Kelly J. (KellitaJ) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 551 - Page:
2000 Kisses (SEAL and Code Name, Bk 1)
2000 Kisses (SEAL and Code Name, Bk 1)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 3/26/2009


no biggie.


Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, Bk 2)
Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 9/25/2013


This is my favorite Jim Butcher series. 6 books, then it ends. I loved every book and recommend this for young male readers, I even got my son to read it. The imagination, the story was just great and thrilling! READ IT, but in order, starting from the 1st book.


Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, Bk 2)
Academ's Fury (Codex Alera, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Jim Butcher rotates between 2 series, his Harry Dresden stories and this, my FAVORITE series about Tavi and his planet of complex and different species. Jim Butcher really drives his stories in unpredictable directions, with many minute details that made me a real fan of his books. Unfortunately, the Dresden TV show was dismal so I didn't watch. My son who doesn't like to read also liked these book, and used them for his required English book report assignments. He told me "Mother, Jim Butcher obviously plays a lot of video games!" Well, I don't play a lot of video games but I do like his books.
The new releases always come out in hard cover, then in about 10 months are released in paperback.
This is the 2nd of five books (so far) in this series (Codex Alera) 1st is Furies of Calderon, 2nd is Academ's Fury, 3rd Cursor's Fury, 4th Captain's Fury, latest: Princeps' Fury
These are what I keep on my shelves, to enjoy repeatedly... both series!


The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
Author: Angie Fox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 4/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Cute read with her talking dog... who in my opinion, is the star of this story.
It's Fox's first published book and hopefully she'll do a better job explaining her story in the future. I plan on saving this book (I swapped for) and picking up her newest, when it comes out... April 28th!!

The Dangerous Book for Demon Slayers

Her doggie Pirate is still on the cover.


The Accidental Sorcerer (Rogue Agent, Bk 1)
The Accidental Sorcerer (Rogue Agent, Bk 1)
Author: K. E. Mills
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 7/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting story about a 3rd grade wizard and his friend who is an enchanted bird. I am now looking for the second book (Witches Incorporated) to find out what happens. I recommend this long story for those of you who like reading a book and wondering.. What's next?


Affliction (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 22)
Affliction (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 22)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/10/2013


An Anita Blake story, not a throw away like some of her recent offerings. As usual I had to skip pages when I wasn't interested in the bloody violence nor the bondage sex, when I expected a bad guy to show up, but that didn't happen. Some things are not understandable: Jean Claude flying to where she is, only to stay in the hotel all the time?? But I like reading Laura's stories, they are vivid in my head, and I never know where she's going.


Aiden's Charity (Breeds, Bk 12)
Aiden's Charity (Breeds, Bk 12)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 8/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love to re-read my BREED books by Lora Leigh which is why I never trade them, they're KEEPERS. Great sex, hunky men and interesting stories that all tie together.


Ain't Myth-Behaving
Ain't Myth-Behaving
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 9/17/2009


I thought this would be a cute quirky story, but it just seemed predictable and stupid.


All U Can Eat
All U Can Eat
Author: Emma Holly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 2/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy the sexual tension, but found some of the story boring and was turning the pages to find something interesting to read.


Amarantha
Amarantha
Author: Melanie Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/29/2010
Helpful Score: 2


When the women characters are not well developed with intelligence, the story never gets very interesting for me. Very predictable, which I don't appreciate, so I'm trading the book hopefully for something better.


Amaryllis (Futuristic World of St. Helen's, Bk 1)
Amaryllis (Futuristic World of St. Helen's, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle, Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/16/2009


Jayne Castle is just one of this author's names AKA Jayne Anne Krentz, Amanda Quick and Stephanie... something.
A wonderful prolific writer who categorizes the type of novel by the name she writes under.
Jayne Castle writes more supernatural books, as this "FLOWER" series of 3 books, about women who can project a crazy strong prism that their dream man can use to focus his off the chart talent through.
"The Jaynes" all write stories about strong women, and not just as the main character, which is why I own all of Castle's Books, a lot of Krentz's and all of Quick's ( I think the Stephanies were Harlequin Romances).
If you want supernatural women stories, Orchid, Amaryllis and Zinnia are a 3 story must reads.
Jayne Castle's newest books are about the planet called Harmony which is similar, but different than the 3 Flowers. I've always liked tham and gave them 5 stars!


The Amazing Tale Wildcat Arrows
The Amazing Tale Wildcat Arrows
Author: Dara Joy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/15/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I waited for 2 years for this books from Dara Joy who had been my most favorite author. Unfortunately, the story didn't deliver the same charm or sexual tension that Mine to Take, Rejar or some of her previous books delivered. I also didn't appreciate the huge section of poems and bla bla blas that were not a part of the story. I'm never ordering another book from her because it took 2 years after I paid for 2 copies of this book for them to be delivered, and they weren't worth the read or sharing.


An Accidental Goddess
An Accidental Goddess
Author: Linnea Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 5/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Tricked again with a different cover. I like this 4rd book of Sinclair's that seems to continue her story from Finder's Keepers and Gabriels Ghost. It's about life in space, time travel and for once the title of the book is important, accidently becomeing a Goddess. A fun read.


Angel
Angel
Author: Barbara Taylor Bradford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 1/29/2010


Predictable story, yawn.


Angelic (Otherworld Tales)
Angelic (Otherworld Tales)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/13/2010
Helpful Score: 8


Want to pay too much money for a book? Here tiz! I ordered it from Amazon, because I like Kelley Armstrong, and didn't read the deets ABOUT THE BOOK ITSELF, I just read about the contents. When it arrived I saw that it is a teeny tiny thin hard cover book, with large type and less than 90 pages of story. The story, about a recurring character, fallen half demon/witch Eve Levine, who is now an avenging Angel for The Fates, was intersting, but it should have been offered in a book with other short stories. This was a waste of my money, the book was such a quick read I think I'll drop my review down one star.


Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 6/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Some books have way too much action, and the characters never get to rest, eat, or have some meaningful dialog. For me this was one of those way too much violence books, even though I have Lori Handeland's 8 other "Moon" books. Nor a keeper for my library.


Apocalypse Happens (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 3)
Apocalypse Happens (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 2/25/2013


Action packed magical story that is on going. I have had to read them out of order which is difficult, but I love not knowing where the story is going.


An Apple for the Creature
An Apple for the Creature
Author: Toni L. P. Kelner (Editor), Charlaine Harris (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/16/2013


I was so happy to get my hands on this anthology. The Ilona Andrews story was great. Her daughter gets her first case. The apple theme goes through all of the stories. A good book to check out of the library, I couldn't find it issued as a paperback, so it was very expensive for just a few good stories.


The Art of Stealing Time (Time Thief, Bk 2)
The Art of Stealing Time (Time Thief, Bk 2)
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/24/2013


This story, was crazy, went into all sorts of unpredictable directions, and it was entertaining.


Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, Bk 2)
Author: Alyssa Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 6/22/2009


This book has been set down and hard to pick up because the author doesn't really care about her characters.


1 to 20 of 551 - Page: