Marguerite D. (wimadcap) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
13 1/2
13 1/2
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/9/2013


This book was not part of the Anna Pigeon series, and was quite dark. I found it disturbing and didn't finish it.


Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon, Bk 9)
Blood Lure (Anna Pigeon, Bk 9)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 7/23/2009


This is a lively book with a fast-moving plot. And while the plot is zipping along, the author throws in lots of information about Glacier National Park and life as a ranger. The ending was really surprising but somewhat unbelievable. I also found the ending abrupt. None the less, it was a great read, fast and engrossing.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 11/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book to be a fresh look at the Holocaust. It's told in the first person, through the eyes of a young boy. But what audience was this book written for? Although I enjoy "young adult" literature for the most part, this didn't seem to be aimed at children or teens. Yet, as an adult, I found my attention wandering at times. But it was an interesting read and a powerful book.


Catacombs (Barque Cats, Bk 2)
Catacombs (Barque Cats, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth Ann Scarborough, Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/10/2013


I usually really enjoy McCaffrey and Scarborough, but I didn't like this one much. It was way too "cute" for me, with a lumbering plot and characters. Call me cynical, but just being an enhanced cat doesn't automatically make you an interesting character.

Just not my cup of tea.


Clay's Ark
Clay's Ark
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/2/2011


Pretty cool story about folks infected with a disease attempting to separate themselves and contain the infection.


Cons, Scams & Grifts (DKA Files, Bk 7)
Cons, Scams & Grifts (DKA Files, Bk 7)
Author: Joe Gores
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/25/2007


I enjoy Joe Gores' DKA series. This one's a nice romp involving the Rom and most of the DKA characters. It was a fast, easy and entertaining read. I'm keeping this one for relaxing in front of the fire on a cold Wisconsin winter day.


Disconnected
Disconnected
Author: Shelley Hrdlitschka
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/25/2007


This was Shelley Hrdlitschka's first book. It has an unusual plot and is interesting, but has only a little social commentary. It's a good YA read with a lot more meat than most.

She's my favorite author for young adult books.


The Genesis Code
The Genesis Code
Author: John Case
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/25/2007


This was an interesting and unusual thriller. It held my attention.


Happy Birthday Moe Dog
Happy Birthday Moe Dog
Author: Nicholas Heller
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 8/13/2007


This is a charming alphabet children's book by Nicholas Heller. It has cute illustrations of the letters in "happy birthday" helping Moe Dog on his birthday.

An excerpt: "When Moe Dog woke up the morning of his birthday, there was a H at the foot of his bed. 'Happy Birthday!" shoulted a large A as it flapped around his house."


Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 8/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book interesting and a good enough read, but it lacked the intensity and plot twists and turns of some of Gerritsen's earlier novels. It's not a bad book, just not as good as some of her others.


Kindred
Kindred
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 8/28/2011


There were many things I liked a lot about this book. Having a modern black woman personally experience slavery and speaking in the first person of that experience was extremely powerful for me. Yet the time travel conceit grew old for me as the book went on, and I found my attention wandering a little. I just wanted something new and unexpected to happen. But don't get me wrong....I still found it a powerful and compelling narrative, tho not a perfect one.


Riding Lessons (Annamarie Zimmer, Bk 1)
Riding Lessons (Annamarie Zimmer, Bk 1)
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 10/25/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is a charming and well-written story. It's predictable, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. The book follows a woman, her parents, her daughter and her parents' riding center. It tells a complex and heart-warming story.


There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom
There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom
Author: Louis Sachar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Louis Sachar writes great kid's books. This one is no exception. It's well written and humorous.


Trick of Light (Kay Farrow, Bk 2) (aka Trick Shot)
Trick of Light (Kay Farrow, Bk 2) (aka Trick Shot)
Author: David Hunt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/27/2013


This was a decent, kinda run of the mill thriller. I love "The Magician's Tale", the first book in the series, because it really used the color blindness of the protagonist. In "Trick of Light" that focus was gone (perhaps it couldn't be successfully repeated) and we have a decent but pretty forgettable read.


The Wedding
The Wedding
Author: Dorothy West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is an interesting and complex book, exploring a small segment of 1930's (maybe 1940s) black culture in detail. A good read.


White Hot
White Hot
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 8/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not a romance fan, and bought this book thinking it was a mystery/thriller. Even so, I enjoyed it. It's well written and suspenseful. The plot twisted and turned until the very end. It kept me hooked.


1 to 16 of 16