Hannah H. (Apollyn) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Absolute Boyfriend, Volume 1 (Absolute Boyfriend)
Absolute Boyfriend, Volume 1 (Absolute Boyfriend)
Author: Yuu Watase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 11/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


After reading the first few pages I almost wanted to put the book down. I really did not like it at all at first, but I continued on and am glad I did. The story was kinda scattered and stuff making bits harder to understand, but other than that it was a light, fun manga to read.


Absolute Boyfriend, Volume 3 (Absolute Boyfriend (Graphic Novels))
Absolute Boyfriend, Volume 3 (Absolute Boyfriend (Graphic Novels))
Author: Yuu Watase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 12/2/2009


This was a good third installment of the series, although I did feel like it was a little rushed. There were a few parts where I had to re-read to fully understand what was happening since the art didn't help, but overall it was a good read. I'm looking forward to receiving the fourth book.


The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 11/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I wasn't really sure what to expect when I started reading this book. I actually had a friend that guessed what was going on before I even got to the parts in the book. Overall it was an ok story; not something that I would normally read. If you are looking for a book with a lot of action then this is definitely not it, it's more of a "who am I?" type of book with more thought and emotion in it than anything else.


Angel Sanctuary, Vol. 3
Angel Sanctuary, Vol. 3
Author: Kaori Yuki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/11/2009


I don't want to say any spoilers, so I'll just say that this is a great third volume of the series.


Big Fish
Big Fish
Author: Daniel Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 5/11/2009


I don't believe that I have ever read a book quite like this. I did like that it was a compilation of a bunch of short chapters/stories, that definitely kept it interesting. I do think the ending was the best part of the book (not in a bad way). I wouldn't recommend this book to everybody though, since it was quite an odd book.


Bride of the Water God 1
Bride of the Water God 1
Author: Mi-Kyung Yun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/25/2011
Helpful Score: 2


The first thing that drew me into this manwha was, of course, the art. Each page is beautifully drawn, but it has to be to make up for the lack of plot and understanding of what is happening.

Scenes switch very quickly and sometimes seem to already be in the middle of an event or dialogue with another character. This makes some spots in the manwha confusing, but it gets back on track within a page or two.

Personally I'm going to continue with this series, but it's the art that's making me come back, not the story.

I would definitely recommend this anyone interested in mythology and lore. The art definitely compliments that aspect well.


The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 1)
The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 1)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure, Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 11/18/2009


This was my first dabbling into the erotic genre and I must say I wasn't too impressed. I had read that there are a lot of spanking's and overall just Beauty along receives 17+. If you counted everyone else's it would be well above 40. Nothing in the book really surprised me although some of the ways they punish the slaves are pretty creative. Overall I didn't enjoy the book, but I didn't hate it either so I gave it 2 and 1/2 stars.


Descendants of Darkness, Volume 1 (Yami no Matsuei)
Descendants of Darkness, Volume 1 (Yami no Matsuei)
Author: Yoko Matsushita
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/19/2009


I agree with the other reviewer...I was confused quite a few times by the dialogue placement and had to re-read a few pages to get it in the right order. Other than that, it was a very nice first volume.


Gathering Blue (Giver, Bk 2)
Gathering Blue (Giver, Bk 2)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 3/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I remember reading this book back in middle school. The Giver was part of the reading curriculum, and I remember picking up this book afterwords. It was absolutely amazing and I would highly recommend it to anyone.


Godchild, Volume 3
Godchild, Volume 3
Author: Kaori Yuki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/29/2009


I really liked the "Mortician's Daughter" story in the volume of the manga. So far in this series the only thing that confuses me are the fight scenes....I can never really tell what's going on. That's my only complaint.


Her Majesty's Dog Volume 1
Her Majesty's Dog Volume 1
Author: Mick Takeuchi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/1/2011


At first I was skeptical about the art and story by just looking at the covers. I'm glad I gave it a chance though since it turned out to be a good first volume. Inside the art is better than what's on the front cover, so I was pleasantly surprised. Another thing I really enjoyed is how each chapter is a little story/situation that the characters get into. I know not all manga's are like that, but it fits really well for this series.

I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys magic, legends, and a little romance. I'll be continuing this series as well.


I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 8/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I did not read this book straight through. I skipped around, but I believe that I ended up reading all of the stories. I'm an open minded person with a different sense of humor so I was quite amused by this book. I'm just glad nothing like what these stories talk about has ever happened to me.

I recommend this book to anyone with an open mind, an unusual sense of humor, and who is not grossed out easily.


If I Should Die Before I Wake
If I Should Die Before I Wake
Author: Han Nolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/2/2009


This was a book I started reading without knowing anything about it prior. It starts a bit slow but once it gets into Chana's story it gets really hard to put down. It really gets into the nitty gritty about what happens in the camps and what it takes just to stay alive. Overall it was a good book, and I'm glad I read it.


Le Portrait De Petite Cossette 1 (Le Portrait de Petite Cossette)
Review Date: 9/25/2010


What first drew me in to read this manga was the art. However, the story itself moves incredibly fast and I really have no idea how much time passes in the first volume. It gets right into the main plot with basically no introduction. It's just like "BAM! I'm here, we're doing this."

I will read the second volume since there are only two in the series. Personally, I would have liked it to be more informative and at a slower pace, especially since reading a little paragraph about the plot made me understand it a lot more than reading the first volume did.


Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity
Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity
Author: Kerry Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 8/13/2010
Helpful Score: 5


I read this book a while ago, but I still remember that I really liked it. I read it all in one sitting. I could relate to the author since I have displayed some behavior that mimics hers. I have learned lessons though, so I know longer act out in that manner, but it was interesting for me to read about someone who thought in that same way as I did.

I would recommend this book to anyone with an open mind.


Losing It (Red Dress Ink)
Losing It (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Lindsay Faith Rech
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 4/16/2009


I actually almost stopped reading this book. The main character came across as very juvenile to me at first, but I continued reading since I have never given up on a book before. Overall I ended up liking it and the last half is definitely better than the first.


More Than You Know
More Than You Know
Author: Beth Gutcheon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 5/2/2009


This book was definitely different than what I expected, but I still really enjoyed. I especially enjoyed how there were two time periods going on in every other chapter to tell the whole story. This method kept the book very interesting and hard to put down. I definitely recommend it to anyone, not just people who enjoy ghost stories.


More Than You Know
More Than You Know
Author: Beth Gutcheon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/26/2009


I definitely was not expecting the time changes with each chapter, but it was a good way to keep me turning the pages. It ended up being different than what I was expecting, but it was still overall a very good read.


The Queen's Knight (Queen's Knight)
The Queen's Knight (Queen's Knight)
Author: Kim Kang Won, Kang Won Kim, Jeannie Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/25/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This manga was actually kind of hard for me to understand at first. It jumped around a lot and seemed out of place until I got used to the style. I'm not really a fan of the art, or the dialog, but my confusion with it makes me want to read the next volume. The art would actually change style as well at random points which would confuse me as to which character was who.

Overall I don't really think it has a good plot line, interesting dialog, or even decent art, but it has sparked my curiosity with how it all fits together.


Saving Alice
Saving Alice
Author: David Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


First off I have to say that this book turned out to be very different from how I pictured it to be before I started reading it. Overall the book moved kinda slow and things were way too drawn out. It seemed the Author was hurrying to tie up everything in the end. Alice rarely makes an appearance in the book, making me wonder at the title. Overall I guess this book just wasn't for me.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: