Reviews - Dory K. (msdorky)

1 to 16 of 16
Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/8/2008


"I had some trouble getting into this one, liked the middle, didn't like the end. Overall, an "ok" read."


Austenland (Austenland, Bk 1)
Austenland (Austenland, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 8/17/2009


"As a huge Jane Austen fan, I cringed at the thought of reading yet another badly done psuedo-comparison, however, I was a big fan of Shannon Hale's "Goose Girl" and decided to give it a try. I was not at all disappointed. The story is light but entertaining and she mixes in enough "Austen" in a way that pays homage. Fun read!"


Back Bay (Peter Fallon, Bk 1)
Back Bay (Peter Fallon, Bk 1)
Author: William Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/17/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a great mix of historical fiction / mystery / romance. The story weaves between several characters in different eras, but manages to all make sense for a complete book in the end."


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 8/17/2009


"I'm in the minority here, the best I can say is that I didn't hate it. I found this to be vapid and the main character somewhat annoying. I finished it wondering what the big deal was and clearly not interested in reading the rest of the series."


The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 8/17/2009


"Having really enjoyed "The Other Boleyn Girl," I was a bit skeptical on the sequel. I was pleasantly surprised. The story is told from the pov of three different characters, each with wildly different characteristics. Gregory managed to really get at the essence (as she sees it) of these three women and tells another great story."


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3388
Review Date: 8/8/2008
27 member(s) found this review helpful.


"As a huge fan of the first three in the series, this one is a disappointment. The characters seem out of sync with those in the first three books, some of the plot points are downright laughable and everything is far too neat and tidy."


A Company of Swans
A Company of Swans
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/17/2009


"It's a 'quaint' romantic story set in the early 1900s in England and the Amazon. Many of the scenes are fresh and creative and I loved some of the descriptions. Unfortunately, some of the plot points revolved around too many coincidences and messy crossed-wired communication tactics. Overall, I enjoyed the book and would recommend it as a light read."


Dangerous Surrender: What Happens When You Say Yes to God
Dangerous Surrender: What Happens When You Say Yes to God
Author: Kay Warren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/10/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I absolutely loved this book. Her incredible honesty is what makes it such a satisfying read. Kay tells it from the heart and makes the point that she's one of us. You can't help wanting to make a difference in the world and knowing that if she can do it, you can too!"


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 643
Review Date: 8/26/2007
11 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a dark story, but very good! I thought it was pretty predictable at first, but it wasn't at all. It's written in a mix of first and third person and the story bounces from present to past. Definitely kept it interesting."


Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Author: Jonathan Safran Foer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 8/17/2009


"I really love Foer's writing style. He manages to make lovable, quirky characters that just jump off the pages while telling a wholly creative story."


Falls the Shadow (Welsh Princes, Bk 2)
Falls the Shadow (Welsh Princes, Bk 2)
Author: Sharon Kay Penman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 5/30/2007


"This is the 2nd in a trilogy, and covers the reign of pitiful King Henry the III, but more importantly, introduces us to the amazing Simon de Montfort. Thanks to Ms Penman, there will always be a place in my heart for him!"


Here Be Dragons
Here Be Dragons
Author: Sharon Kay Penman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/20/2007


"Excellent historical fiction. This is the first in a trilogy."


The Jane Austen Book Club
The Jane Austen Book Club
Author: Karen Joy Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 4/25/2007
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a fun quick read. Especially good if you happen to know all the Jane Austen books, but the author includes a synopsis of each book along with all kinds of interesting commentary."


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1431
Review Date: 8/17/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I wish I could remember who recommended this book to me in the first place, because I owe them a huge thanks (or I should curse them for keeping me up at night). While I absolutely loved the characters (hubba hubba Jamie) and the overall story, it is l-o-n-g and could have done without some of the scenes. There's just too much distress and rescuing going on along with a tad too much graphic sex. All that being said, I was still up till the wee hours reading it and cannot wait for book 2 to arrive."


Still Life With Rice
Still Life With Rice
Author: Helie Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/25/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Intense story of a woman's life during the 20th century in Korea. Some parts are completely heartwarming and others are heartbreaking. A good read, hard to put down!"


When Christ and His Saints Slept (Henry II & Eleanor of Aquitaine, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/30/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Penman has quickly become one of my favorite authors. One of the wonderful things about Penman is that she includes a 'note' at the end of each of her novels to explain where she has and has not taken liberties. It's always amazing to read how little she's had to make up! She twists the history into living, breathing characters that you feel you know."


1 to 16 of 16