Wendy (Froggie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 11/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed the book - very quick reading material. It was funny, engaging, but gave me information about some well-known and not so well-known people that I didn't know. If Mr. Goldberg wrote another book I would be very interested in reading it.


102 Minutes : The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside The Twin Towers
Review Date: 5/18/2010


Just finished this book and it was impossible to put down. It was an emotional book but I was so drawn to it. In the book you met people who you knew were not going to survive due to either their location in the buildings or that they were told to stay put or that the complete chaos that was happening around them.

Many people said to me that they just couldn't read a book such as this. I just couldn't imagine not reading it. Highly recommend this book to EVERYONE.


13 : Thirteen Stories That Capture the Agony and Ecstasy of Being Thirteen
Review Date: 4/1/2012


While this is a book written for young adults I found it to be a very good ead. Thirteen short stories all about bein 13. It brought back some memories for me. One short story in the book that absolutely blew me away. It is called "Black Holes and Basketball Sneakers" by Lori Aurelia WIlliams. It was so well written and showed such emotion that I can't stop thinking about that story.


All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book - I was able to finish this over a weekend. The author captures the feelings and emotions any parent would feel in such a situation. I cried during parts of this because her words were put together so intense. I felt like I was there just observing what was happening to the mother.

I passed this book to my mother and a co-worker (both reading fanatics like me) and their feelings were the same.

I wonder if this happened to me if I would react the same in the end. ??


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 6/21/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I just finished this book and was quite frustrated with it. I enjoyd Sebolds other books "The Lovely Bones" and "Lucky" but this one not so much.

It is a woman who is dealing with mental illness from both of her parents but growing up she does not really know what is wrong with them. In the book the daughter is completely out-of-control and goes to a very dark place.

I am not sure if Sebold wants you to feel bad for the main character or not. It is hard to describe how I feel about her but I certainly do not like that she has committed a horrible crime. Given her upbringing I am not really that surprised but it doesn't make me feel sorry for her either.

As others have said the book jumps back and forth to present and past and sometimes with no reason why. I am glad I read it but I am also glad to pass it along to someone else.


American Fuji
American Fuji
Author: Sara Backer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/24/2011


What a delightful book! An American professor living in Japan crosses paths with another American searching for answers on how and why his son died in Japan. The book gives you some insight into Japanese culture. A little bit of mystery, romance, and suspense all rolled into one.

I had a hard time putting this book down. Has made me want to read more books about the Japanese.


Angels Crest : A Novel
Angels Crest : A Novel
Author: Leslie Schwartz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Story about a little boy who becomes lost in the woods. Each chapter is told from a different character in town. Very sad but well written.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 8/14/2008


I did not know what to expect fromthis book but I found it fascinating. I could not put the book down and have passed it along to my mom and a co-worker who also liked. it.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 10/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I am a fan of Bohjalian's but I really couldn't even make it though this book. I found it to be dreadfully boring and the story just didn't go anywhere. The description on the back cover had me hoping for a good read but sadly it wasn't.

I would suggest you read other books by this author, IMO they are much better.


Blue Shoe
Blue Shoe
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 4/16/2008


This is the first book I read by Anne Lamott and it was very good. The characters were a bit unusual but that is what I like. I would read more by this author.


The Buffalo Soldier
The Buffalo Soldier
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


What an incredible book. You immediately get caught up in the life of Terry and Laura Sheldon because their twin daughters die in a tragic accident. As their lives move on they decide to take in a foster child - Alfred.

While Terry's life moves in a different direction, Laura desperately tries to bond with Alfred. One of the most beautiful parts of this book is Alfred's relationship with the neighbor, Paul. Paul teaches Alfred all about the Buffalo Soliders - the African-American calvary troopers.

This book is very touching and will leave you wanting to read more from this author. This is one of my favorite books by Bohjalian.


The Buffalo Soldier
The Buffalo Soldier
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 8/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was the first book I read by this author and I was extremely delighted with it. The way he developed the characters made me feel like I personally knew each one of them.

A very touching story about human relationships. I especially enjoyed the relationship between the young boy and the neighbor. It was unexpected but sweet.


But Inside I'm Screaming
But Inside I'm Screaming
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 6/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I just could not get into this book. THe beginning part just dragged on and on.


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 2/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was excellent and will bring out the emotions of any parent. I had already cried 3 times by chapter 8!

I have read several of the authors books and it is hard to pick a favorite. This one follows the 12 year old sister as she and her family learn to cope with the horiffic circumstances that took the lives of her younger twin sisters.

The ending will surprise you....keep reading till the very last page.


The Carousel
The Carousel
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 11/12/2009


What a great book...Evans really knows how to write. As usual the reader is pulled into the book from the first page. I was crying towards the end of the book. Evans is becoming one of my top 5 authors now!


Charming Billy
Charming Billy
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 5/8/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I actually thought this book dragged on waaay to much. About half-way through the book I realized that I didn't care about the characters.

I don't recommend this book.


Charming Billy
Charming Billy
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was ok. There are quite a few characters in the book and at times I found myself going back a few chapters to see who exactly these people were.


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 10/23/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I have never read any books by this author before but I understand he is more of a mystery/thriller writer.

I really enjoyed the book. It was fast paced and quite beliveable. It does have more of a holiday setting but that does not detract from the book.

I would recommend it. Maybe good for a Book Club.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4384
Review Date: 7/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I could not get through this book. While I was intrigued by the writing style, I just found it to be awful. I couldn't even make it to the 100 pages I normally give a book. There was nothing compelling about this book that would make me want to read it further than I did.


The Disapparation of James
The Disapparation of James
Author: Anne Ursu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book had so much promise but it never delivered. A family goes to a magic show and their shy little boy is chosen as a volunteer for the last trick. The clown makes him "dissappear". At the end of the show the boy never returns to his seat.

The book takes you through the next few weeks with the family and how they are dealing with their greif. What happened to James? THe police do all that they can to help but everything comes up empty.

I won't ruin the ending for you here but just enough to say that the ending was very, very dissappointing to me. Too many unanswered questions....especially a BIG one!


1 to 20 of 56 - Page: