4amigos - Reviews

1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
47 Beavers On the Big Blue Sea
47 Beavers On the Big Blue Sea
Author: Phil Vischer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is so much fun to read. Kids love the song, and dance right along to it. The cd makes brings so much life to the book.


The American Patriot's Almanac: Daily Readings on America
Review Date: 12/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had the pleasure of reviewing this book, and it exceeded my expectations. The book design is beautiful, and it instantly drew me into the book. The book is divided by months and themes. The first thing we did was look up the dates of our family. We all wanted to see what events took place on our birthdates. It is a great history lesson for us all, and it makes learning history fun. The book contains various documents that have shaped American history. Such as the Constitution, The Bill of Rights, The Gettysburg Address, The Declaration of Independence, and many more. My favorite was the Code of Conduct for the military. I have many family members serving our country, but I had never read the pledge that is required of our armed forces. This makes me honor and appreciate our troops even more. The book contains a list of the top 50 American films of all time. My family plans to watch all of these films. My children enjoyed learning about all the symbols on American money. They also wanted to learn some of the American Patriotism songs in the book. Our family plans to read the daily entry at night. This is a wonderful introduction to history for your family. It is done in a simple but engaging way. Every family should have this book in their home library. I plan on purchasing a few for relatives. This book would be wonderful for a classroom, homeschooling family, and public library. This book is worth every penny.


Bad Dog, Marley!
Bad Dog, Marley!
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/20/2008


My family loves this book. The illustrations are amazing and add so much life to the story. The story is fun, and will bring many laughs. My two boys, read it all the time.


Being Me
Being Me
Author: Julie Broski, Vincent Vigla (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/10/2008


Easy story for beginner readers. Fun pictures.


Bible Atlapedia (VeggieTales Bible Resource Library)
Bible Atlapedia (VeggieTales Bible Resource Library)
Author: Cindy Kenney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/22/2008


Christian families will love this book. This book breaks down all the central aspects of the books in the bible. It gives a description of the people in the bible. It has maps. I love all the historical pictures and locations that are included in this book. This book will be kept on our shelf for years to come. My children love it, as do my husband and I.


Big Digger (Chunky Vehicle Shaped Boards)
Big Digger (Chunky Vehicle Shaped Boards)
Author: Kay Barnes
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/10/2008


Big book for little boys who love big vehicles.


Blue's Sleepover Party (Blue's Clues)
Blue's Sleepover Party (Blue's Clues)
Author: Adam Peltzman
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/10/2008


Preschoolers will love this. Fun book.


Boom Chicka Rock
Boom Chicka Rock
Author: John Archambault, Suzanne Tanner Chitwood (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/10/2008


Fun, rhyming book. Kids will love it.


The Bunyans
The Bunyans
Author: Audrey Wood, David Shannon (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/10/2008


The illustrations are wonderful. My 6 year old thought the story was funny.


The Case of the Lost Temper (VeggieTales)
Review Date: 2/20/2008


My son used to lose his temper really easily. Now when he does, I remind him of this book. This book is great in teaching children about anger. It is done in a fun, simple way.


Christianity In Crisis: The 21st Century
Christianity In Crisis: The 21st Century
Author: Hank Hanegraaff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have noticed that many ministers that are televised seem to focus on gaining more popularity and writing books. They market themselves to the public, which makes them lots of money. Which they claim is to further the Kingdom of God. I question how much of that money really does go to benefit the ministries they claim to support or align with. They preach that if you just follow God, then you can also receive all his blessings. Of course, they may not outright say it, but imply that these blessings are financial. Hanegraaff goes on to list a Cast of Characters in which he discusses celebrity ministers and what they preach. I appreciated that he did not simply state his opinions. He actually provided evidence about how these ministers were preaching contrary to the bible. Hanegraaf does not set out to destroy the popular leaders; he simply wants to bring awareness of them. We need to investigate the truth, and not accept everything they say. They are human and have their own objectives and opinions too. Hanegraaff lists examples of their sermons, and discusses how they misrepresent scripture to benefit themselves. He uses scripture to support his thoughts on what these popular ministers are preaching. The book also focuses on how to teach biblical doctrine that aligns with the bible. He writes about how we can look for false doctrine, so that we dont fall into a world of lies and deceit by those who seem trustworthy. He does admit that there are Christians who truly are good and committed to leading others to God. Hanegraaff uses three steps to support his arguments. Ask, Believe, and Receive. He does a thorough job of presenting these steps and explaining how they will strengthen a persons faith. Hanegraff has included an extensive list of endnotes to support his book. It is obvious that his research was thorough and detailed. This book does an excellent job of reminding us of the importance of bible reading. The bible is the ultimate source of Gods word. We need to educate ourselves about Gods word. This will help prevent us from becoming victims to the Celebrity Ministers who may be deceptive. This book does an amazing job of bringing God and the bible back into the 21st century.


The Clumsiest Cowboy
The Clumsiest Cowboy
Author: Doug Peterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/20/2008


My sons love this book. It teaches kids about helping others, and not making fun of them. Great illustrations and message for kids.


Curious George Discovery Day
Curious George Discovery Day
Author: N. T. Raymond
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/20/2008


My 2 year old son, has so much fun with this book. We have read it so many times. It has lots of fun tabs, and things to turn. It is great, and teaches toddlers so much.


The Dangerous Book for Boys
The Dangerous Book for Boys
Author: Conn Iggulden, Hal Iggulden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 2/10/2008
Helpful Score: 4


My sons and husband, have so much fun with this book. They are constantly looking or reading and trying something new. Currently, they are in the beginning stages of building the go-cart described in the book. This book is amazing, and is so much fun. What a great way to encourage boys to get out and play. We will not be parting with this book. We have years more of fun left in this book.


The Dreams of Little Boys: Celebrating Small Champs with Big Hearts
The Dreams of Little Boys: Celebrating Small Champs with Big Hearts
Author: Donald Zolan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/6/2008


Filled with messages and poems to inspire little boys. Wonderful illustrations.


Farm Babies
Farm Babies
Author: DK Publishing
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/26/2008


Cute story. Toddlers will enjoy the four animals attached to the book.


The Fastest Dodge Ball in the West (Veggie Tales Values To Grow By)
Review Date: 2/6/2008


Fun story with a great message.


Good Knight, Duke (Veggie Tales) (Values to Grow By)
Good Knight, Duke (Veggie Tales) (Values to Grow By)
Author: Ronald Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/20/2008


This book has a great message about kindness. My children thought the illustrations were fun, and laughed throughout the book.


The Good, The Bad, and The Silly (VeggieTales)
The Good, The Bad, and The Silly (VeggieTales)
Author: Doug Peterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/20/2008


This book has such a good message about how children should make good choices that please God. My sons had so much fun with this book.


The Great Cheese Squeeze: A Gruntly  Iggy Adventure (VeggieTales Series)
Review Date: 3/6/2008


My son had so much fun reading this book. The story is funny and engaging. The illustrations are great.


1 to 20 of 46 - Page: