Linda L. (angelstar) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 88 - Page:
100 Flowers Gift Edition
100 Flowers Gift Edition
Author: Georgia O'Keeffe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/29/2010


A tiny book of some of Georgia O'Keefe's flower paintings.
Just beautiful.
A great book to add to your small book collection.
It is 4 1/4" X 4" and has a dust jacket.


Adobe InDesign 2.0 Classroom in a Book
Adobe InDesign 2.0 Classroom in a Book
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/23/2007


This is the book I used in class and it was very helpful and easy to use.


Alcoholics Anonymous: The Story of How Many Thousands of Men and Women Have Recovered from Alcoholism
Review Date: 8/7/2007


I think it's a very good read for anyone, not just for alcoholics.


The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Bk 3)
The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Bk 3)
Author: Philip Pullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 5/28/2008


All the books in the series are great, according to me.
Read it yourself and come to your own conclusion.
I gave them all five stars!


America's Ancient Cities
America's Ancient Cities
Author: Gene S. Stuart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/4/2007


A journey to Yucatan reunites Gene S. Stuart with her granddaughter, Gloria. A graduate of the University of South Carolina, in her native state, Gene has been involved in North American for more than 30 years. She wrote "The Might Aztecs" for Special Publications and is the co-author of "Discovering Man's Past in the Americas" and "The Mysterious Ways"

Strapped to a helicopter, Richard A. Cooke III photographs sites in New Mexico's Chaco Canyon. Born in Hawaii and now a resident of Oregon, Rik has contributed to "Builders of the Ancient World" and other Society publications. "America's Ancient Cities," he says, "combined by two favorite life interests -- photography and architecture."

In his Pennsylvania studio, H. Tom Hall works on one of the 15 paintings he created for "America's Ancient cities." A book illustrator for 30 years, chiefly of historical subjects, he was the artist for two other Special Publications, "John Muir's Wild America" and "Into the Wilderness." "Archeology was a new field for me," Tom says. "Doing the paintings for this book filled a gap in my education."

LOTS of color beautiful photographs and illustrations!


The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 8/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. I was enthralled throughout. It's a pretty fat book and I believe it's good for anyone, not just teens! Maybe a few slow parts, but all books have that. Other people have said what it is about, so I won't go into that here.
I even read all the footnotes. They contain mostly interesting material and are often humorous.


The Andromeda Strain (Audio CD)
The Andromeda Strain (Audio CD)
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/25/2008


3 CDs.
Abridged.
Read by Chris Noth.


Any Place I Hang My Hat
Any Place I Hang My Hat
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/7/2007


Very interesting and thought provoking.


Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End
Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End
Author: Lawrence E. Joseph
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/20/2012


I loved this book! I liked the science and was kept interested throughout! It was full of all the information I had heard of in the past and was clear and concise. I got it from my library and plan on buying it soon.
The author is not saying that he believes this stuff is going to happen. He's just doing the research on what others have said and putting it together in one book for those of us who like everything all in one book.
Thank you to the author for writing this book. :-)


Are You There God?  It's Me, Margaret
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 9/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great book that I read to my niece quite some time ago. It's geared toward young girls in early adolescence. I read it again and it was still great! Now I've listed it here at PBS.


Ariel's Crossing
Ariel's Crossing
Author: Bradford Morrow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/24/2011


I liked this. I'm not much for words, but it kept my interest throughout and I finished it and I will read it again someday. I checked it out from my local library.


The Beans of Egypt, Maine
The Beans of Egypt, Maine
Author: Carolyn Chute
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/4/2013


I got up to like the 2nd chapter. Never finished it. Depressing.


A Beginner's Guide to Stamp Collecting
A Beginner's Guide to Stamp Collecting
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/18/2010


This is a fine interesting and cool kit to get here. But don't pay any more for it.
I just bought this used through Amazon.com.
It contains:
25 stamps
About 25 hinges.
Small magnifying glass
A small Collector's Album of United States Stamps.
A very small book: A Beginner's Guide to Stamp collecting. It's good information for a child I guess.
But Honestly, I don't think it's worth it unless you find it for $2.00 at a yard sale, or like I said above, get it here!
In my opinion they certainly could have at least included more stamps!!


The Book of Cancer Prevention: Foods, Lifestyles & Medical Care to Keep you Healthy
Review Date: 8/7/2007


Very powerful and informative.


A Brace of Bloodhounds (Bloodhound, Bk 3)
A Brace of Bloodhounds (Bloodhound, Bk 3)
Author: Virginia Lanier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 1/4/2012


I see that most people gave this book a great rating. It bored me and I never finished - I got most of the way through and thought - what's the point. Just wanted to give another opinion. My husband liked it just fine.


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 791
Review Date: 9/17/2007


I read this book some time ago. Not just for people who live in Iowa! It was made into a movie which I enjoyed also. Order it, you'll be glad you did.


By Oak, Ash & Thorn: Modern Celtic Shamanism (Llewellyn's Celtic Wisdom)
Review Date: 12/30/2007


This is a great book for the beginner in celtic shamanism. Very concise and informative.


Cave in the Snow : Tenzin Palmo's Quest for Enlightenment
Cave in the Snow : Tenzin Palmo's Quest for Enlightenment
Author: Vicki Mackenzie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/29/2010


I just loved reading this book. A woman from England goes to India in her 20s and spends many years there in search for enlightenment. She lives in a small cave in the mountains and meditates practically all the time. She makes it through many years of cold and snow. She is an excellent writer and this book kept my interest throughout!


Celebrate Your Self : Enhancing Your Self-Esteem
Celebrate Your Self : Enhancing Your Self-Esteem
Author: Dorothy Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/28/2007


From the Back of the book:
Inspiration/ Self-development

Your most important characteristic is how you feel about you. Why? Because your self-esteem affects how you act, how you relate to others, and what you achieve. Uniquely CELEBRATE YOUR SELF blends the significant contributions from all the major schools of psychological thought to offer a practical and invaluable guide to building a positive self-image. Enjoying life is a gift only you can give yourself. CELEBRATE YOUR SELF tells you how.

What readers say:
"At last, a simple blueprint for putting damaged self-esteem back together. First the theory, then the do-it-yourself kit! Everything I was hoping it would be."
~ Patte Wheat
Editor, Parents Anonymous Frontiers

"A beautiful experience to read. It focused on the importance of one's own feeling of value and the freedom we really have to feel good aobut ourselves. It integrated for me many different psychological and spiritual approaches, expressed with delightful clarity."
~ Joan P. La Montagne, M.A.
Parent Educator, Marriage, Family,
and Child Counselor

"Enthusiastically recommended ... clear, highly readable, provides concrete tools for growing ... and more effective living."
~ The Reverend Ralph Underwood
Family Life Consultant

"The best INTERIOR decorating course I've ever seen between covers of a book. Brimming with ideas as to how to add zest to living. Applaud its forthright step-by-step experiential approach. Every page is a learning experience."
~ Dr. Betts Rivet
School Psychologist

"Like being on a treasure hunt; the more I read, the more gems I found."
~ Nancy Patton
Wife and mother


Chains of Ice (Chosen Ones, Bk 3)
Chains of Ice (Chosen Ones, Bk 3)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/17/2008


I don't often say something even though I might love a book but here I am doing so now. This book is very interestingly written. AND it is written about the town I am living in: Taos, New Mexico! Cool ! It kept my attention and I finished it and am listing it here in hopes that someone else will enjoy it as much as I did.


1 to 20 of 88 - Page: