Patricia R. (love2learn) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
365 Kids' Confessions
365 Kids' Confessions
Author: Virginia Goode Kite
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/16/2006


Contains 365 kid-friendly readings that are based on (or in many cases are) scripture. The subtitle is "Making God's Word Personal Little Lives."


Address Unknown
Address Unknown
Author: Kathrine Kressmann Taylor, Kressmann Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/20/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A stirring and disturbing short novel about pre-WWII Germany, written in the form of a series of letters.


An Angel's Story
An Angel's Story
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/16/2006


A classic Christmas story by Max Lucado. Great gift book for adults or kids ages 10 and up.


Beginning Addition - Basic Mathematics Skills
Review Date: 8/25/2006


Learn to:
Count sets of objects
Add numbers to 10
Add umbers in columns

Fun Activities:
Matching
Coloring
Hidden pictures


Bib: The Promise Devotional Bible - The Bible in a Year
Bib: The Promise Devotional Bible - The Bible in a Year
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/15/2006


Read through the Bible in a year, in the Contemporary English Version. Each day's reading includes passages from the Old Testament, Psalms, Proverbs, and the New Testament. You can start on any day of the year. My husband and I have both used this Bible and liked it for our personal reading.


Children's Bible Stories New Testament
Review Date: 8/14/2006


Short (1-page) Bible stories, followed by two questions about the story. This would be a good bedtime Bible for parents to read with their five to eight year old.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 552
Review Date: 11/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


As a white mom raising an adopted black boy, I really appreciated this moving book.


Confessions for Raising Winning Kids
Confessions for Raising Winning Kids
Author: Cathie Dorsch
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/14/2006


This Christian mini-book helps parents understand the power of their spoken words to and about their children. It includes numerous scriptural prayers for kids. I know the author personally - actually, she was my co-worker and matron of honor! - and can say that her mini-book is powerful.


Cursive Handwriting
Cursive Handwriting
Author: Jan Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/14/2007


This is the cursive handwriting book for the series, "Handwriting Without Tears." It was very helpful for my dyslexic, dysgraphic son, who now has a fairly legible script.


The Debt Term-O-Nator
The Debt Term-O-Nator
Author: John Avanzini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2006


Totally practical; gives DETAILED, dollars-and-cents charts to show how to pay off specific amounts of debt at specific interest rates in specific amounts of time. Our family doesn't carry debt, but for those who do and want to end the cycle, this book is a quick read and simple, PRACTICAL start.


Early Learner Math Workbook - Preschool, Grades K-1
Review Date: 8/26/2006


A thick math workbook with nine chapters of activities for children ages (approx) 3-6


Exploring Mathematics/Practice Workbook Grade One
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A first-grade math review workbook. Covers addition facts up to 12+12 and related subtraction facts. Gives practice in adding and subtracting one- and two-digit numbers, WITHOUT any carrying or borrowing. Includes simple word problems and also reviews time, money, and a bit of measurement. 148 pages. Very useful.


First Grade Math - Basic Mathematics Skills
Review Date: 8/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Workbook covering a review of:
Counting & writing to 100 by 1s, 5s, 10s
Penny, nickel, dime, quarter
Time to the half-hour
Adding & subtracting to 10


The Great International Math on Keys Book
The Great International Math on Keys Book
Author: Ralph A. Oliva, M. Dean LaMont, Linda R. Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book came with my very first handheld calculator, from Texas Instruments. I was in high school at the time, and I thought this book was just spiffy!


Hey Mom, Can I Ride My Bike Across America?: Five Kids Meet Their Country
Review Date: 12/7/2006


I loved this book. This group of kids and teachers did an AMAZING thing by bicycling all the way across America, carrying everything on their bikes. What a heartwarming story!


Holiday Ideas
Holiday Ideas
Author: Inc. Barbour & Company, Inc Editors Barbour Publishing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2006


full of neat ideas for making your family's Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays special and meaningful


Holt Algebra 2 with Trigonometry
Holt Algebra 2 with Trigonometry
Author: Eugene Nichols, et al
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 8/26/2006


High school text book including answers (in back of book) to odd-numbered problems


Holy Cows And Hog Heaven: The Food Buyer's Guide To Farm Friendly Food
Review Date: 8/9/2006


"the food buyer's guide to farm friendly food"


How to Avoid Housework : Tips, Hints and Secrets to Show You How to Have a Spotless Home Without Lifting
Review Date: 8/24/2006
Helpful Score: 9


VERY helpful tips - and lots of them.


It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
Author: Lance Armstrong, Sally Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 8/24/2006


An unbelievable story!


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: