Julia S. (itmaven) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
Balance of Power (Op-Center, Bk 5)
Balance of Power (Op-Center, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Pieczenik, Tom Clancy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 2/17/2006


a typical clancy--you like it or you do not


A Caribbean Mystery (Miss Marple, Bk 9)
A Caribbean Mystery (Miss Marple, Bk 9)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/4/2011


This might go down as one of my top ten Agatha Christie's


The Colorado Kid
The Colorado Kid
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 1/24/2006


This was not a scary/gory Stephen King but rather an old-fashioned mystery. Does take the Lord's name in vain a couple of times but, no sex. It would be fine for your mother or grandmother if they like mysteries. My mother--prefers them a bit spicier actually.


The Confession
The Confession
Author: Domenic Stansberry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Typical pot-boiler crime novel. Good for the beach.


Cover Her Face (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 1)
Cover Her Face (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 1)
Author: P. D. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/24/2015


A good read and mystery. Bit of a period piece being from the late 50's-early 60's. Typical British class conflicts, etc.. Good believable characters. Only one I didn't like was the spoilt "son of the manor" but I should not give away anything of the plot.

Neither vulgar nor malicious--just a good mystery.


The Crossword Murder (Crossword Mystery, Bk 1)
The Crossword Murder (Crossword Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Nero Blanc
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A good premise for the mystery, clever--too much sex--but I'm pre-MTV generation.


Died in the Wool (Knitting, Bk 1)
Died in the Wool (Knitting, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Kruger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 1/24/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Okay mystery--not the best, not the worst.


Eric (Discworld, Bk 9)
Eric (Discworld, Bk 9)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 3/31/2013


A classic Terry Pratchett. Next to the guards of the Night Watch, Rincewind is my favorite of his continuing characters. A fun romp. Worth a re-read.


Feet of Clay (Discworld, Bk 19)
Feet of Clay (Discworld, Bk 19)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 1/30/2006


Do you like British humor? A literary work in which human vice and folly is attacked through irony, derision and wit under the guise of "fantasy literature". You can't just read one Terry Pratchett novel, trust me on this.


The Great Gatsby
The Great Gatsby
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/27/2006


A sad book, about a man who built his castle on sand.


Housekeeping
Housekeeping
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 4/4/2013


An interesting read--still haven't figured out what it is about--but I think I will re-read it in six months to see if I have more insight into it.


An Irish Country Doctor (aka The Apprenticeship of Doctor Laverty) (Irish Country, Bk 1)
Review Date: 4/2/2015


I enjoyed the book. It is not "All Creatures Great and Small"--there is profanity and mild sexual content. It is an entertaining, fictionalized account of a new doctor fitting into a Northern Ireland village practice. I enjoyed it enough to read the second book in the series.


An Irish Country Village (Irish Country, Bk 2)
An Irish Country Village (Irish Country, Bk 2)
Author: Patrick Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/19/2015


I liked the book very much, better than the first book. You don't need to have read the first book in the series to enjoy this one. The story lines & characters kept me engaged and it was quite a pleasant read.

As I said in my review of the 1st book in the series, it isn't "All Creatures Great and Small" but for me an excellent substitute. A bit too much sex but the book takes place during the swinging 60's, mini-skirts & the Beatles so the narrative is going to be more explicit than in the setting of our beloved Vet in post-war Yorkshire.


J is for Judgment (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 10)
J is for Judgment (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 10)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 6/9/2006


A good read & mystery.


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 1/27/2006


A pleasant read--doesn't hit you over the head with doxology--but gives a message.


Little Girl Lost
Little Girl Lost
Author: Richard Aleas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/19/2006


4-star Hard-Case Crime novel


Longitude : The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time
Review Date: 2/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Facsinating story


Murder At Hazelmoor
Murder At Hazelmoor
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/31/2013


A good classic Christie. There are some easy clues to pick up on and then some harder clues. A definite re-read.


The Pale Horse
The Pale Horse
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Not my favorite--I was surprised by not enjoying it so much. PBS recently did an adaptation changed it around quite a bit but I actually enjoyed it a lot more.


Political Suicide
Political Suicide
Author: Robert Barnard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/31/2011


book may be 20 years old but the politics are the same--good read


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: