Ashley M. (ashtree) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
125 Brain Games for Babies: Simple Games to Promote Early Brain Development
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book has simple ideas for ways to interact with your baby and help your baby learn. As a new (sleep deprived) mother, I found it very helpful. Each game also facilitates bonding and is fun for the parent as well as the child. I learned themes of things I can do that are age appropriate for different stages. I did not use all of the games but incorporated several from each stage into daily play with my baby. Great if you have had limited time caring for babies until your own comes along!


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 12/16/2009


I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book; I was on the edge of my car seat throughout the whole thing!


Balance: Stress-Free and Relaxed in Minutes with Video and CD (Audio)
Review Date: 12/31/2010


This is an excellent relaxation book and CD with relaxing music and a soothing voice guiding you through progressive muscle relaxation. I have heard various CDs like this, and this one ranks at the top of the list!


The Boleyn Inheritance (Tudor Court, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 1/1/2012


This audiobook was very well-done! The narrators spoke in British accents, with varying voices for each character. It was abridged very well, with the main highlights of the book included. I highly recommend this book!


Consumer Reports Buying Guide 2010
Consumer Reports Buying Guide 2010
Author: Editors of Comsumer Reports Magazine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/17/2012


Consumer Reports Buying Guides are very useful while picking out a car or major appliance. The 2010 version was perfect because my family is looking for a used car.


I Am a Rainbow
I Am a Rainbow
Author: Dolly Parton, Heather Sheffield (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/11/2015


This is a terrific book for young children about colors and emotions. My preschooler has memorized most of it and loves it! Thanks to Paperback Swap for making it available to me!


Jim Cramer's Real Money: Sane Investing in an Insane World
Jim Cramer's Real Money: Sane Investing in an Insane World
Author: James J. Cramer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/31/2010


Easy to read and understandable with the benefit of an occasional laugh. Jim Cramer's personality shines through. Good for beginning and advanced investors.


Learn in Your Car: Spanish Level One
Learn in Your Car: Spanish Level One
Author: Henry N. Raymond
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/14/2011


This CD is very basic and quite boring but definitely can help one to learn or review Spanish when the mind is engaged. I have learned Spanish in the past and found the Spanish-speaking man's accent excellent and easy to understand.


Lifeguard (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Lifeguard (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross, Billy Campbell (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 7/13/2010
Helpful Score: 2


While the plot was decent and suspense was good, I thought the main characters were poorly developed, and the book included many lines that seemed more appropriate for a D-rated suspense movie. I found these lines cheesy and slightly annoying. The reader of the audiobook had a dramatic, husky voice, and perhaps I grew tired of that. I considered stopping the book many times but found that it was still an okay way to pass time while in the car.


New Mother's Guide to Breastfeeding (American Academy of Pediatrics)
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I found this book extremely helpful as a new mother. It is easy to read, informative, and thorough. I used it frequently night and day. The only thing it did not do is tell you what to do with specific problems, like a plugged duct. I recommend this for any new mother!


The Nursing Mother's Companion (5th Revised Edition)
The Nursing Mother's Companion (5th Revised Edition)
Author: Kathleen Huggins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a terrific reference for new nursing mothers. It provides details on various nursing problems for the mother or baby and how to solve them or whether you need to go to the doctor.


On Bullshit
On Bullshit
Author: Harry G. Frankfurt
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I usually enjoy listening to audiobooks in the car even if they are not the highest quality, but I could not finish this one. The author is very philosophical about the concept of bullshit, which seems like an oxymoron! Perhaps if I was not exhausted, I may have been able to follow him, but I took the CD out, afraid it would put me to sleep. I hope someone can appreciate this book, but it was not for me!


Third Degree
Third Degree
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 10/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good book. I wasn't crazy about the plot but found myself getting sucked in, in spite of myself. Quite suspenseful, and the suspense lasted through most of the book! There were some surprising endings as well.


Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace . . . One School at a Time
Review Date: 10/22/2009


I found this book inspiring and impressive. It was very easy to read and held my attention throughout. I enjoyed learning more about the Pakistani mountain culture as well as how one goes about improving the world with a major impact.


Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, Bk 3)
Three to Get Deadly (Stephanie Plum, Bk 3)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2236
Review Date: 12/16/2009


I thought this book did not really become worth reading until about 75 pages into it. It became very suspenseful about half way through it, and I enjoyed reading the rest of it. I obtained much satisfaction and found a sense of resolution in Stephanie's crazy and chaotic relationships and life in this book. I plan to wait a little while before I read the next Stephanie Plum mystery; I think there are more enriching books for me to read now!


The Undomestic Goddess (AudioCD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 11/22/2013


This book was a humorous and delightful escape from the daily commute. It made me laugh out loud. The reader is fabulous. My only disappointment was that the book seemed to end abruptly. I did not want it to end at all and would have preferred a more gradual closure.


Why Did Grandpa Die? A Book About Death
Why Did Grandpa Die? A Book About Death
Author: Barbara Shook Hazen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is very helpful for children who have experienced the loss of a grandparent. It provides psychoeducation and is therapeutic. Good for elementary age, up to age 10 or 11.


Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values
Author: Robert M. Pirsig
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 6/21/2011


I have not finished reading this yet. I appreciate the deep thought and mindfulness philosophy of this book, but it is not easy to read; certainly does not grasp me!


1 to 18 of 18