Danielle G. (iqb2001) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 88 - Page:
All I Want Is You
All I Want Is You
Author: Sherrill Bodine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

When I first picked up this book I was really excited, some of my favorite storylines are those that are enemies to lovers. There is always so much chemistry and sparks occurring between the characters. I just love it. With this book I honestly don't know why I kept reading. Actually I do know why, I was curious to see what was going to happen with the hero and heroine when they finally got together. I really shouldn't have wasted my time because it wasn't worth it. This book was just so lackluster. The chemistry between Conner and Venus was just felt flat and lacking the sparks that I love.

From the beginning I had issues with the storyline. It just seemed to be a bit all over the place and a lot of characters and events just seem to pop up out of nowhere that seem to mess with the flow of the story. I found myself confused by it all more than once. There was just too many characters and interloping storylines going on that just seemed to detract from the Conner and Venus' story. These two are supposed to be the main focus, but I felt like their story was just a side note to the mystery that is going on in the book and the only reason I kept reading this book was to see their relationship progress.

I really needn't have bothered finishing because there just wasn't any sizzle with them. Once they got together that was it, nothing really special happens or there wasn't really much that happened beforehand. They just go from hating each other to instantly in love and it just make no sense to me. It wasn't believable at all. I would have love to see more flirting between them before they jumped into bed with each other. I like reading romances to experience the romance with the characters and I just didn't feel any with Venus and Conner. Their relationship just didn't seem like it had a natural progression. The author constantly tells us how much they both hate each other and then all of a sudden all that hate and resentment is gone? Just didn't make sense to me.

I also hate that somehow everything is wrapped up in a pretty little bow. Somehow all of the problems that occurred in the book are magically fixed and everyone gets a HEA. How does that happen? That isn't realistic at all. It just felt so phony.

I think one of my main issues is I was unable to connect with the heroine Venus. I just did not like her. She is constantly moaning about how much she hates Connor for what he did to her father, yet it's okay to attempt to seduce him to get information. Also, every time something happens she starts to cry. I have never read a book where the heroine cries so much. It seemed like every other page she was crying about something. It was highly annoying.

As for Connor, I found that I really did enjoy him and I loved when we were able to see things through his point of view. I love that he was so protective of Venus and is even willing to sleep in his car in order to be there in case something were to happen. He just wants her to be safe. He may have been a bit stubborn and set in his ways, but he is willing to do anything to protect the ones he loves and cares about.

All in all, I didn't completely hate this book but I definitely did not love it. I might be a bit hesitant to pick up something from this author in the future. This book just had a few too many misses for me to willing pick up another from this author.


All Things Wicked (Dark Mission, Bk 3)
All Things Wicked (Dark Mission, Bk 3)
Author: Karina Cooper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

From the first page to the last, this book was just nonstop action. I found it so hard to put this book down.
The world Karina Cooper has created in this series is amazing. It's so realistic. She just has a way of describing things that make you feel as if you are right there with the characters. Her world and the characters that are apart of it were great. I found myself continuously turning the pages to see what was going to happen next. I wanted to know more about them and their story.

Though I enjoyed this book but I did have some issues with it. This book is not a stand alone book and going into this book I did not know that. I haven't read the previous books in this series so I found myself a little overwhelmed and confused at times. There are a lot of things happening in this book that are direct consequences from things that took place in the previous books. Don't get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down, I just wish I knew ahead of time that this book wasn't a stand alone.

I really liked Caleb. He's in your face and sort of a badass. He doesn't make apologies for his behavior, you either take it or leave it. Even with all the hardness comes off of him, I found that with Juliet he was tender. He cares about her and takes care of her even though he promised to stay away from her. I found myself completely intrigued by Caleb. I really enjoyed his character and I found that I enjoyed reading his p.o.v so much more than Juliet's.

With Juliet, I found that I enjoyed her much more in the beginning of the book. Don't get me wrong, I still liked her, but she just came across a lot more soft towards the end. I think everything began to take it's toll on her and she just seemed so helpless towards the end. My favorite part of this book actually takes place in the first chapter when Juliet sneaks into Caleb's room to kill him. But quickly all of the spunk that I sensed in her in the first few chapters seems to just dissipate. She became someone that needed to be saved and it just seemed as if everything was just too much for her to handle.

My biggest issue with the story is the ending. I just felt like it was a bit abrupt. I would have liked it to be a bit longer. It just ends.

Even though I didn't care for the ending and I did feel a bit lost, I will definitely go back and read all the books in this series. I loved Karina's world and her cast of characters. I would love to see how Caleb was in the previous books. I will also be on the lookout for the next book in this series. I really want to know what happens next.


The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton (Burgundy Club, Bk 3)
The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton (Burgundy Club, Bk 3)
Author: Miranda Neville
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


When I first began this book and realized that the hero and heroine were on the run from kidnappers and that the hero Tarquin would have amnesia I was a little hesitant. I'm not the biggest fan of these kinds of tropes. Boy did this book prove me wrong. I loved this book. It was so enjoyable! In fact, my favorite part of the book is when they are on the run.

I completely fell in love with Terence Fish and was sad to see Tarquin regain his memory. I admit, that it took me awhile to warm up to Tarquin. I found him very pompous and quite stuck up. I did enjoy watching him transform from this type of person into someone Celia could love and trust. I thoroughly enjoyed watching him fall in love with Celia and seeing her true beauty.

Celia was a great heroine and I loved how she doesn't just roll over when things don't go her way. She is constantly thrown opstacles and it was great to see how she would overcome them all. She didn't just cower in the corner and wait for others to help her. She figured out solutions for herself. It's great to read about strong heroines, especially in historicals.

I loved watching both Celia and Tarquin fall in love. They both had such strong negative opinions of one another and it was great to see them overcome them and become more accepting and friendly towards eachother. Their love for eachother didn't feel rushed or nonexistant. I truly felt them falling in love with one another and it was great to see.

Another thing that I loved in this book was that we got to see more of Sebastian and Diana. I admit that I haven't forgotten these two at all. It was great to catch up with both of them and the rest of Diana's family. One of my favorite scenes in the book is when Celia and Tarquin show up and Diana has gone into labor and both Sebastian and Diana's father are reacting to her being in labor. It was truly hilarious and I could not stop laughing. It is definitely one of my favorite parts in the book.

After reading this book, I am extremely anxious for the next one in the series. I am really enjoying this series and I can't wait to see what happens with the other characters. Hopefully we get to see more of Diana's siblings.


Angel Betrayed (Fallen, Bk 2)
Angel Betrayed (Fallen, Bk 2)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/4/2012
Helpful Score: 4


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

This was my first book from Cynthia Eden and it definitely won't be my last. I love the world she has created. From the first page until the last I was loathe to stop reading. There is just so much going on that I found myself quickly turning the page to see what was going to happen. The chemistry between Sam and Seline is instant and it's hot!

Sam was once an angel but now is a fallen. Once an angel of death, but when he began killing people who weren't supposed to die he was kicked out of the heavens and lost his wings. Sam will never apologize, nor does he regret his decisions, the people he killed deserved their deaths. Now centuries later, he still kills the ones who deserve it and he trusts no one, this includes Seline.

Seline is half succubus and half angel, and she needs help gaining her freedom. She was raised by Rogziel, a punishment angel who has been using her to gain what he wants. Now he wants Sam, and Seline knows that with this last job she will finally gain her freedom. But what starts off as job quickly turns into so much more. Seline can't resist Sam's allure and they both quickly come to an agreement. Sam will help her gain her freedom as long as she helps him find his brother Az.

At first neither Sam nor Seline trusts one another. Both have trust issues and with good reason. I really enjoyed watching these two interact with one another. The attraction between these two is electric and both find it hard to keep their hands off of one another. But what quickly starts out as just sex becomes so much more. They both are just trying to get by and neither want to fall for the other. I enjoyed watching them both drop their walls and let each other in.

This book was non stop action and I can't wait to read more from Cynthia Eden. I'm especially eager to see where this series is going to go now. Lots of things are happening and making things really interesting. I definitely hope to possibly see more of Sam and Seline in the future.


At Last (Lucky Harbor, Bk 5)
At Last (Lucky Harbor, Bk 5)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 9/20/2012


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

This was my first book by Jill Shalvis and it definitely won't be my last. Oh my goodness I am addicted. I just love her voice and the characters that she has created in her Lucky Harbor series. Once I started this book I just couldn't put it down. Not only did I enjoy the relationship between the h/h but I ADORED the relationships she created between the girls and the boys. I love books that feature relationships between friends. I feel like it adds so much more to the characters to see how they are when they are not around their love interest. As for the h/h of the book Amy and Matt, I loved them. The chemistry between these two is electric and the scenes between the two are smokin! Seriously.

I'll admit, it took a little bit for me to warm up to Amy. She's just so hard and doesn't really let others in. She's had a rough life and has been on her own since she was a teen. She has been living in Lucky Harbor for six months and is on a journey to find herself through her grandmother's old journals. The journals chronicle a summer Amy's grandmother spent in Lucky Harbor where she found hope, love and peace. Now Amy is armed with them and is on a mission to find all of the spots her grandmother talks about in the journals. I should mention that Amy is not a outdoors person. She is a definite city girl through and through. While out on her first hike, she takes a wrong turn and becomes lost and who should come to her rescue? Why sexy forest ranger Matt, that's who.

Ever since Amy arrived in town, Matt has been attracted to her. In fact, he eats at the diner she works at several times a week just so he can see her and possibly get to know her better. Matt knows now is the opportunity he's been waiting for to finally ask her out.

The relationship between these two is hot and sexy. Both are attracted to one another but both have so much baggage. Amy is running from her past and doesn't want to let anyone get close. While Matt is trying to mend himself after a broken marriage almost ruined him and his reputation. Both start out just "hooking up" but soon realize that there is more going on between them then just sex.

Seriously, I loved this book. It may have taken me awhile to warm up to Amy, but once I did I found that I really liked her. She's fierce and independent and I love that she doesn't take anyone's crap. She tells it like it is. As for Matt, AKA Ranger hot buns I loved him. He's just so dreamy.

If you haven't read this book you are definitely missing out. Not only is it sexy, it's just so much fun. The chemistry between everyone is spectacular and I definitely can't wait to read more from Miz Shalvis.


Avenger's Angel (Lost Angels, Bk 1)
Avenger's Angel (Lost Angels, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Killough-Walden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/4/2011
Helpful Score: 7


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

I had such high hopes for this book when I picked it up. Everywhere I turned it seemed to be getting such rave reviews. I'm not sure what book they were reading but it definitely wasn't this book. Don't get me wrong, this book is not in any way horrible, it actually has a lot of potential. I just am at a point that I'm just so frustrated with how things are playing themselves out that I just can't physically pick it up right now. This book actually had me tossing my Kindle onto the table in frustration.

The premise behind this series is really good. I love the idea of four different archangels that have come to earth to find their achess(their soulmate created just for each of them). In fact I loved the first quarter of this story. It's fast paced and action packed. I start to have problems a little before midway and then they just seem to keep piling themselves on one after another. I think there is just too much happening within the book. I'm not sure if it's because this is the first in a new series, but there's just a bit much going on for my tastes.

Uriel, the Angel of Vengeance has all but given up hope of ever finding his archess. His brothers and himself have been looking for 2000 years with no success. So they've all have found ways to acclimate themselves into the new world. One is a Firefighter, another a Police Officer, and one is a Singer in a popular rock band. Uriel has taken it upon himself to become an actor. He has become Christopher Daniels one of the most famous actors in the world. While Uriel is out attending a signing at a bookstore in Texas he comes across a woman healing a small child which he immediately recognizes her as his archess.

Eleanor is "special" and she doesn't know why. For as long as she can remember she has been able to control the weather, use telekinesis and heal others. Her abilities have made her a target and because of them, she has constantly been on the move since she was a kid. So when Christopher Daniels walks in and catches her healing a young girl she doesn't quite know how to react. She isn't sure if he poses a threat or not. When Christopher Daniels decides to ask Eleanore out on a date to a Gala, she isn't sure she should accept. Yes, she is insanely attracted to him, but he's very popular and she can't risk the exposure.

I love the initial chemistry between these two but after awhile it just starts to fizzle. I stop believing in them and I honestly start to not like either of them. Uriel, in the beginning is so charming and lovable. Then certain things happens and he does a complete 180. I don't really understand at all how Eleanore could find herself attracted to him. He becomes possessive and slightly domineering. He isn't concerned with her feelings only making himself feel better. I couldn't even finish reading their love scene because it came off feeling more of a taking rather than a couple loving each other. Eleanore is a virgin and is someone who has never been kissed and to see her first love scene to be so brutal was just heartbreaking. I get that not everyone likes it gentle and slow, but does it really have to be so rough? After seeing Uriel take her with his hands around her throat I was done. I just don't believe it and the love that they both supposedly have for each other. I'm sorry but that's not love.

Again, I really enjoyed the premise of this series and I found myself really enjoying all of the other characters. I think I will definitely try another in this series and hope that it's better than this book.


Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, Bk 1)
Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, Bk 1)
Author: Olivia Cunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Oh my smutty goodness did I love this book. It was super hot and had a great love story. This book was more than just some great smut scenes. It had a great love story and greatly developed characters.

Myrna Evans is a woman who knows what she wants and a boyfriend is definitely not it. She likes to take care of herself without having to depend on others and is focused on her career as a Professor of Human Sexuallity. She isn't looking to settle down with anyone, she just wants to experience some great casual sex.

Brian "Master" Sinclair is a guitar god who everyone knows is a one woman guy who just happens to wear his heart on his sleeve. He just wants to find someone to love him as Brian and not "Master Sinclair" and who will be faithful. He's had his heart broken many times in the past and is tired of faithless women.

While Myrna is at a conference looking for a distaraction from the boredom she stumbles across a drunken Brian trying to make his way back to his bandmates who are busy getting drunk at the hotel bar. Myrna, who happens to be a big fan of the band Sinners decides that this is her chance to meet her favorite band helps Brian get to the table. Brian is instantly attracted to Myrna, but is getting over a bad breakup and is completely wasted when he is introduced to her. Myrna is also attracted to Brian and wants to get to know him better. The only problem for her is that she has a rule about sleeping with men she's just met. So she just spends the night taking care of a drunken Brian. The next morning neither can hold off their mutual attraction anymore and they sleep together. All of sudden while they are having sex Brian has an amazing guitar riff pop into his head and not wanting to lose it decides to write it down. The only problem is he nor Myrna can find any paper anywhere. Not wanting to lose the amazing riff Brian uses Myrna's body as a score sheet. This continues to happen all weekend everytime they have sex. Brian, who hasn't been able to write anything in months is suddenly coming up with amazing riffs and it's all because of Myrna. After spending an incredieble two days with Brian, Myrna leaves and goes back to her ordinary life and Brian continues to tour with his band.

A month later after being miserable from not talking or seeing eachother, Brian convinces Myrna to fly out and spend the weekend with him. Myrna is a little hesitant at first because she just wants a fling but she cannot forget about the amazing few days they had spent together a month before. Plus, they have amazing sex together. While watching the Sinners perform Myrna starts talking to some of the fan who claim to be in love with some of the band members. Myrna just can't get over how someone could love someone that they have never met. Deciding that it would make an interesting case study Myrna begins studying the fan of the Sinners. This allows her to remain with the band and go on tour with them. Thus making both her and Brian happy.

When Brian and Myrna are together they are in a world of their own. They just can't keep their hands off of eachother and are constantly going at it. Brian has some seriously strong feelings for Myrna but because she doesn't want anything serious spends most of the time trying to keep them in check and not let her know. He's afraid if he's real with her it will push her away. Myrna is still recovering from a previously disasterous marriage. Because of this she doesn't want anything serious with Brian. She get's frustrated anytime Brian shows his feelings towards her. Everytime she begins to think she may have some feelings for Brian she pushes them away.

I think Olivia Cunning created a great story and I was rooting for Brian and Myrna the whole time. I think it was great to see Myrna overcome her past and be able to love Brian. Brian is a great hero and I too fell in love with him. He's just a big teddybear that wants the love of a great woman. I also loved meeting all of the bandmates. They are all hilarious and I found myself laughing out loud quite a few times. I can't wait to see what happens in the next book. I love this band and can't wait for more. Plus, the smut scenes in this book were great.


Bad Boys Do (Donovan Brothers Brewery, Bk 2)
Bad Boys Do (Donovan Brothers Brewery, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Dahl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 9/24/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

Oh how I loved this book! It was so good and I honestly couldn't put it down. I am completely in love with the sexy kilt wearing Jamie Donovan, and I adored him and Olivia together.

When we were first introduced to Jamie in Good Girls Don't, we met someone who's the family bad boy and seems as if he doesn't really want to grow up and accept any responsibilities. That was definitely not the case in Bad Boys Do. Here we see sexy and charming Jamie trying to atone for all of his past indiscretions. He knows that in the eyes of his family, he's just a screw-up that can't do anything right and Jamie hates that they think that. Jamie has a lot of ideas for upgrades and remodeling at the Brewery and just wants to be more than the charming guy that wears a kilt and everyone flirts with. So Jamie starts taking restaurant developing classes at the local university in the hopes they will finally take him seriously and start letting him take on more responsibilities.

Olivia Bishop is still adjusting to life as a divorcee after a year of being separated from her cheating ex-husband, Victor. At the persistence of her friend Gwen, Olivia agrees to attend a book club meeting at the local brewery where the woman show up to ogle and flirt with hottie bartender Jamie Donovan. Olivia is immediately attracted to Jamie but she seems him as nothing more than a younger guy who probably sleeps around with lots of different women and parties too much. Imagine her surprise when she gets to her class the next day and sees Jamie as one of her students.

Jamie is attracted to Olivia and likes that she is smart and intelligent and looks so sexy in her cardigans and glasses and really wants to date her. Olivia, being a few years older is very hesitant and really doesn't know what to expect from Jamie. She can't deny that she is attracted to him in a sexual way and that they have some serious chemistry. They both begin to teach each other the things they specialize in. Olivia, is helping Jamie put together a portfolio for the remodeling of the Brewery and Jamie is helping Olivia to be more fun.

Watching these two on their adventures was so much fun. They are both so hot together. We were able to see that yes, Jamie is charming and fun to be around, but that there is so much more to him. He is still trying to deal with a lot of mistakes from his past and it nearly broke my heart to see how everyone continued to treat him as the screw-up. I was rooting for him from page one.

Olivia was really refreshing to read about. She has so many emotions and it was great fun watching her learn to live and have fun. Her and Jamie were seriously way hot together and I found myself fanning my face more than once after reading one of their encounters. Especially the scene with the mirror.

I honestly couldn't put this book down. It was so good and I just wish it was longer. I really wanted to see more of Olivia and Jamie. They really were so cute together. As for the next book in the series Real Men Will, I can't wait to read Eric's story. I'm kind of on the fence with him and not sure what to expect. He was kind of a jackass towards Jamie so I really want to see how he redeems himself in my eyes.


Bonded by Blood (Sweetblood, Bk 1)
Bonded by Blood (Sweetblood, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I just can't get over how much I loved this book. I really truly loved this book and I will go so far to say that it's my favorite release this year.

Mackenzie and Dominic have an instant connection. Both are highly attracted to one another but neither wants anything serious. Mackenzie believes she is cursed to die young like many others in her family and Dom is set on seeking revenge for the deaths of his parents. When Dom senses Mackenzie in trouble he stops everything to come to her rescue and in doing so reveals himself and his world to her. At first Mackenzie is freaked out but she ends up handling it very well. Afterwards her and Dom start to recognize their feelings for one another.

Mackenzie is a spunky but lovable chick who is able to take care of herself but isn't afraid to ask for help if needed. She also cares very deeply for those she surrounds herself with. Dom is careful and tries to not have any entanglements that hold him back from his quest for vengeance. But he soon realizes he has deep feelings for Mackenzie and he can't let her go. To see this is great. There is nothing better than watching a man fall hopelessly head over heels in love. The care and love he shows Mackenzie was great to see.

I felt that the connection between both Dominic and Mackenzie was great. Both grow so much throughout the story. They start off afraid to be with each other because they are so uncertain of their futures and it's great to see them realize nothing matters but the other. I truly believed in them and was rooting for them from the beginning of the story.


Chosen By Blood (Para-Ops, Bk 1)
Chosen By Blood (Para-Ops, Bk 1)
Author: Virna DePaul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 7/17/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I admit to being slightly disappointed with this book. I was expecting a little bit more romance and I honestly didn't really grow to like Knox until the last few chapters. I just felt like Knox was slightly jerky(being the better word) and I never really understood the love both him and Felicia felt for one another. We are repeatedly told that they both love each other but why? I felt that Knox never really even got to know Felicia and the type of person she was. I get that they are soul mates but that shouldn't necessarily mean that you love someone. I need to be shown why and I just don't think that was done well.

I really did enjoy the world that Virna created. It seemed very realistic and believable. I also loved reading about the Para-Ops team. I found all of the characters extremely interesting and I can't wait to see how they develop even more in future books. I especially love the tension between Wraith and O'Flare. I can't wait to read O'Flare's book.


Chosen By Sin (Para-Ops, Bk 3)
Chosen By Sin (Para-Ops, Bk 3)
Author: Virna DePaul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/11/2012


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

Wow! It's 6:30 AM and I stayed up all night to finish this book and it was so worth it. Oh my goodness was this story good. Full of so much love and pain. I definitely think that this is by far the best in the series. Dex was just so much more than what I was expecting. Yes, he's tortured and full of pain, but he's also a wise-ass that cares about the ones closest to him, even if he won't admit it to himself. There was just so much pain and resentment issues that he had to deal with from issues stemming from his past that you just want to give him a hug and somehow try and make it all better.

Dex was born half vampire, half werewolf but has the dominate traits of a were. Because he was born a half-breed he's never been able to find acceptance with anyone. He was cast out of his pack when he was a child by his grandfather and sent to live in an orphanage, then a few years later Dex's mother died. Dex has always resented his grandfather and blamed him for the death of his mother. When Dex joined the Para-Ops team, his stipulation was that he would be able to seek out his grandfathers whereabouts and kill him.

When Dex and Jesmina meet, they are both instantly attracted to one another. I mean serious sparkage. After a few close encounters they finally end up having a very steamy one nightstand. After which both go their separate ways. Dex goes back to working for the Para-Ops team, and Jes goes back to her home in France. Neither thinks they will see the other again, or so they thought.

When Jes gets back home she discovers that even though she thought that she was sterile that she is pregnant with Dex's baby. She is beyond happy to be pregnant but she knows she will probably end up loosing the baby. She's been pregnant many times before and was told that she could never have a baby. She always ends up having a miscarriage. She'll do anything to protect the baby inside of her. So when she realizes that Dex is in France, she sends for him. His presence in the country as already made a difference for her baby, as if it can sense Dex and his presence.

Dex has been sent to France to work on a mission when he encounters Jes again. Immediately they both pick up right where they left off, in bed. Dex still can't get over how attracted he is to Jes. There is just something about her that pulls him in and he's never felt this kind of connection to anyone before. When Jes informs him of her pregnancy Dex flips out. He never wanted to be a father, never wanted to subject his child to the abuse he endured because he's a half-breed. But now it's too late, Jes is pregnant and there is nothing he can do about it. He could never leave her knowing that he was the cause of her loosing the baby, so he decides to stick around for awhile. In doing so, he starts to realize that he may be able to let these two in. That maybe he is capable of loving someone else.

I cannot get over how much I loved this book. I loved the pairing of Jes and Dex. Dex is such a alpha male, but there is so much more to him. He really is one of the most caring and loving characters in this series, it just takes him awhile to get there and he might not even want to admit it himself. I loved being able to see the growth of his character as the chapters went on. There were a few times, especially towards the end that I found myself tearing up. Especially when he was in bed with Jes. I really loved these two together and I hope that we get to see more of them as the series progresses. These two had such chemistry together that it felt as if it jumped off the page.

I found that Jes was such a perfect fit for Dex. She is strong, smart, independent and completely in love with Dex and isn't afraid to let him know. I loved this about this book. Once someone felt something for another they let them know. Not only does Jes care about Dex, but she cares about her Draci family. Jes like Dex, has had a very hard life. She has had to watch the ones she's loved die over and over. I don't even know how she has the strength to keep going. I love that she's a fighter and I love that she is willing to fight for Dex.

I can honestly go on and on about why I love this book so much and how it's so good. Seriously people, this book is amazing and you definitely need to read it. In my opinion the best in the series. I can't wait to read the next installment in this series. It just keeps getting better and better.


Close Enough to Touch (Jackson Hole, Bk 1)
Close Enough to Touch (Jackson Hole, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Dahl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

I hate to say it but I wan't the biggest fan of this book. Not that I disliked it, but it was just okay to me. After reading Dahl's last series I had very high expectations going into this book. I guess I shouldn't have gotten my hopes up. Both the hero and the heroine got on my nerves. They were both just so whiny about everything in their lives that after a while it just became annoying to keep reading.

Cole whines about not being able to be the cowboy that he is. He was injured a year ago and may never be able to ride again. I get that, I understand his dilemma, my problem is that is all he thinks about. Well that, and the time he left for two months to go off to Hollywood. To me it felt like all Cole does throughout the whole book is harp on his past. I just thought his affliction to anything Hollywood was over the top. But despite his whiny attitude, I did enjoy Cole. I liked that he was a gentleman.

Grace is makeup artist who is down on her luck and out of money so she decides to try to make a go at it in Wyoming. Grace begins living on a ranch that her aunt owns and hopes to save enough money that she will be able to move on to Vancouver in a few weeks. I don't know what it was exactly, but I just never was really able to warm up to Grace. She's hard, mistrustful and is constantly pushing everyone around her away. I just wanted her to stop being so closed off with everyone and to accept that there are people who are genuine and nice.

As for the relationship between Cole and Grace, I never understood it. I guess I felt like the feelings they both felt were superficial because in the book it didn't come off as if they truly cared for one another. Yes, I believe they were both attracted to each other, but I never felt like there was any romance between them. Grace is so closed off and Cole hides from anything Hollywood that it just felt like a relationship filled with hooking up. They are continuously having these random one night stands that never really lead to anything else. Then all of a sudden I am supposed to believe that they love each other. It just didn't come across like that to me at all. I think that the relationships Grace and Cole were experiencing with everyone around them was more believable than their own.

Don't get me wrong, by no means did I hate this book. In fact I rather enjoyed certain parts of it and found the book engaging and hard to put down. I loved all of the secondary characters we are introduced to and I can't wait to read more with them. I just wasn't the biggest fan of the romance between Grace and Cole. I will say though, that some of their scenes together was very sexy.

All in all, this was an okay read for me. It succeeded in keeping my attention and I'm definitely intrigued to see where this series is going to go from here.


Confessions from an Arranged Marriage (Burgundy Club, Bk 4)
Confessions from an Arranged Marriage (Burgundy Club, Bk 4)
Author: Miranda Neville
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

I really wanted to like this book. This was one of those books I was greatly looking forward to and it just did not meet my expectations. In previous books the sparks between Minerva and Blake were explosive and when I found out they were going to be each other's HEA I was ecstatic. I couldn't wait for the insults and the back and forth bickering that would turn into explosive sexual chemistry. Sadly none of that occurred in this book.

While I enjoyed this book, it just seemed to drag on in some parts. I very much did enjoy the relationship between Minerva and Blake (even though it wasn't what I was hoping for) I just felt like it was overshadowed by all of the politics in the book. It felt as if the politics took over and became the main characters while Minerva and Blake became secondary characters. I understand that it's a big part of the book and it's very important to Minerva, I just felt bored by it. I wanted there to be more focus on Minerva and Blake and their relationship.

I really enjoyed watching these two achieve their HEA. They went from two people who couldn't stand one another to a couple that loves and trusts each other. There were quite a few scenes between them that I loved and completely moved me.

Overall, I enjoyed the this book. Do I wish there was a bit more chemistry between the Minerva and Blake? Yes, but I still enjoyed what we were shown and I enjoyed watching them both grow. They went from two people that virtually hated each other to such a strong unit that loves and trust one another. I hope we get to see more of them in future books. I give this a 3 1/5 stars.


The Courtship Dance (Matchmakers, Bk 4)
The Courtship Dance (Matchmakers, Bk 4)
Author: Candace Camp
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 7/17/2011


I loved, loved, loved this book so much. I could not put it down. I was so sad that it had to end. :( I felt the series as a whole was ok, that it was entertaining but not a keeper. In the past books I would relish every scene that Rochford and Francesca were together. They held my attention way more then the main characters of the other books. The love between the both of them was so believable and sweet. The only negative things I have to say is that I wish they would have been together more sooner. I would just wait on pins and needles for them to interact with eachother. Also, I would have liked to have had more narration from Rochford. Otherwise I give the book 5 stars! It will definetly be a keeper and well worth the wait!


A Dangerous Liaison with Detective Lewis (Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, Bk 2)
A Dangerous Liaison with Detective Lewis (Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, Bk 2)
Author: Jillian Stone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

When I first saw the cover of this book I just new I had to read it. It's breathtaking and once I saw that it was a second chance at love story I was hooked. I devoured this book and enjoyed every moment of it from beginning to end. Miz Stone captured my attention from the first page and had me itching for more until I reached the end. I was captivated by the sparks and tension between Rafe and Fanny as well as aching for them to finally get their long awaited HEA.

Rafe hasn't seen Fanny since the night of their engagement ball five years ago, though she is never far from his thoughts. He never expected to see her again let alone be the one tasked with guarding her life. After walking away from Fanny, Rafe began working as Special Inspector with the Scotland Yard. When news of the death of Fanny's father reaches Rafe, he believes that it was just an accident. But when other inventors start to turn up dead in what appears to be accidents they begin to believe that it was no accident that killed Fanny's father. He along with the other detectives at Scotland Yard believe it to be the work of foul play. Now Rafe has been tasked with the mission to return to Edinburgh and watch over Fanny and seek out any answers he may be able to find to support their theory.

It's been five long years since Fanny has laid eyes on Rafe. He left the night of their engagement ball without so much of a word or backwards glance and Fanny just wants to know why. Why did he leave without saying anything? Why is he here now? Why did he have to break her heart? She just wants answers. When Rafe begins to share the suspicions of her father's death and the fact that she could possibly be in danger she balks at the idea. She along with everyone else, believed his death to be an accident. Who or why would someone want to her her or her father?

Together, Fanny and Rafe work on trying to bring down the men that are responsible for Fanny's father's death while also trying to work on mending their past. Rafe is determined to do everything in his power to keep the woman he's always loved safe and out of harms way.

I loved the relationship between Rafe and Fanny. There is just so much raw tension and chemistry between the two and at times very tender moments. Here we see two people that have always loved each other trying to find a way to mend and forget the past. I found that their HEA was much deserved and completely worth the wait. I loved that neither sugar coat things with the other and they are brutal with their honesty. There is just so much history between them that it just breaks your heart that they spent the last five years apart. I was rooting for these two from the beginning and I loved how things evolved.

This was a great book from Miz Stone and I am greatly anticipating the next book in her Gentleman of Scotland Yard series. If they are half as good as this one was, I know I'll be in for a great read.


Darker After Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 10)
Darker After Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 10)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 1/6/2012


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

Darker After Midnight was a phenomenal read that I just could not put down. Sterling Chase's book was everything that I wanted plus so much more.

I had a lot of expectations for this book. I've been waiting for Chase's book for what seems like forever. From the first time he came across the page I was hooked. And with the way the things went with the last book I honestly had know idea how things were going to go with this one. Just how was Chase going to be redeemed and get his HEA. Oh.My.Goodness, but this book was AH-Mazing and I needn't have worried. There were just so many different twist and turns that happened not only with Chase but with some of the other Breed members.

Like I said previously, with the way things left off with the last book Chase had a lot to overcome and make up for. He had so many demons eating away inside and to see him attempting to fix and make up for everything was a little hard to watch. Your heart aches and you want everything to be rainbows and butterflies but that is not the way things go with this series and I wouldn't have it any other way. I feel after all the hardships Chase dealt with, he came out a stronger man.

When we were introduced to Tavia in the previous book I wasn't quite sure of her and how she would be with Chase. Oh, I shouldn't have worried because these two quickly became one of my favorite couples. I loved watching them together and seeing their relationship grow into what it became. They both brought out the best in one another. I loved that they both were honest with their feelings and didn't play games with one another.

Tavia wasn't just some simpering female that waited around for her hero to come and save the day. She was there for Chase during his darkest times and she wasn't skittish or afraid. I honestly have a little girl crush on Tavia. I love that she is willing to kick ass to save the man that she loves and if need be sacrifice herself to help him and his cause. There aren't many people that love with that kind of fierceness and I found it refreshing.

With the way things ended in this book I can't wait to get my hands on Mira's book. Yes, that's right, Mira's book is next and I just know it's going to be awesome. Mira is another one that has fascinated me since she was introduced and I am so curious to see how she grows up.

So make sure you go out and get this book because you certainly won't be disappointed.


The Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 11)
The Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 11)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 3/3/2012


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

I know I'm in the minority when it comes to my rating of this book which is 3 and a half stars, but it honestly did not live up to my expectations. I'm not sure if it was because I've been waiting for this book for what seems like forever or if it was something else. Honestly, I don't really even have anything bad to say about it. Just for some reason I wasn't able to connect with this book like I was able to with the others. For me this book just seemed to drag on and on.

I think I just had a harder time trying to connect with Paris. Throughout the series he has been one of my favorites of the Lords, but in this book there was just something about him. I'm not sure if it was his tendency to be slightly too possessive and controlling of Siena or what, but he came across too alpha for me at times. I found myself rolling my eyes more than once and putting the book down out of sheer frustration. I hated that he tries to forbid Siena to do anything. I understand, he just wants her safe but damn, give the girl a chance. Don't get me wrong, I love alpha males but I hate when they don't let the heroine think and act for themselves.

Siena was actually a surprise to me. She had more backbone and spunk then I was expecting. She continuously stands up for herself and the ones that she loves. I really admired that about her. She isn't some simpering heroine that sits back expecting everyone to fix everything for her. She finds her own solutions to her problems. Another thing I liked about Siena is her complete honesty with Paris. She doesn't lie or play games. She is real with him and I really enjoyed watching their relationship pan out.

There were also a lot twists and turns in this book that I did not see coming and they made me very anxious for the next book. Certain things have transpired and I'm dying to see what becomes of them and the Lords.


The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 11)
The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 11)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 10/9/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

I.LOVED.THIS.BOOK! Gena has gone and done it again. I totally loved this book to pieces. This one is definitely going down as one of my favorites in the Lords of the Underworld series.

I honestly wasn't sure how I would feel towards Strider. In previous books he came across as egotistical and a little douchey. I honestly wasn't really looking forward to him as a hero. He more than made up for all of that in my eyes with this book. He turned out to be so caring and affectionate towards Kaia. He put her needs before his own, even though it could possibly cause him pain. He was everything I love my heroes to be.

Then there is Kaia. Sometimes it's hard for me to warm up to some heroines. I don't always find them to be the perfect match for the hero or they just come across whiny. That was not the case with Kaia at all. She is just made of awesome. She quickly won me over with her spunkiness and quick wit. But not only is she those things, but she is also very vulnerable. She puts up this facade of not caring what anyone thinks of her but it's definitely not true. She is tired of being called 'Kaia, the Disappointment' and is willing to do whatever she can to prove that she has changed.

Kaia just wants to find love and to be loved in return. She recognizes Strider as her consort, which to Harpy's is equivalent to a soul mate and the only person besides fellow Harpy's that they can truly trust with their secrets. She just wants to be with Strider but she has a past with Paris that Strider is having issues getting past. Strider is attracted to Kaia but he knows that Kaia will continuously challenge him and his demon and he doesn't want to take a chance of her defeating him at anything.

I really enjoyed watching these two together. They were both just so right together. They both are fierce warriors who have a great sense of humor. I found myself laughing out loud a few times watching these two interact. They are just so stubborn and I loved it.

Another thing I loved about the Darkest Surrender is that we get to see a little bit of what's in store for the next book which happens to be the long awaited Paris book. I cannot wait to see what happens with his book. I am also curious to see what is going to happen with Kane and William.


Deeper Than Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 9)
Deeper Than Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 9)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 8/1/2011


I enjoyed this book a lot but I didn't love this book the way I love so many others by this author. I felt very disconnected from the main characters. This was supposed to be Hunter and Corrine's story but it just didn't feel like it. It felt as if they were more a side story while the main story was everything that was going on with The Order. They just seemed to be overshadowed by everyone else.

I really enjoyed getting to know more about the stoic Hunter. The scene where he finds out about his past nearly broke my heart. Even after seeing his past and getting to know him I still felt like we were missing something from him. I don't think we really got inside his head and got to know him as a man rather than a no-feeling bred assasin.

As for Corrine, I found her very annoying for the first half of the book. I understand that she went through a very trying ordeal but she was just so helpless and needy. I think that once she was around Hunter she began to open up and became a different person. It just took some time getting there with her.

Hunter and Corrine were great together but I would have liked to have seen more from them. Their HEA just felt rushed and some things felt like they were missing. I understand that the author is setting things up for her next book, but with doing so we lost the connection between the two main characters.

Now with that being said I did enjoy seeing some of the others POV. After reading about Sterling Chase in this book I honestly cannot wait to read his book, especially with the way things were left off. I'm just so anxious for his story. I have been a big fan of Chase's throughout the series and with the turn of events in this book I just can't wait until January.


Double Time (Sinners on Tour, Bk 5)
Double Time (Sinners on Tour, Bk 5)
Author: Olivia Cunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/17/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Review originally posted at Ramblings From This Chick

First let me start off by saying that Trey's book was released out of order. Trey's book was supposed to be the last in the series so when you read it there will be spoilers for the next two books in the series. Why this happened, I have no idea.

Oh my goodness. Wow, this book was hot! Definitely NSFW or public. Very steamy. I found myself blushing red quite frequently with Trey's antics. I really enjoyed this book. In fact, it's safe to say that it's my favorite of the series so far. I have always had a soft spot for Trey and I'm so happy that he finally got his HEA.

While this book had plenty of steamy sex scenes it was also filled with a lot of emotion. I enjoyed that we were able to see Trey grow. We as readers are able to see Trey go from a heartbroken man who uses sex with random people as a way of coping with his feelings. To someone that is able to open his heart again and find love.

Trey is bisexual and uses meaningless sex with strangers as a way to cope with his pain. He's never been in a real relationship before. That all changes once he meets Reagan. When Trey first encounters Reagan she is at an audition to become the new rhythm guitarist for Exodus End, his brother Dare's band. Immediately they hit it off and sparks fly. Both realize quickly that they want to be with one another and quickly jump into a relationship. Everything is great between the two, but Trey is hiding something from Reagan. She has no idea that Trey is bisexual and Trey wants to keep it that way. He has given up men, or at least he wants to.

When Trey first lays his eyes on Ethan, Reagan's best friend/roommate and also her ex boyfriend he quickly realizes that Ethan is bisexual, not gay likes Reagan believes. Not only is he not gay, he recognizes that Ethan is still in love with Reagan. And to make matters all that more complicated Ethan keeps hitting on Trey. Trey is attracted to Ethan as well but has serious feelings for Reagan and doesn't want to do anything to jeopardize their relationship. Soon Reagan learns the truth about Trey's true sexual desires and in an attempt to not hurt her any further Trey breaks things off between the two. Reagan in an attempt to keep Trey proposes the idea that Trey can have sex with Ethan as long as it's him and no one else.

This is where things start to bother me. Don't get me wrong, these three were freaking hot together. I mean, some of the scenes are dirrtay and I loved it but I just think Reagan was too quick to jump onto the menage idea. It just didn't feel true to her character. One moment she's crying over her heart being broken and then in the next breath she's proposing that they try a menage. I just don't buy it. Also, everything between the three just became so easy. There is somehow no drama at all. I'm just not sure how I feel about the three-way relationship as a whole.While I thought it was way hot I just always felt weird whenever Reagan and Ethan would do anything without Trey. I just felt a sense of betrayal on Trey's behave. I know that he's okay with everything it just felt not right to me.

As for the characters themselves, I really liked Reagan and Trey. I thought that they both brought out the best in each other and Reagan was such a good match for Trey. Both are sarcastic and witty and I really enjoyed them together. As for Ethan, there was something that I just did not like about him. I'm not really sure what, but I was never really able to warm up to him. Yes, he's hot and his sex scenes are muy caliente, there was just something missing for me.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book and I can't wait for the next installment in The Sinners series. I also hope that the author writes a book for Trey's brother Dare. Oh how I love him and I want to know all of his secrets. But seriously, despite some of my issues I LOVED this book and I could not put it down. Trey lived up to all of my expectations and more. Trey is one dirty boy and I loved it! Seriously, this book is H.O.T!


1 to 20 of 88 - Page: