Maggie C. (skywaywaver) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 149 - Page:
Abide with Me
Abide with Me
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I don't feel that this one was nearly as engrossing as her first novel. Somewhat slow moving.


After This
After This
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 9/15/2006
Helpful Score: 3


A lot like "Flesh and Blood"; a story that follows one family from the parents' meeting to the coming of age of the youngest child. This was hard for me to put down. The ending leaves you wondering what will happen to this family.


The Alfred G. Graebner Memorial High School Handbook of Rules and Regulations
Review Date: 8/29/2006


I loved this book, even though it was written well before I was born.


Alma Mater
Alma Mater
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/29/2006


Not one of Brown's best.


The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 7/7/2006


Great look at a long marriage


American Girl : Scenes from a Small-Town Childhood
American Girl : Scenes from a Small-Town Childhood
Author: Mary Cantwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/29/2006


A nice look at the past and how things were


The American Way of Death
The American Way of Death
Author: Jessica Mitford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/29/2006


This is an old copy - states 4th printing and copyright 1963.
Book is very interesting; makes you wary of the entire death industry!


Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 2)
Angel's Tip (Ellie Hatcher, Bk 2)
Author: Alafair Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/9/2008


Great mystery, love the main character. My only problem with this book is that I did not read the first Ellie Hatcher book and I feel that Angel's Tip revealed a lot of what went on in the first installment. Otherwise, I would have gone back and read the first book, but feel I know everything that happened already. Of course, I could be wrong. :)


The Answer Is Yes
The Answer Is Yes
Author: Sara Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/7/2006


Great book! Fast read...


Anybody Out There?
Anybody Out There?
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is right up there with "Watermelon"! A great book that is written in a very unique matter. It takes about half of the book to find out what happened to get the main character to the present time. But beware - have tissues handy if you're prone to crying at books!


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 5/8/2007


Great portrait of life in small town with many interesting characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series.


Babyland
Babyland
Author: Holly Chamberlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great story! A little predictable, but it has a great ending, not too drawn out.


Been There, Haven't Done That : A Virgin's Memoir
Been There, Haven't Done That : A Virgin's Memoir
Author: Tara McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Not as good as I hoped it would be. Somewhat repetitive.


Belladonna: A Novel of Revenge
Belladonna: A Novel of Revenge
Author: Karen Moline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/4/2006


Wonderful book! I can't tell you how much I loved this. I keep reading it over and over too!


Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth about Pregnancy and Childbirth
Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth about Pregnancy and Childbirth
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Great book about pregnancy! Jenny McCarthy is hysterical. Just a shame that her marriage did not last.


Bergdorf Blondes
Bergdorf Blondes
Author: Plum Sykes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Nice, fast, easy read. No need to think too much!


The Best Broadway Songs Ever
The Best Broadway Songs Ever
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Lots of great songs with music.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 6/29/2006


A great start to the series!


Blind Faith
Blind Faith
Author: Joe McGinniss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


really interesting and sad story about a marriage gone VERY bad
i really liked it b/c it took place close to where i grew up


Bloodletting: A Memoir of Secrets, Self-Harm, & Survival
Bloodletting: A Memoir of Secrets, Self-Harm, & Survival
Author: Victoria Leatham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/20/2007


A new area of psychological memoir. A little slow at parts, but otherwise fairly well-written. Interesting that this was a woman in her 20's suffering from this affliction.


1 to 20 of 149 - Page: