Cybele H. (Cybele) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Bread and Jam for Frances
Bread and Jam for Frances
Author: Russell Hoban
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/9/2007


A great children's book. This has always been one of my favorites. I especially love the bit at the end that describes what Frances unpacks for lunch, and how she eats it.


Candyfreak: A Journey through the Chocolate Underbelly of America
Candyfreak: A Journey through the Chocolate Underbelly of America
Author: Steve Almond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I loved this book! It's a combination of the history of candy bars, the background for the author's addiction to candy, and the author touring candy factories. Sometimes witty, sometimes poignant, always interesting. I've made several people read it, and they've all loved it.


CIRCUS SHOES
CIRCUS SHOES
Author: Noel Streatfeild
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2009


Anything written by Noel Streatfeild is a treat for me. I loved the "Shoes" series all through my childhood, and I still love them. I hope my daughters will, too.


A City in Winter: The Queen's Tale
A City in Winter: The Queen's Tale
Author: Mark Helprin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/26/2009


For a children's book, this seemed exceptionally dark. I did not enjoy this one.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1989
Review Date: 8/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderfully funny and witty.


The Continuum Concept: In Search of Happiness Lost (Classics in Human Development)
Review Date: 7/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book while pregnant with my daughter, because my brother's girlfriend loved it. while it was interesting, it filled me with guilt about the way I would have to raise my daughter. My husband and I did "attachment parenting," but after reading this book, I felt guilty for not doing things as described in this book. This is attachment parenting (and community attachment parenting) to the extreme. It is not possible in our culture, unless you live with many other people under one roof, to never put your baby down until he or she is 2 years old.

It's definitely worth a read, but don't let it fill you with guilt about your own parenting style.


Diary of a Mad Bride
Diary of a Mad Bride
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 342
Review Date: 7/23/2007


I loved this book. Very funny, with a lot of truth about the "Inner Bride." I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys humorous chick lit, or novels about planning weddings.


Diary of a Mad Mom-to-Be
Diary of a Mad Mom-to-Be
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/18/2007


Just as funny as its predecessor, Diary of a Mad Bride, though I felt that this one rang a little more true than the first one. Both were quite funny, very enjoyable reads.


Eat Cake
Eat Cake
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book just as much as Ray's "Julie and Romeo" books. Not chick lit, exactly, but not darkly serious women's fiction, either. A solid, enjoyable read.


The Expectant Father: Facts, Tips and Advice for Dads-To-Be
The Expectant Father: Facts, Tips and Advice for Dads-To-Be
Author: Armin A. Brott, Jennifer Ash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 2/26/2009


My husband found this book, and the rest in the series, to be very helpful, informative and well-written. He highly recommends this book to soon-to-be dads.


Field Guide to Stains: How to Identify and Remove Virtually Every Stain Known to Man
Review Date: 2/26/2009


If you're into stain removal, this is the book for you.


Garlic and Sapphires : The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise
Garlic and Sapphires : The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise
Author: Ruth Reichl
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book immensely. Reichl always entertains me, but this one had so much humor in it that I found myself devouring this book while laughing. It almost made me want to be a food critic.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 8/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book made me laugh so hard while I was pregnant. It's funny and yet touches on a lot of truths about being pregnant. I highly recommend it.


Good Night Baby
Good Night Baby
Author: Elizabeth Hathon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/2/2009


Both of my daughters have loved this book. My husband, my eight-year-old and I have all memorized the words, so we often repeat it to our toddler if we can't locate the book (usually under the couch). I strongly recommend this book for any baby. Great pictures, great text.


Hiding My Candy
Hiding My Candy
Author: The lady Chablis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed reading this book. It's funny and irreverant.


Hotel Babylon
Hotel Babylon
Author: Anonymous, Imogen Edwards-Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


An enjoyable read about 24 hours in a posh hotel, and the hi-jinks that both the staff and the guests get up to.


The Ivy Chronicles
The Ivy Chronicles
Author: Karen Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/26/2009


A quick, enjoyable read.


Julie and Julia : My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Julie and Julia : My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Fascinating concept. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about cooking, though there's so much more to this book than that.


Julie and Romeo
Julie and Romeo
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 2/26/2009


Well-written women's fiction about an older couple falling in love, despite their family feud and their children's prejudices.


Julie and Romeo Get Lucky
Julie and Romeo Get Lucky
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/26/2009


Nice follow-up to the original, "Julie and Romeo," in which someone in the family wins the lottery, and Romeo is bed-ridden. Lots of conflicts, happy ending.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: