Betty O. (bettyo) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Amazing Grace
Amazing Grace
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 1/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is a return to the older Danielle Steel style and story. It's set in her familiar San Francisco with multiple characters and stories interwoven. It was an easy read and I enjoyed her work again.


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 7/1/2014


I was a bit disappointed in this book. I usually get into his books rather quickly,but this one took me half way through. As always in his books, someone dies. The ending took me by surprise but still had me in tears.


Brazen Virtue (D.C. Detectives, Bk 2)
Brazen Virtue (D.C. Detectives, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 3/8/2009


Another winning Nora Roberts tale of mystery, intrigue and good characters.


Chasing Fire
Chasing Fire
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 10/21/2011


One of the best Nora Roberts I've ever read.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 8/19/2009


This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. I had only read one other book by Nicholas Sparks, The Wedding. This one I enjoyed alot more eventhough I cried through the last pages. It probably touched me more because of very similar circumstances in my family in the past two months. It's nice to read such a touching story from a man's point of view. It was a very quick read also, one I couldn't put down. I highly recommend this book.


Final Justice (Sisterhood, Bk 12)
Final Justice (Sisterhood, Bk 12)
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 3/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is aptly titled Final Justice. Fern Michaels should put the siterhood/vigilantes to rest for a few years. This was not as intriguing as the prior novels in this series. It lacked depth. Perhaps in a couple or three years she could write a reunion type book or a catch up on the characters. I still enjoyed it, just not as much as the others.


Matters of the Heart
Matters of the Heart
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 9/23/2010


This was a much darker book than the usual Danielle Steel, but one that I couldn't put down. I just kept saying to myself, "Run, Run!". A great read.


Sandra Brown: Three Complete Novels
Sandra Brown: Three Complete Novels
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/28/2011


I liked the first two novels - romance with a twist.
The third one - not so much.


Say Goodbye (FBI Profiler, Bk 6)
Say Goodbye (FBI Profiler, Bk 6)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 4/2/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I found this to be a very dark and disturbing book. I really wasn't sure I wanted to continue it shortly after I started it. However, the author lured me in with the intrigue. I had read three of her other novels previously and liked them. At the end of her book, she states "this is the most violent book I've written" Now - she tells me.
Not sure I'll read any more - at least not soon.


Sliver of Truth (Ridley Jones, Bk 2)
Sliver of Truth (Ridley Jones, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 4/22/2011


I really liked this book. The twists and turns of the plot and the characters kept me on edge. I think it would be best if a person read "Beautiful Lies" first (which I did). This is a follow up to that story, but if one didn't read it first, Ms. Unger guides you through and gives just enough background, that you could read this one as a stand alone story. I did find myself questioning, in my mind, nearly everyone and everything around me while I was reading it. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a mystery of the mind and people.


Tribute
Tribute
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


When I first starting reading this I thought, "Oh..I'd already read this." But no, I hadn't and even if I had, I'd read it again. It was a thoroughly wonderful true Nora Roberts novel. I loved the lead woman, Cilla, strong as all Roberts' women are. But the lead male was not the usual unattainable, macho man. He was sweet and quirky and just right. As always the mystery intrigue was there. And this time, I didn't figure it out until very late in the book. And only then, it was not a certainty.
Enjoyed this one very much!


Up Close and Personal
Up Close and Personal
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 9/16/2009


I really liked the the characters. A fast read. It kept me reading and of course, the happy ending.


1 to 12 of 12