Carol F. (cactusflowerwomen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 363 - Page:
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 244
Review Date: 4/21/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Was well written and researched. One wonders how we ever gained our independence, with such a ragtag army and no generals with much if any military experience.


The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 11/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Ebershoff uses many styles from letters and journals to tell the story of Brigham Young's "19th" wife, Eliza,tho she was probably a lot higher number as Young didn't count the wives he was no longer having intimate relations with, the barren, and the old wives. Eliza leaves Young and the church to campaign for the banishment of polygamy and the horrible effect on the many wives, children and polygamous men, as well. I learned a lot of history which I enjoyed, but the last 100 pgs dragged so much I struggled for several days to make myself finish it. 'Course I have to read all the prologs, epilogs and footnote information. A worthy read, just for the historical information.


22 Britannia Road
22 Britannia Road
Author: Amanda Hodgkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/21/2014


I loved this bk, which is a great historical fiction book. To quote another Amazon reader: "This book is vividly written and has complexity to the plot that continues to draw you in right up until the last chapter. The long lasting effects of war on people are brilliantly portrayed in the story. In post war Britain, the couple has every advantage- an intact family, a house, a car, a good job - but the lingering effects of what happened to them during the war destroy their chances to go forward. The son has been deeply influenced by his time in the forests avoiding both Germans and Russians and living off the land. In one scene his father shows him how to collect and save birds eggs and the boy can only think of how he wants to eat the eggs contents as he did so often in the forests. He has a particularly difficult time socializing and entering into normal relationships. It was heartbreaking and at times almost too sad to bear. In the end though this story is a triumph of the human spirit over adversity


Across the Wide and Lonesome Prairie : The Oregon Trail Diary of Hattie Campbell, 1847 (Dear America)
Review Date: 10/23/2018


This was a good synopsis of the life of one of the Oregon wagon bound settlers, but I was disappointed that it was fictional. Nonetheless,a sweet read for a young person.


Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 6/12/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I like Sandra Dallas's books, though this one took a while to get into. Not one of her best, in my opinion tho interesting historical info about daily life during the Civil War. Light fare.


All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/3/2017


Winner of the Booker Pulitzer Prize, various other awards, and a NY Times best seller for two and a half years. Story set before and after WWII in Germany and France, two warring countries, contrasting and interweaving the lives of the people about the Nazi occupation of France, about how radio broadcasts alerted the German military to covert actions and the French Resistance. Deeply moving, shocking, poignant, and irrestible. 10 years in the writing, this book is incredible. The alternating short stories can be difficult to follow, but that would be the only setback for e in reading it, highly recommend.


All the Little Live Things
All the Little Live Things
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/30/2017


An intellectual, piercing, poignant story of a woman stricken with cancer, and her will to live. The prose is truly beautiful, but this is no quick or easy read. I highly recommend Stegner's writing.


Amagansett
Amagansett
Author: Mark Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 9/1/2014


Excellent murder mystery and a very good read!


An Egg on Three Sticks
An Egg on Three Sticks
Author: Jackie Fischer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 11/8/2018


An excellent coming of age story about a 13 year old girls whose mother has a nervous breakdown. Couldn't put it down.


Angel Fire
Angel Fire
Author: Ron Franscell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/31/2018


Heart wrenching story of two brothers lives, nearly broke my heart.


Annie John
Annie John
Author: Jamaica Kincaid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/30/2012


A charming coming of age of a young girl in Antigua. Annie is charming and witty, yet also very audacious and stubborn.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 10/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What a great book about abandonment, guilt, broken hearts, relationships, love; I highly recommend it. The characters are so believable and you relly get to know and love them. I'm definitely going to read her other books now!


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/24/2017


IT was pretty good, though I would have liked a lot more information about the bonobos language acquisition skills.


Arctic Daughter: A Wilderness Journey
Arctic Daughter: A Wilderness Journey
Author: Jean Aspen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/1/2017


Thoroughly engrossing journey to the Arctic Circle. The daughter of an an artic explorer, she and her companion Phil survived a year, biult a cabin, and were incredibly inventive. I wasn't interested in her philosophy but have great respect for her tenacity.


Armando's Treasure
Armando's Treasure
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/7/2012


Just finished reading this book. It is a good book with a good story. The characters are well drawn; however, it was too pedictable, and, in my experience, not like true life.


A Bed by the Window
A Bed by the Window
Author: M.Scott Peck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/16/2014


A review stolen from an Amazon reader: "Scott Peck has turned his hand to fiction with this surprisingly satisfying tale of love and emotion set in a nursing home. Many of us think of nursing homes as emotionally gray places, where human passions have gone out and hope and longing now revolve around next Sunday's visiting hours and the next meal. Well, not so the Willow Glen. The most improbable people fall in love, and their passions become all the keener because they have time to focus on each other."


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 10/26/2016


My sister and I read the same books, and while I did not red this one, my sister did, and again she was disappointed with this author. We both really liked "Midwives", but nothing much since then.


Behind the Scenes at the Museum
Behind the Scenes at the Museum
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 6/9/2013


Good but very sad.


Behind the Scenes at the Museum
Behind the Scenes at the Museum
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/9/2012


It's hard to believe that this is the author's first book; it is so confidently and poetically written. It was a ittle difficult to keep track of the family members as she went back and forth in time, but really a good read, engrossing, with biting humor and honest warmth. Think I'll have to buy more of her books to read now.


Bent Creek
Bent Creek
Author: Marlene Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/17/2012


WOW, I loved this book. It chronicles the story of a sassy young woman and her family living as "the poorest of the poor" in the Kentucky mountains. It's got moonshine and coal mining and you learn a lot about the lives of the "hillbillies" in this book. I loved the vernacular, the characters, and the story. Really great!


1 to 20 of 363 - Page: