Niesha R. (nieshalovesbooks) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 4/1/2012


Jasper Fforde is an amazing author. I loved this book and I am passing it around to my friends and family.


Chinese Cinderella : The Secret Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Chinese Cinderella : The Secret Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/26/2012


I think this book was wonderful. I believe it was written for younger readers.I enjoyed the information about Chinese culture as well as the autobiographical story about Adeline herself. I was impressed by the resilience and strength of the young Adeline.


Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, Bk 2)
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, Bk 2)
Author: Ally Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 9/30/2011


Very fun and my twelve year old LOVED it.


Five Quarters of the Orange (P.S.)
Five Quarters of the Orange (P.S.)
Author: Joanne Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/16/2014


I enjoyed the story and found myself interested in the characters. I felt a little disappointed by the ending. I guess I wanted more payback for the antagonists. I admit, that wasn't really the way of the book.


Guji Guji
Guji Guji
Author: Chih-Yuan Chen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/24/2017


This sweet little story is fun to read. My family enjoys talking about the role of adoption and biological families and this book offers another take on the topic. We also like to imagine what would happen if a crocodile grew up thinking it was a duck. Overall, a fun book for the whole family.


Hansa: The True Story of an Asian Elephant Baby
Review Date: 9/27/2012


My three year old and I sat and looked at the pictures, but there was too much text and not enough 'story' to keep her interested in listening. I condensed everything for her. A couple of my older kids picked it up to flip through.

This is more like a report than a story. It details how the mother was able to visit a male elephant and then talks about the new baby elephant after its birth.


Jungle Book (Great Illustrated Classics)
Jungle Book (Great Illustrated Classics)
Author: Rudyard Kipling
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/6/2014


This is a perfect introduction to Rudyard Kipling for my young reader, who is just starting to read chapter books.


The Lacemaker and the Princess
The Lacemaker and the Princess
Author: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/16/2012


I really enjoyed this book, written for children, showing some of the unrest in France just before the French Revolution. I appreciated a look at Marie Antoinette that went beyond the jesting that is more common.


Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 2)
Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 2)
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1653
Review Date: 3/6/2012


I ended up really enjoying this book. It took me a while to want to like the main character, but her growth as the story progressed made me happy in the end.


The Subtle Knife
The Subtle Knife
Author: Phillip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/17/2014


I'm not Catholic, but the author's continuous harassment of that church distracted me from the storyline that may have been enjoyable otherwise. I loved the first book, but I won't waste my time on the third.


Utterly Me, Clarice Bean (Clarice Bean)
Utterly Me, Clarice Bean (Clarice Bean)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/10/2012


My girls enjoyed this. It was a fun read.


The Wizard Lord (Annals of the Chosen, Bk 1)
The Wizard Lord (Annals of the Chosen, Bk 1)
Author: Lawrence Watt-Evans
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/16/2012


Always love Lawrence Watt-Evans :)


1 to 12 of 12