Sandra B. (annikaklanderud) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
The Boy Who Would Live Forever (Chomps)
The Boy Who Would Live Forever (Chomps)
Author: Moya Simons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2013


My sons (ages 11 & 9) thoroughly enjoyed this book! They say it was very creative with a great ending.


Delirium (Delirium, Bk 1)
Delirium (Delirium, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Oliver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 11/29/2013


After hearing such good reviews about this book, I was looking forward to reading it. The book was not terrible but I was disappointed. So much more could've been done with the idea. I thought it started kind of slow (it took about 100 pages for it to really get started). Then once it got going there was just too much talk about how in love the 2 main characters were. Bottom line: I kept waiting for something to happen and when it finally did it was a bit too predictable.


A Future and A Hope
A Future and A Hope
Author: Jon Courson
Book Type: Perfect Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/16/2014


This is my favorite book(other than the Bible). How encouraging! God's power is made perfect through my weakness! Thank God for the difficult times. They, coupled with the Word of God,are what make me who I will be for eternity!


The Hiding Place
The Hiding Place
Author: Corrie Ten Boom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/15/2014


Amazing book! It is always exciting to see God prepare a Christian for important events and then guide him through them! Corrie learned how to think and live like a Christian. What a powerful testimony! Trust God and when you look back, you will understand why the trials were essential to your life.


The Last Sin Eater
The Last Sin Eater
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Good book! I enjoyed reading it. No need to worry about bad language or crude speech.


Lord of the Flies
Lord of the Flies
Author: William Golding
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1772
Review Date: 8/15/2014


This is one of my favorite books! Sometimes it is hard to look in the mirror and see our true nature. It hurts. It is ugly. It makes you mad. The Bible tells us that we are all sinners and capable of unspeakable evil. Thankfully Jesus died in our place and He makes us good! Whatever you say about this book, it is very interesting!


The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bk 1)
The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Bk 1)
Author: James Dashner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 1/5/2015


I am a mother of 10. This is the best book (of any genre) that I have read in a long time. It is a page-turner that is never boring. The only thing I do not like is the profanity disguised as an unknown language. Having said that, I think this is an action packed thrill ride. What an original idea! I am not a fan of sequels, however, and I will not be reading the next book in this series.


Of Mice and Men
Of Mice and Men
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/15/2014


This book contains a great deal of swearing! Other than that, I really like this book! The themes are great! The story is so very intriguing. What a picture of life during the Great Depression. The ending took me completely by surprise! It gives you a lot to think about.


On Writing
On Writing
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 8/15/2014


I do not like Stephen King's books but I love this book! It is a must read for writers. This book is sincere. If writers choose to ignore his advice on most of these points, they will find out the hard way that he is right!


A Place for You: Reflections on Heaven
A Place for You: Reflections on Heaven
Author: Jon Courson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/15/2014


Love this book! It is one of the best! This Bible stuff is real! God's plans for us are so much more exciting than we could ever imagine! And right now Is my only chance to prepare for eternity!


The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio : How My Mother Raised 10 Kids on 25 Words or Less
Review Date: 8/15/2014


Maybe it's just because this book hits so close to home, but I really enjoyed this one.God used this Mamma's talents and interests to bless this family and it is entertaining to see how He did.


Sideways Stories from Wayside School (Wayside School, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Hilarious! Kids love it!


Stealing home (Houghton Mifflin reading)
Stealing home (Houghton Mifflin reading)
Author: Mary Stolz
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2013


My 11 year old son really liked this book. If a boy likes baseball this would be a good book for him.


The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale
Author: Diane Setterfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 921
Review Date: 8/15/2014


I really enjoyed this book! She could've shortened the book by a couple hundred pages and still told an entertaining story, but it is a good book. This book truly is a page-turner! Once I got into it, I couldn't wait to see how everything was going to turn out! It was hard to put down.


The Village Bride of Bevery Hills
The Village Bride of Bevery Hills
Author: Kavita Daswani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/1/2013


This was a good read. A nice alternative(dealing with Indian culture) to the run of the mill chic lit book.


Wayside School Gets a Little Stranger (Wayside School, Bk 3)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


So funny! Enjoyable for kids as well as adults! Never a dull moment!


Wayside School Is Falling Down (Wayside School, Bk 2)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Awesome! All kids love this book!


A Week in the Woods
A Week in the Woods
Author: Andrew Clements
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/1/2013


My 11 year old son says that this is a good book! If you liked Frindle you'll like this book.


Woe Is I: The Grammarphobe's Guide to Better English in Plain English
Review Date: 8/15/2014


This book is great! Excellent for writers! The author brings up so many good points that I would not have otherwise considered. It is a great book to keep handy for reviewing grammar. If you enjoy language and words, this one will be fun for you!


1 to 19 of 19