Juan M. - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Altar of Bones
Altar of Bones
Author: Philip Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/14/2012
Helpful Score: 2


On the back cover, it states that Philip Carter is a "pseudonym for an internationally renowned author". Apparently not one with much experience as an author. This book was not bad, but it could have been better. It is obvious that Mr Carter wrote this with a movie in mind because he spends a good portion of the book describing chases and violent fights that would take up no time in a movie, but while reading it can get old. The book has an interesting twist on an old conspiracy theory (can't go into detail or I would ruin the book for other readers) and the style is reminiscent of Dan Brown's books without so much information. Too bad the editor did not suggest some of the chases be trimmed down (or downright eliminated) to make this a tighter book.


The Balance Wheel
The Balance Wheel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/10/2012


I highly recommend this quickly paced novel. I was "turned on to" Taylor Caldwell not too long ago, and find it so hard to believe that so many of her books are out of print. This one is a good example. It mainly deals with the arms and ammunitions industry (something she wrote about quite often) and how the big wheels behind the industry are the ones truly responsible for manipulating countries into war. In this case she deals with WW I - but it could refer to any war, any time.


The Balance Wheel
The Balance Wheel
Author: Taylor Caldwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/24/2012


Why is this book (or most of Taylor Caldwell's for that matter) our of print these days? This book is such an eye opener. Not only is it well written and engrossing, but it is fascinating describing the true reasons behind wars. Book was published in 1951 and in it she gives the real reasons and the people behind the First and Second World Wars. Not the reasons that are given to us in history books (to paraphrase her introduction) but those reasons that intelligent and diligent people could find if they only looked hard enough. Sadly, I reiterate, the only place you can find most of here books these days are in outfits like these that specialize in second hand books, If you are fortunate to find a copy of this - by all means get it! You will not regret it!


Death of a Red Heroine (Inspector Chen, Bk 1)
Death of a Red Heroine (Inspector Chen, Bk 1)
Author: Qiu Xiaolong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/20/2011


Excellent book, much better than I expected. Prose is clear and concise. Not only does the author hooks you with the murder investigation, but he also gives you a clear glimpse of what life was like in Shanghai during the early 90's. This is a book that will please not only murder/mystery fans but readers of good fiction in general.


The Force of Reason
The Force of Reason
Author: Oriana Fallaci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/28/2015


This is a must read book. Fallaci warned us of things to come with The Rage and the Pride a book she wrote after the attacks of September 11. She was a true visionary as to what eventually happened in most of Europe with the unchecked immigration of Muslims. This book is a sequel to that one, and goes further in view of threats that she received after the publication of The Rage and The Pride. In view of much of what is going on in our world today, this is definitely quite eye opening. Truly recommend.


Let the Trumpet Sound: The Life of Martin Luther King, Jr
Let the Trumpet Sound: The Life of Martin Luther King, Jr
Author: Stephen B. Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/26/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I recently saw the movie Selma and it made me curious to find out more about the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King. I researched and most reviewers agreed this to be the best biography written. I don't know about the others, but I can tell you this one is excellent!! It is written in an engaging narrative style that never bores. It gives us a glimpse of King the public figure and of King the private man. There are also excerpts of his speeches which lets you appreciate first=hand the greatness of this man who fought not to end racism, but most importantly to end social injustice for all.


Opera 101 : A Complete Guide to Learning and Loving Opera
Review Date: 6/18/2015


A very good guide to listening to opera whether you are a beginner or already a fan. The book gives a concise history of opera and goes into details about the different voices etc. My only gripe is the choice of operas or recordings that he uses to teach how to approach and listen to opera. But that is only a personal opinion.


Search for a Soul: Taylor Caldwell's Psychic Lives
Search for a Soul: Taylor Caldwell's Psychic Lives
Author: Jess Stearn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/5/2012


I have recently been "turned onto" Taylor Caldwell. As I read her books (ie. Captains and The Kings) I always had the sense there was something prophetic about her writing. Being a believer in reincarnation I found this book fascinating. Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, this still makes for a great reading. offering a plausible explanation for Ms Caldwell's uncanny details in her historical novels. I only wish her books were not so hard to find these days.


Washington, D. C.
Washington, D. C.
Author: Gore Vidal
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/11/2012


Interesting book about the time when politics stopped being for the people and became for the money and glory. Shows how money and the media can create a figure, regardless of what the truth is, to get a candidate elected. This books belongs to a series of historical novels that Gore Vidal wrote called the Empire Series. Although it was the first he wrote in the series it is not the first chronologically. I do recommend that this one be read first though because it gives you a basis of where the story is headed when you read the rest of the series


Your Sins and Mine
Your Sins and Mine
Author: Taylor Caldwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2012


Pleasant surprise!! The cover of the book gave me the impression this was to be about some tawdry love affair gone wrong, and it couldn't be further from the truth. This is an apocalyptic end of the world story that should be up there with 1984 and Brave New World. Why Ms Caldwell's book have gone out of print (specially those such as this one) is beyond me. Considering the year this was written and in light of what's going on in our world right now, this is nothing short of prophetic.


1 to 10 of 10