Amanda (AmandaLee) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
The 13th Hour:
The 13th Hour:
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/2/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I just could not get into this book. Maybe it was because it started at chapter 12 then counted it's way back down to chapter 12. I only read the first few chapters, then lost interest. But because it was a library book and soon to be due back, I tried it again and still I lost interest. I really wanted to like the book, the synopsis sounded great, the writing was good, and the main character and plot seemed alright, but I just couldn't stick with it. Maybe I should have kept reading, who knows maybe further into the book the story might have grabbed my attention better? It was one of the few books that I actually returned to the library unread!


206 Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 12)
206 Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 12)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/2/2010


I liked this book better then Devil Bones, but I find it harder and harder to enjoy this book series. It is not a bad book, just not as good as say the first 5 in the series. Part of the problem is I am a big fan of the tv show and love the relationship of Tempe, Booth, and her 'squints' As someone else mentioned the books are nothing like the tv series, except for the occupation and name of Temperance Brennen.


The Accidental Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 7)
The Accidental Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 7)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 717
Review Date: 4/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book first and didn't know it was part of a series. I liked that the author had a new "take" where vampires come from and how they are not the evil dead. I just recently finished books 1, 2, and 3. It seems that you do not have to read them in a certain order to understand what is going on and each book is good enough to stand on it's own, but you will get a spoiler on who gets married.... and might ruin the ending of previous books so I would suggest starting them in order. I actually think the author is funny, and has a easy flowing writing style that makes for a fun, quick read. I think so far book 3 is my fav!


The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark & Dangerous, Bk 7) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 962)
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The boring cover on this book is deceptive! I got this book in a box of random books from a garage sale. It looked boring and I didn't think I would enjoy it. I decided to scan the first couple of chapters just to see if it was any good and before I knew it I had quickly read the whole thing. It is not a long book at only 248 pages but it is well written and kept my attention.


Anyone But You
Anyone But You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 9/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I will admit the only reason I got this book was because of the cover. Being a basset hound owner and lover the cover caught my eye! As with all Jennifer Crusie's books this one is full of mishaps, funny moments, and a few real life struggles thrown in with romance. As with real basset hounds Fred steals most of the scenes in the book which is how it should be. :-) I think it took a little too long for the heroin to realize that age doesn't matter as much as who you are with, but overall it is a cute quick read that I enjoyed.


Bachelor Boys
Bachelor Boys
Author: Kate Saunders
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This story is actually pretty good. The romance part was predictable, but the rest of the story of losing a loved one, friendship, learning to understand our parents, and growing up made for a good read. I ended up really likeing the book, and the people in it.


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 6/6/2010


Another great book in the fever series. I enjoyed darkfever, but blood fever is even better!


Bone Magic (Otherworld, Bk 7)
Bone Magic (Otherworld, Bk 7)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 3/8/2010


I had read and liked the first 3 books in this series. I saw this book on a rack at the checkout of the grocery story and on a whim bought it. So I skipped books 4,5,6 and missed a whole lot of what is going on in the story! Not only that but this book seems to have more raunchy sex scenes. I am all for erotic books and paranormal plot lines as that is what I mostly read, BUT let me say in the first couple chapters there is a scenario where a threesome takes place that involves.... well, some descriptive anal intercourse, and double penetration between Camille and her two husbands (one is a dragon and one is a demon with hair that is alive and works like many hands or something like that). At the end of the scene Camille is thinking how if only her soul mate some other guy was there to join in their group sex, then it would be complete. That is where I quit reading it. I am know there are many people that enjoy reading such sexually charged stories, but it was just too much sex and not enough story to hold my attention. Too bad, as I enjoyed the earlier books in this series. I am going to go back and order book 4, 5, and 6 maybe they lead up to this story and fill in the blanks, because it would seem I missed way too much of the story to keep up with what is going on now!


Chill Factor
Chill Factor
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 3/22/2009


Chill Factor is alright. It is not a gread read, but it is not completely boring either. It just seemed that the story line was predictable..... I knew exactly what was going to happen early on in the story. :-(

I do like Sandra Brown's writing style, and like here characters and plot.... this one was just alittle too easy to figure out. And once you know what is going to happen the rest of the book is boring.


The Cove (FBI Thriller, Bk 1)
The Cove (FBI Thriller, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 10


I actually read another book in this series first. I liked the other book so much I came back and read all the books of the series in order! This was a pretty good book, with a good story. I liked most of the people in the story even the bad guy/s. They were well thought out and for the most part very likable. Although I thought it was kind of predictable, and I knew exactly how it would end, I still was hooked and couldn't quit reading. Good story for any one who likes mysteries or woman detectives.


Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 5/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I thought that this book was going to be more of a horror type book and scary. It is in no way scary, but it is still a good book and a action packed serial killer type of thriller. The action was constant, the characters were interesting, and the reading was fast paced and enjoyable.


The Crepes of Wrath (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 9)
The Crepes of Wrath (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 9)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 3/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I like this series of books. They are funny and the Amish, Menonite aspect of the series is interesting. Alhough the story is not a super thriller packed with action it is a easy fun mystery to read.


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1414
Review Date: 5/19/2010


I have been into paranormal/vampire books the last few years. And there are many of them out there right now! In a way there is nothing new in this story -alpha male, female with an unknown past needing help.... but the writing is solid, and I liked the characters. I liked it enough that I plan on getting the rest of the series. I think that most paranormal/vampire romance fans will like this book. And seeing how it is just the first book in the series and just introducing the characters and background on the 'brotherhood'.... I think the series will probably only get better.


Darkborn (Darkborn, Bk 1)
Darkborn (Darkborn, Bk 1)
Author: Alison Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I wish I could give this book a wonderful review but the truth is I have never been able to get past page 15. It is such a slow boring start to a book that I end up finding other things to do. I have tried 3 times to sit down and read this book, and finally gave up... :-(

It is too bad really that it isn't more interesting, as the synopsis from the back of the book made it sound great, so I was let down by how slow it drug along.


Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 6/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book! I had never read Karen Moning before so I did not know what to expect. Right away I liked the mix of characters..... how you cannot tell who is bad, who is good, every one has their own agenda for helping or not helping Mac as she suddenly finds herself thrust in chaos. I have read the first three books in the series and the story gets better and better. I can't wait for Dreamfever...... it is the only one I haven't read yet. When the fever series is complete I think I will try Karen Moning's other series (Highlander), if the writing is as good as the fever series I am sure I will love it.


Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx, Bk 1)
Dead Girls Are Easy (Nicki Styx, Bk 1)
Author: Terri Garey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 5/19/2010


Good book. Not great but good. It was funny quick read that made me laugh. For the most part I like most of the characters. Looks like a good start to a series and I plan on reading the next one.


The Dead Room (Harrison Investigations, Bk 5)
The Dead Room (Harrison Investigations, Bk 5)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 3/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


this was a good book. I liked how the story progressed and I also liked the plot. At times I wanted to yell at the main character to quit being so stuborn and do what she was told to do to keep safe. Over all it was a quick and good read that I would recommend to others.


Dogs and Goddesses
Dogs and Goddesses
Author: Lani Diane Rich, Anne Stuart, Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 9/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I wanted to like this book I really did. I mean it had all the elements, special powers to communicate with animals, gods, goddesses, save the world, a hot guy, friendship..... but it just didn't come together and in the end I was disappointed. I kept reading waiting for the story to get better, but it never did. It wasn't horrible, but it could have used a few really good funny moments, and maybe a twist in the plot to shake it up a little as it was very predictable.


Don't Scream
Don't Scream
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


this is a pretty good book. I easily figured out who and what would happen in the end (but I often do figure out the ending of books). But the story moved along quickly and kept me interested.


Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 18)
Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 18)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 3/13/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I have been a huge fan of the Plum series. The last few books have been crap, but I keep reading in hopes that Evanovich's next book will be better. I am sick of the fact there is no story line progression, and it is time for Stephanie to decide between the men in her life instead of living in limbo. The bumbling bounty hunter idea is still funny, but if the characters do not grow and evolve then it seems like you are reading the same story over and over again. :-(

Although there was one part in the book that did make me stop and think. Stephanie thinks that Ranger just uses her for laughs and that she could really hurt Morelli. I personally think that Stephanie has that all wrong. That Ranger is the one who could get emotionally hurt that is why he keeps her at a distance, and that Morelli is just kind of biding his time with Stephanie until something better comes along!


1 to 20 of 57 - Page: