Heather S. (boydheather17) - , - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
American Psycho
American Psycho
Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 298
Review Date: 1/19/2008
Helpful Score: 12


First off, the movie did not even compare to this book. Forget the movie all together and start here. This book was one of those that you don't want to put down but is so very disturbing that you want to walk away from it. This was a rollercoaster of emotions and just shy of the moment when you put it down and go get sick! I found myself many times gasping with my hand over my mouth, telling my husband how horrible it is to read, and picking it back up again! A fast paced, detailed read that keeps you burning the lamp for HOURS! I do not regret reading it..but safe to say that I don't think that I will ever be able to read it again!


The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 2)
The Apprentice (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 2)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A fantastic book following Tess Gerritsens book "The Surgeon". It was a gripping story! Keeps the reader turning pages until the end. As with most of her books, I am somewhat disappointed when the book is over because I enjoy the story so much. I recommend reading The Surgeon before this book to give you more insight on The Apprentice. Tess Gerritsen books have become a "must read" for me. Enjoy!


The Bone Garden
The Bone Garden
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 8


This was a great book, Tess Gerritsen, as always does a great job of giving you all of the details needed to paint the picture of the settings and characters. Some parts seemed to slow down for a bit but keeps the reader wanting to keep turning pages. Bounces back between the Present Day and the 1800's. I enjoyed it very much.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1950
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Wow what a story! The author, who was this child, tells the reader a very detailed, yet very painful story about a childhood of heartbreak and pain, abuse, ridicule, but don't get me wrong, this is painful, but worth the read. He takes the reader through tears and joy, hunger a turmoil, an emotional rollercoaster, you find your heart fighting for this boy. A must read!


Conversations With The Fat Girl
Conversations With The Fat Girl
Author: Liza Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 11/12/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I LOVED this book! I have recommended it to my Mom and my friends. I found my self laugh out loud several times while reading this. I read it in 2 days, I just didn't want to put it down. I found that there were many things in the book that I could relate to. Light, touching, funny, an all around WONDERFUL book! This will be one of those that I read several times. Do not miss this book, even if you are not into chick lit, I think that you will have some good laughs and not feel cheated in the end.


Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 3/6/2012


Loved it! I was pretty much useless for 2 days because I couldn't put it down. I am eager for book two. I highly recommend this book.


Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice
Author: Anonymous
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 2/15/2009


This book was written in Diary form, which I think was the best way to read it. This girl had gone through so much mixed up with the world on drugs. I don't want to spoil anything but I was so heartbroken at the end of the book....Short quick read, but in my opinion, not to be taken lightly. Great book!


The Great American Bathroom Book, Volume 1: Single-Sitting Summaries of All Time Great Books
Review Date: 9/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book has so many great things in it. It is way more than just summaries of great stories and authors, but Trivia of all sorts of things and more! This really is a great book to have, there is so many cool things to be found in here!


The Keepsake (aka Keeping the Dead) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
The Keepsake (aka Keeping the Dead) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 9/15/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Oh this book was good! Had me hooked from chapter 1 and would not let me put it down! Fast, gripping, exciting read with lots of twists and turns. Tess Gerritsen did it again with this book! This one falls in the Jane Rizolli/Maura Isles series. A must read for T.G. Fans and new comers to her work.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! It is for sure a keeper for me. I loved everything about this book. It was painfull in many areas yet beautiful in so many others. The author took me through a world that I knew nothing about and I was able to connect and understand it so easily. I had watched the movie also, and that was wonderful as well. Of course the book has more detail, but if you decide to watch the movie also, I think that you would agree that it did not distort your preception of the book at all. I couldn't put it down!


Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Left Behind (Left Behind, Bk 1)
Author: Jerry Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 10/24/2007
Helpful Score: 8


What a wonderful book! It was an easy read and a great story. You develop a relationship with these characters, you find yourself searching for the "answers" with them. When you read this book, I guarantee you that you will hurry on to the next book in the series until you have completed them all. They are amazing books, full of many truths. A must read.


The Lost Boy: A Foster Child's Search for the Love of a Family
The Lost Boy: A Foster Child's Search for the Love of a Family
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 907
Review Date: 10/24/2007


Wow what a story! I have not yet read the book that follows this one although I am told that it is very inspirational, as is this book. The Author of this book is the "Lost Boy" he tells the reader a very detailed, yet very painful story about a childhood of heartbreak and pain, abuse, ridicule, but don't get me wrong, this is painful, but worth the read. He takes the reader through tears and joy, hunger a turmoil, an emotional rollercoaster, you find your heart fighting for this boy.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2255
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. It was a great story! I recommend it. Lots of book clubs have read this book.....this book was a mix of emotions, but overall I think it is a keeper for me.


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 3054
Review Date: 8/9/2008
Helpful Score: 21


I loved this book! I coudn't put it down! Passed it on to Mom who went out and bought copies for all of her friends when finished! Very thought provoking, some details very hard to endure being a mother especially but keep reading! I could read this book again and again and I believe I would pull something more from it everytime. Loved the characters! I hear how some Christians have problems identifying with the characters and I have to say that I am a Christian and I loved the Characters! They were great! Wheather you are a Christian or not, have dealed with a loss or not, this is a GREAT book, don't pass it up!


The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 10/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The Surgeon is an awsome book. It was hard to put it down and got me hooked on Tess Gerritsen as an author, I have read all of the books in the Jane Rizzoli/Maura Isles collection, and this is the start, it will get you hooked and you will want to read the next one as soon as you are done. The Surgeon is a great non-stop page turner, you will not be disappointed!


1 to 15 of 15