MARIE P. (mariep) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
All Souls' Night (Blood Ties, Bk 4)
All Souls' Night (Blood Ties, Bk 4)
Author: Jennifer Armintrout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 5/10/2008


I read the 4th, and what appears to be the final book in the Blood Ties series, with little expectation. I thought the 1st book was great, the next 2 book were horrible. But in All Souls' Night Jennifer improved the story and the characters dramatically. I don't have time for a full review, but if you have subjective yourself to reading the 1st 3, I definately recommend reading the last book in the series. You won't be disappointed!


Another One Bites the Dust (Jaz Parks, Bk 2)
Another One Bites the Dust (Jaz Parks, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Rardin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 12/22/2008


I absolutely love this series. It is probably one of my favs in the paranormal genre. Be forwarned that it is not paranormal romance per se but more urban fanasty..don't care for the romance myself but if it's your thing you might want to skip. Not that there's not a lot of tension tho! Love it! I highly recommend the series.


Ashes To Ashes (Blood Ties, Bk 3)
Ashes To Ashes (Blood Ties, Bk 3)
Author: Jennifer Armintrout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 11/30/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I don't think I can read anymore of this series. I loved the first book, thought it was fresh take on vampires stories...but each book become progressively worse. I don't think I'll ever read another book by this author.


Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 12/22/2008


I really liked this book. I was turned off by many people saying the book was erotic, romance/erotica is not normally my thing. But I found the book very engagin and a different paranormal tale in that it involved 'aliens.' I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a change from the vamps/werewolves that seem to dominate the genre. Can't wait to read the next one 4.5 stars.


Because Your Vampire Said So (Broken Heart, Oklahoma, Bk 3)
Because Your Vampire Said So (Broken Heart, Oklahoma, Bk 3)
Author: Michele Bardsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 12/22/2008


Initially found this series to be good, light funny read. Very much like MJD...but now it seems to be the same old, same old. Read one of them and you essentially have the outline for each and every book. Don't get me wrong the series serves it purpose...it's a mindless, fun, beach read if you are in the mood for that kind of thing. But again, if you read one of this series, you've read them all.


The Becoming (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Becoming (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne C. Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 12/22/2008


A slighty different take on the vampire story. Love the nuisances. Have high hopes for the next book! Recommend it!


Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 916
Review Date: 12/22/2008


I absolutely LOVE this series and it keeps getting better. Another book that surprises me with it's unique take on the vampire story. Some of my fav of the paranormal genre seem to be YA anymore. Highly recommend it and I cannot wait to read the next one.


Black Wings (Black Wings, Bk 1)
Black Wings (Black Wings, Bk 1)
Author: Christina Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 2/4/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Completely agree w/ Michelle's review. I'll even go one step further...this book is the poster child for underdeveloped characters and plot. Very little world building, what was done was rushed and confusing. The writing was techincal at best.

Trying not to to be spoilery here...but as an example, one character is introduced and killed off in less than one chapter...this person was supposedly important to Madeline, yet no grief, nothing. The romance interest was so underdeveloped it really was nothing more than a 'who cares' for me.

I gave this book 2 stars. Most undeveloped book I've read in a long time. Not sure if I'll bother to give the next book a chance.


Blood Magic (Ballad of Kirin Widowmaker, Bk 1)
Blood Magic (Ballad of Kirin Widowmaker, Bk 1)
Author: Matthew Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/24/2009


Good premise but difficult read. The book was not very long but it took about a week to read. I'll give the 2nd book a try, which you have to do many time with UF before making an overall decision on continuing the series.


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 7/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I've had these books for awhile and I am currently on the 3rd book in the series w/in 48 hrs. I don't know why I've let them sit so long. The mythology and lore is amazing. The chemistry and mystery of Barrons is so intriquing. I love this series. I easily give it 4 stars.

I would not classify this as romance btw...paranormal or urban fanasty, lots of tension but no romance!


Bloodlands (Bloodlands, Bk 1)
Bloodlands (Bloodlands, Bk 1)
Author: Christine Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/15/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Billed as UF but really PNR. Told from varying POV--it switches between 1st and 3rd person. Ultimately the book was BORING. I couldn't pick it up without falling asleep after reading 20-30 pages. The characters were unlikeable. I couldn't even finish it. My advice--skip it.


The Bride of Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 3)
The Bride of Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 3)
Author: Marta Acosta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/30/2008


This is one of my favoite series in the paranormal universe. I love this author. It's a unique take on vampires and I love the free spirtied snarky lead. It keeps getting better. I can't wait for the next book!


Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 868
Review Date: 8/4/2008


This series just keeps getting better. I loved it. Much darker than the 1st 2, can't wait for the 4th book in the series!


Countdown (Shomi)
Countdown (Shomi)
Author: Michelle Maddox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 12/8/2008


I thought the book was horrible. While the story line was different than most, the overall romance was so predictable and cliche. Total waste of time!


Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 856
Review Date: 8/14/2008
Helpful Score: 8


Let 1st start by being honest. I love Patricia Briggs. She weaves a story like no one else. Absolutely my favorite author. Now that that is out of the way...I will have to say while I liked the story I found Anna to be whiney and annoying thru out the 1st half of the book, but as the story progressed I did come to like her much better. As with all Patricia Briggs books, the writing and the story are incredible. I easily give it 4 stars. I would suggest reading the short in On the Prowl prior to reading this book. I found Anna annoying and I read the short....If I hadn't read the short, I think I would have hated her. A great new spin off of the Mercy series, maybe we can hope Sam will get one too!


Curse the Dawn (Cassandra Palmer, Bk 4)
Curse the Dawn (Cassandra Palmer, Bk 4)
Author: Karen Chance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 6/12/2009


Each book get better and better, and this was by far my favorite of the series so far. I couldn't put this book down. I loved it. Highly recommend! My only complaint is there is no release date as of yet for book 5!!!


Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1071
Review Date: 8/2/2007


My mom gave me this series and I didn't really want to enjoy it, I didn't want to be a fan of Nora Roberts but I loved it. I actually read it twice. The middle of the book was a bit tedious, and the ending was a bit predictable, but a great story none the less!


Dancing with Werewolves (Delilah Street, Bk 1)
Dancing with Werewolves (Delilah Street, Bk 1)
Author: Carole Nelson Douglas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 5/28/2008
Helpful Score: 12


Horrible, horrible book. I made myself finish it. Why? I'm not sure! I think I was just hoping it would get better! Even the grammar sucked! I mean how many exclamation marks can a women use in a book!? I'm not sure I've even seen so many! It was very annoying! Have I made my point?!


Dark Prince (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 1)
Dark Prince (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 1)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 8/2/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I don't get it. Feehan is rated very high on Amazon etc...but it was tacky romance novel..a TACKY one. I'm not opposed to romance novels. But please...it was god awlful. I could barely finish it. And I made myself finish hoping it would get better. It didn't...and it was incredibly repetitive, after 3 chapters you had the whole story, same stick just kept repeating and repeating. I don't get why everyone loves this book (did I say that already?). I'll stick with the other paranormal romance authors. This is the worse one I have ever read!


Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Dead and Gone (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 9)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 945
Review Date: 5/31/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I've read all the Sookie books and started reading long before True Blood became a hit. It's one of my favorite series in the paranormal genre but I felt this book was medicore at best. I felt that plots were introduced and finished with out much thought. Even though there was a lot going on in this book, none of the plot points had me on the edge of my seat and quite a few of them were introduced and tied up in 10 pgs or less. There were a lot of WTF moments for me. I was not thrilled and hope this is not a sign of things to come w/ this series. Huge disappointment from my favorite author!


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: