Tabatha B. (lylathewicked) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


At first I didn't like this book, but the more I read the more I grew to like it. It's definitely an awesome book, and it's so much about how the world is now, it's amazing. Considering it was written long before most of that stuff existed. It's awesome! Read it, read it NOW!


The Big Sleep (Philip Marlowe, Bk 1)
The Big Sleep (Philip Marlowe, Bk 1)
Author: Raymond Chandler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 9/3/2014


I read this with the expectation that I would be intrigued. I had heard a great many good things about this. Honestly, for a noir novel this one felt pretty flat. It wasn't poorly written by any means. It just didn't have the "something" it needed to bring it to life. Perhaps it was the characters. I didn't find myself excited to turn the page. I just felt the need to finish it to say that I'd read it. I've read worse novels though. Worth reading at least once to say you've read it if you haven't yet. Other than that, meh.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 1/27/2007


I read this book in 5th or 6th grade, and I remember loving the story. I just couldn't put the book down. Probably because the name almost reminds me of my own. But the adventure is definitely worth a read, and I'm looking forward to the movie.


Canticle (Forgotten Realms : Cleric Quintet, Bk 1)
Canticle (Forgotten Realms : Cleric Quintet, Bk 1)
Author: R. A. Salvatore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/27/2007


The first time I tried to read this I had a hard time getting into it. But I gave it a second chance, and I was very glad I did. It starts off slow, but the story gets much better as it goes along. I actually picked up the second book to this series, and I intend to finish the series.


Canticle: The Cleric Quintet, Book I
Canticle: The Cleric Quintet, Book I
Author: R.A. Salvatore, R.A. Salvatore
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/20/2014


I own this and it's a great book. The first time I tried to read it wasn't the right time so it went above my head. I gave it a second shot and ended up finishing the series.


The Chaos Curse: The Cleric Quintet, Book V
The Chaos Curse: The Cleric Quintet, Book V
Author: R.A. Salvatore
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/20/2014


This was my least favorite of this series. I'm not sure if that has to do with the fact that the ending was meh or if it was just because it was the last book in this series.


The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms - The Legend of Drizzt, Book IV)
The Crystal Shard (Forgotten Realms - The Legend of Drizzt, Book IV)
Author: R.A. Salvatore
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/20/2014


I read this in high school. If I remember right, it took me a day or 2 to read. That's always a good sign.


Curses, Inc. and Other Stories
Curses, Inc. and Other Stories
Author: Vivian Vande Velde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/27/2007


I enjoyed this book. It has many short stories in it. Some are better than others. I ended up reading some of the stories more than once. I still own this book, and intend to keep it and possibly read it a third time.


Cut
Cut
Author: Patricia McCormick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 3/17/2014


Decided that since this book was so short, that I'd just sit down and read it through. I did, in a couple of hours. Definitely kept my interest. It was irritating at first, but as the book went on things became more clear. My biggest beef with this book is that it was so short and wasn't as in depth as it could have been on some parts. I suppose it leaves the mind to debate some things though.


The Dance (Final Friends, Bk 2)
The Dance (Final Friends, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Pike
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/27/2007


I had no troubles getting into this book. It's well written, and I enjoyed it as much as the first book. It's full of surprises.


The Dragon Reborn (The Wheel of Time, Bk 3)
The Dragon Reborn (The Wheel of Time, Bk 3)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 513
Review Date: 1/27/2007


After reading the first two books of this series I was disappointed in this one. I had a hard time picking it up and continuing to read it. I just couldn't get into it that much. I did however manage to finish it. But after this I discontinued reading this series. It's just too long with descriptions and it gets really old after a while. I recommend reading books 1 and 2 and not continuing this series as it gets lame after that.


Exile (Forgotten Realms: Dark Elf Trilogy, Book 2)
Exile (Forgotten Realms: Dark Elf Trilogy, Book 2)
Author: R. A. Salvatore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 1/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. I remember a friend telling me about it a long time ago. Later on I found another friend who had the trilogy, and he let me borrow it. That's about the time I discovered R.A. Salvatore. I love the adventures of Drizzt and Guenhwyvar his magical cat. R.A. Salvatore is an excellent writer.


The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 1/27/2007


This was one of my favorite books as a freshman in high school. I spent hours reading this without putting it down. I'm unsure of how long it took me to read this one, but I can say I was definitely please.


The Fallen Fortress: The Cleric Quintet, Book IV
The Fallen Fortress: The Cleric Quintet, Book IV
Author: R.A. Salvatore
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/20/2014


This was a great book, one of my favorites from this series too.


Feed
Feed
Author: M. T. Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 4/6/2014


Hated the language in this book, absolutely awful. I didn't mind the foul language, that was fine, but not for everyone for sure. The plot felt really weak up until the very end. At first I wasn't really sure what the story was about, after having read it I feel it's more clear. The characters were total shit, but I must admit I pitied Violet, and could relate to her. I don't think I'll ever read this again. It felt as if so much more should have been explained, or just left out all together if not important to the focus story.

I recommend this book to people who enjoyed Nicholas Sparks - A Walk To Remember because after having read this, I feel it's quite similar.


Final Friends Book 1: The Party
Final Friends Book 1: The Party
Author: Christopher Pike
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/27/2007


I read this book my freshman year in high school. I enjoyed reading it, and was intrigued to the very end. So I ended up picking up books 2 and 3.


The Flood (HALO, Bk 2)
The Flood (HALO, Bk 2)
Author: William C. Dietz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 10/20/2014


This was a great book. I thought it was even better than the first Halo novel.


Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 1/27/2007


I enjoyed reading this book and I read it in two days. Thats a record for me reading a book. I wanted so badly to finish reading it. Yes I'm a slow reader. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes a good southern story.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1262
Review Date: 2/5/2014


The first half of this novel was absolute sh*t. Why? Because it was long drawn out crap that could have easily been summarized, and should have been. I felt that the majority of it was entirely unnecessary to the story itself.

The second half of this book (well most of it) was rather good. I feel that this second half should have actually been the complete novel.

Near the end, say about the last 80 or so pages should have also been summarized. There was a lot of totally unnecessary wording incorporated into this story that really, it would have been stronger without.

All in all, this book was hard to get through. It took me about 3 or 4 months to get through.

I was expecting a fantastic novel with a great storyline and some really great characters. Instead, I was...how do I put this...It was unrewarding. It seemed stale. I guess after having read mystery/crime novels like Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese Falcon, I just can't respect ones like The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo. Needless to say, I will not be reading the next in this series.


The Glass Menagerie
The Glass Menagerie
Author: Tennessee Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 3/5/2014


I had to read this for an English class. It was kind of boring but that's to be expected from an English literature class reading. It wasn't the worst thing I had to read that semester, actually it was one of the better reads.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: