Joan S. (happyface) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
American Rust
American Rust
Author: Philipp Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/18/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Although fairly well written, I kept reading this book hoping to find redemption, hope, a light in the forest somewhere. Didn't find it. All these characters are a mess. Abrupt ending, very unsatisfying. Disappointing.


The Bartender's Tale
The Bartender's Tale
Author: Ivan Doig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/25/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Ivan Doig is a master storyteller. Or was....he died very recently, which makes me very sad because there won't be any more wondrous books from him to enchant us. This is his second to last novel; about a young boy who lives with his bachelor father behind the most famous bar in town. In fact, soon to be the most famous bar in Montana. Their relationship is a little rocky but saturated with love, as they learn how to live with each other and what routines to fall into. As new characters are introduced they become an integral part of the 'family' with fascinating stories of their own.

The writing is just wonderful, at times funny, sad, frustrating and you want this story to go on and on. You never really know where you are going but you sure love the ride. And when you come to the last few pages you realize you are going to be really sad when it is over, because no matter what you pick up to read next, it probably won't be nearly as good.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Unusual story, very well written. Satisfying conclusion.


Beside a Burning Sea
Beside a Burning Sea
Author: John Shors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Very interesting, fast moving, hard to put down.


The Big Burn
The Big Burn
Author: Jeanette Ingold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/18/2011


The reviews indicate this book is for young readers, ages 12-15 or so. It is very well written, as well as being very educational in methods of firefighting as well as the chemistry of fire. The characters are believable and interesting. I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, under 21 or over!


Blind Your Ponies
Blind Your Ponies
Author: Stanley Gordon West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/12/2012


This is an interesting, well written story. The plot is slightly predictable, however, the narrative is exciting and the descriptions of playing basketball keep you turning the pages. It could have been shortened a little, and the romance between the teachers a little less graphic and I'd have given it five stars.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 8/18/2010


This is a great book -- fun and easy to read and hard to put down. The characters are vividly drawn, some you love and some you're just not too sure about. The plot seems quite predictable at first, but keeps twisting and turning like a country road, and you're not sure where you are going til you get there. Button is a sweet little girl with lots of potential, and a huge inferiority complex. Winnalee is the new friend that opens up Buttons eyes to a whole new world, right in her own backyard. Aunt Verdella is the rock and the glue that keeps the family from splintering apart.

Thoroughly enjoyable, I loved this book. Even if you don't believe in fairies, you will too!


The Bride's House
The Bride's House
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/9/2012


I've been a fan of Sandra Dallas for years, however, I would have to say this book is a letdown from her other work. Although liberally peppered with recognizable Denver and Georgetown landmarks, the characters have little depth and the story isn't particularly interesting. I'm disappointed.


The Buffalo Soldier
The Buffalo Soldier
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Unforgetable story, well written. Highly recommended.


Chinaberry Summer: Riverton, Alabama 1947
Chinaberry Summer: Riverton, Alabama 1947
Author: Harris Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/29/2011


A sweet summer about a likeable boy in the South, in a simpler time.


COLD WINTER'S KILL
COLD WINTER'S KILL
Author: Bob Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2010


Cold Winter's Kill takes you on a breathless ride from page one until the end. Bob Doerr's writing is skillful, clean and direct. The plot is suspenseful with a number of twists and turns that keep the reader guessing until the end. If you want a story that keeps you riveted, without a lot of nasty language and gratuitous sex, pick up this book. But be sure you have a lot of time to read -- you won't want to put it down.


Confinement
Confinement
Author: Carrie Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The writing is good, the story interesting all the way to the last page, but the ending is unsatisfactory -- too many loose ends, too sad. After staying with it for 352 pages I really expected more. I would not recommend it.


Consider This, Senora
Consider This, Senora
Author: Harriet Doerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Interesting, well written.


Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody, Bk 1)
Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 315
Review Date: 5/3/2010


Planning a trip to Egypt in the near future, I thought it would be entertaining to read some literature set in that area. This series of books fills the bill to some extent; Crocodile is indeed set in Egypt, however, the geography isn't paramount to the story. It is a mystery/romance that just happens to occur in Egypt. The writing is rather elementary and although the narritive flows along nicely, it is non-inventive and fairly predictable. A good book for light reading, but not exactly what I was hoping for.


Dancing at the Rascal Fair (McCaskill Trilogy, Bk 2)
Dancing at the Rascal Fair (McCaskill Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Ivan Doig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 3/24/2016


Ivan Doig is a brilliant writer and Dancing is a wonderful example of his art. I have read most of his books and intend to read them all.


The Diezmo
The Diezmo
Author: Rick Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/11/2011


Although Rick Bass writes very well, the story was a little weak and wavering; holding my attention closely at times and at others making me struggle through a lot of prose to get to the next good stuff.


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/5/2011


The writing is interesting with vivid descriptions of life in Africa as seen by a child growing up there. But the subject matter is distressing and depressing -- about a family dysfunctional to the point of almost being criminal. I'm pretty sure I'd not have finished reading this book if it weren't required reading for this month's selection of our book club.


A Duty to the Dead (Bess Crawford, Bk 1)
A Duty to the Dead (Bess Crawford, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 11/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A real page turner!


The Eleventh Man
The Eleventh Man
Author: Ivan Doig
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/1/2010


Interesting but not riveting, sad but not heart-wrenching. Ivan Doig fans will enjoy this one.


Enemy Women
Enemy Women
Author: Paulette Jiles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/4/2013


Highly readable story of what it might have been like for civilians living in the South during the Civil War. Although a little strangely written, the story flows along smoothly, propelling you along to an ending that seems a little abrupt and anti-climatic. You turn the last page and wonder what happened next! I guess whatever you hoped for -- write your own ending.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: