crazy In Love
Crazy In Love
Author: Chris Manby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/17/2010


I wouldn't say this was one of her better books; just annoying on some degrees and how the story weaves gets even more intolerable. Fast easy read, just not a likeable main character.


The Day of Second Chances
The Day of Second Chances
Author: Julie Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/24/2017


I don't like it when authors rename books. This one is also called Falling or After the Fall


Disarming the Critical Partner: How to End the Cycle of Criticism and Get the Love You Want
Review Date: 9/14/2015


Too many case histories; all illustrates schemas


1 to 20 of 102 - Page: