Debbie Y. (BNJunkie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Angela Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This book is a story with a deeper spiritual meaning. It is about Aurora, a woman struggling with agoraphobia and panic attacks. She cared for her ailing mother without leaving their Manhattan apartment for 10 years. Her mother dies and with the help of a "geekie" young man in the neighboring apartment Aurora searches for information about her famous father who she's never met.


Beyond the Great Snow Mountains
Beyond the Great Snow Mountains
Author: Louis L'Amour
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/21/2006


A collection of short adventure stories. My favorite is Under the Hanging Wall; a murder mystery that takes place in a mine. I'm not a big fan of short stories but these were better than most. My first time reading Louis L'Amour.


The Blue Bottle Club
The Blue Bottle Club
Author: Penelope J. Stokes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 7/27/2006


Won book of the year in our book club.


Captain Saturday
Captain Saturday
Author: Robert Inman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/16/2006


Amusing but preferred his book Old Dogs and Children.


Carpe Diem
Carpe Diem
Author: Tony Campolo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Positive and uplifting... Tony Campolo is a spiritual cheerleader.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A great read. Got rave reviews from my book club.


The Crystal City (Alvin Maker, Bk 6)
The Crystal City (Alvin Maker, Bk 6)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I love the whole Alvin Maker series. This book continues the story with Alvin bringing former slaves and others to what will become The Crystal City. If you've read the other books, this one will not disappoint.


The Dead Sea Cipher
The Dead Sea Cipher
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A fun mystery with a history lesson on the Dead Sea Scrolls. Light, quick read.


A Different Drummer : My Thirty Years with Ronald Reagan
A Different Drummer : My Thirty Years with Ronald Reagan
Author: Michael K. Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/12/2006


Michael Deaver writes an easy to read memoire of moments he spent with the Reagans during his 30 year association with them. You come away feeling his love and repsect for Reagan and Nancy despite their problems when Deaver left during the second administration.


Flabbergasted (Jay Jarvis, Bk 1)
Flabbergasted (Jay Jarvis, Bk 1)
Author: Ray Blackston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Humorous take about a guy who visits a church singles group and falls in love with a missionary woman. Great ending. Enjoyable and quick to read.


I Heard That Song Before
I Heard That Song Before
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 8/20/2007


A good light enjoyable read. Typical of MHC.


The Jewelled Peacock of Persia (Baker Street Mysteries, Bk 3)
Review Date: 7/26/2006


Book for youth. Read for a summer book club I led for middle schoolers. A group of mystery-solving youngsters work with Sherlock Holmes to solve the mystery of a curse surrounding a jewelled peacock.


The Knitting Circle
The Knitting Circle
Author: Ann Hood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It's about knitting being used as a vehicle for healing and the circle is more like a support group. Pain due to grief, cancer, loneliness, guilt, etc... is evident in the life of each member of the circle and relief is found to some degree in two needles and a skein of yarn among people you get to know and grow to love. Great story... flawless.


Little House on the Freeway
Little House on the Freeway
Author: Tim Kimmel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/20/2007


This book is a paperback, not hardcover. A good study for a group.


Love Comes Softly (Love Comes Softly, No 1)
Love Comes Softly (Love Comes Softly, No 1)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 6/12/2006


Very light romantic read. This is a book club recommendation. Great for the beach.


Miss Julia's School of Beauty (Miss Julia, Bk 6)
Miss Julia's School of Beauty (Miss Julia, Bk 6)
Author: Ann B. Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/29/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Set in the south and full of humor, Miss Julia's School of Beauty has Miss Julia upset over the possiblility that she and Sam are "living in sin". Was that quick little wedding chapel service legit and if not... Lordy, how will she able to hide it from her friends and Pastor Ledbetter! Great for the beach.


Murder Makes Waves (Southern Sisters, Bk 4)
Murder Makes Waves (Southern Sisters, Bk 4)
Author: Anne George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 4/5/2006


Light, enjoyable read.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4022
Review Date: 5/31/2007


I read the last 100 pages in the bathtub... half of it filled with my tears. Thought provoking and very emotional. This book has made me even more sensitive towards parents with terminally-ill children. God bless 'em.


The Negotiator  (O'Malley, Bk 1)
The Negotiator (O'Malley, Bk 1)
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 6/9/2006


Story is about a police negotiator named Kate O'Malley. She and six others from an orphanage make their name, O'Malley, and become their own family. Her life changes big time when she meets a potential bomber, Henry Lott, and FBI Special Agent Dave Richman. A mix of crime drama and romance.


Night
Night
Author: Elie Wiesel, Stella Rodway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 8/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


It's a brief account of Elie Wiesel's stay in the German concentration camps with his father. Very short but moving. Heartbreaking but a must need read so we react when history repeats this mistake.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: