Channan M. (shiner716) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
9 Highland Road : Sane Living for the Mentally Ill
9 Highland Road : Sane Living for the Mentally Ill
Author: Michael Winerip
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/8/2011


I was a bit disappointed. This reads like a documentary and spend loads of time talking about real estate and zoning laws, etc. Interesting subject, but this book needs to be read in small chunks over time to prevent falling asleep.


The Andromeda Strain
The Andromeda Strain
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I've never been one for the Sci-Fi or science type stuff but I had to read this for a class in college and WOW!.. I had to keep checking and double checking because it was so good I thought it was a true story. All the extra documentation and "printouts" were an added bonus that helped with the believabilty. If you read only one Sci-Fi book, make it this one. (It's *much* better than the movie which I had to watch for the same class.)


Autumn
Autumn
Author: David Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/4/2014


A zombie book... that never actually uses the word zombie. People everywhere have suddenly dropped dead. Few survivors know nothing of what is happening around them but they know they need to survive. But how? And where? And do plans change when suddenly, the dead bodies begin to walk? I didn't realize this was part of a series so I was shocked at the cliffhanger ending. I tore through this book in 2 days and I'm itching for more.
My copy of the book did contain several spelling and grammar mistakes which somehow snuck past editors, but as frustrating as it is, it didn't take away from the story.


The Betrayal
The Betrayal
Author: Sabin Willett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/23/2005


"Just like reading John Grishman or Scott Turow"
"You won't want to go to sleep before you finish"
"Riveting page turner"


Bible Stories for Bedtime
Bible Stories for Bedtime
Author: Daniel Partner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Make the most of bedtime!

Children love bible stories, especially when they are written in age appropriate, easy-to-understand language.

Bible stories for bedtime, written specifically for ages 3 to 8 years, has more than 300 pages worth of the best loved bible stories your children will delight in. All the excitement, adventure, history and spiritual truths of the bible are skillfully presented. At the end of each story, you'll even find questions to help stimulate discussion and to help precious young minds understand God's Word.
[from back cover]

Illustrated by: Kathy Arbuckle


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 11/15/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A lovely quick read. Not at all what I expected when I picked up the book -- EVEN BETTER!


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4408
Review Date: 8/25/2014


I have extreme mixed feelings on this book. First, it was good, but I would not rave like some others. It's a quick read, I finished in a day. The mixed feelings are caused because I know and love persons affected with autism. This story... well, not so much the story, but the "voice" hits so close to home. Being in Christophers head and seeing things the way he saw them and hearing the way his mind works - well, it caused my own anxiety. So much so, that I took a break early on because it was distressing. Again, not the story, but the insight... Very real. I recommend the book as a whole, I'm sorry I took so long to pick it up.


Darkness
Darkness
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 7/8/2011


This is the only BOOK to ever give me nightmares. I first read it in high school when it was a new release and I still remember how chilling it was. Horror readers will delight and if you're new to this author - pick up a bunch more, the older the better!


Dead Air: A Novel
Dead Air: A Novel
Author: Bob Larson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 12/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A talk radio host in a small town gets a phone call from a little girl asking for help but she can't tell him where to find her and who is hurting her. He must piece together clues and rescue the girl and her mother from the hands of a cult that worships animals and practices ritual sacrifices and unspeakable amounts of child abuse.

Some descriptions of sexual abuse and rituals are graphic and disturbing. Care should be taken by readers who are troubled by such things.

Overall, I liked the book in spite of it's heavy nature. The story is supposed to be based on true events and it reads like all those satanic cult stories of the 80s. Whether you read it as 100% fiction or not doesn't matter, it was full of action and worth the time it took to read. Glad I picked it up.


The Dead and the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
The Dead and the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The ending was abrupt and left a lot of unanswered questions but I really liked the book and tore through it in about 24 hours. The whole story is an emotional roller coaster and makes one wonder what would happen should events like this really occur. I'm not sure I would be as strong as Alex. I'm hoping there is a sequel that I don't know about yet as I'm looking forward to knowing what happens next.


Dear Diary
Dear Diary
Author: Lesley Arfin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/20/2011


Of course it sounds "whiny", all pre-teen/teen girls are whiny. This book is actual diary excerpts of a girl who grew up in the mid to late 90's (and those of us who are close in age know those years were filled with the standard mix of sex, drugs and rock n roll and let's not forget angst!). mixed in with the diary entries, the author contacts prominent people from her past and asks their take on the past.

I enjoyed this quick read as a walk down memory lane. It also serves as a cautionary tale to those girls who are currently dabbling in drugs.


The End Of Alice
The End Of Alice
Author: A. M. Homes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 4/22/2008
Helpful Score: 10


Like driving past a car wreck, you can't help but slow down and stare. This book is disturbing and often gross and yet, you won't put it down until it's through. And as the years pass, you'll thik of it often and worry about your own sanity for thinking about it.. remembering it.. and wanting to read it again.
I first read this years ago and it has never strayed far from the front of my mind. I recently picked it up again and experienced the same horror, shock and sick fascination with it's contents. I read it straight through in a night.
I'm telling you, it's well worth the read. I don't know if calling this a really good book says something about my personality, but I'm putting it out there anyway.


Family History
Family History
Author: Dani Shapiro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


It was a quick read - finished in less than a day. But then, I read fast and have no life...
Anyway, it was intense. I felt there were still loads of unanswered questions though. I wonder if there is a sequel? There ought to be. The ending was far too abrupt.


Finding Alice
Finding Alice
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent read! Alice is slowly slipping into schizophrenia and her life has some strong parallels to Alice in Wonderland which fuels her delusions. I both laughed and cried while reading this. Some of the writing was so vivid and real I found myself thinking I was right there struggling alongside Alice. A *must* read!


Freedomland
Freedomland
Author: Richard Price
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/16/2006


It's been awhile since I read this but from what I recall, it was a good story though slightly long winded in some areas. Given headlines in recent years when I read this I almost thought it was a true story.


A Good and Happy Child
A Good and Happy Child
Author: Justin Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/14/2008
Helpful Score: 2


from armchairinterviews.com

Justin Evans' debut novel, A Good and Happy Child, is an intelligent and highly sophisticated psychological thriller.

George Davies has a problem--he cannot bring himself to touch or interact with his newborn son. To salvage his relationship with his confused and frightened wife, George goes to therapy. During these therapy sessions, George confesses to his doctor he has been in therapy before; however, when asked why he had been in treatment, George seems unable--or unwilling--to answer. Giving George a notebook, the doctor suggests he write as much as he can remember about his past problems.

What emerges in George's notebooks is a nightmarish cocktail of childhood fear, loneliness, and evil. In them, George writes that his father died when he was eleven, and that three months later, George became possessed with a demon, the same demon that had caused his father's death.

As the adult George remembers and writes about the terror and uncertainty his eleven-year-old self faced, his grip on the present begins to slip, threatening to push him back into a past he has, until now, successfully smothered.

The novel's narrative switches between the older George, who speaks directly to his therapist in the book, and George's notebooks, in which he records the events and experiences of the younger George struggling to come to terms with his belief that he has been possessed by evil.

A Good and Happy Child is a gem of a novel: its writing is quiet and assured, maintaining throughout a deceptive calmness that paradoxically magnifies the horrific memories George calmly records in his notebooks. Without relying on the physical or sexual violence that many thrillers use to ratchet up suspense, A Good and Happy Child manages to terrify using only the terrain of the mind--sometimes the most frightening place of all.

Armchair Interviews says: This is an intelligent psychological thriller that crescendos to a startling conclusion, and will leave you sleeping with the lights on.


Hell's Belle
Hell's Belle
Author: Jane Holleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/6/2006


Dallas homicide detective Rachel Collazo is one tough cop-- as foul mouthed as she is beautiful, and almost fanatical about her work. When a woman comes to the station with suspicions about her sister's death, Collazo jumps on the case. Then another mystery surfaces- then apparently unrelated suicides of two medical professionals, both married men, whose last acts in this life were unprecedented and remarkably grisly - and Collazo begins the search for a common denominator. And a common perp.
Kelly McLaughlin is a nurse with beauty, brains - and dark and dangerous inner demons. Her dreams of love have been dashed time and again, but she's learned to eliminate both those who get in her way and those who disappoint. Detective Collazo soon falls into the first category, and McLaughlin turns her lethal talents to ending the investigation by any means. Because in their deadly game of cat and mouse, winning isn't everything - it's life.
[from back cover] [isbn: 1416510878]


Hollow City (Miss Peregrine, Bk 2)
Hollow City (Miss Peregrine, Bk 2)
Author: Ransom Riggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 5/30/2014


*this is book 2 in the series*

We join 10 peculiar children as they flee an army of deadly monsters. There is only person who can help them -- but she is trapped in the body of a bird. The kids travel to London (1940) to find a cure for Miss Peregrine, but there are surprises around every corner.

A thrilling fantasy tale, with the added wonder of vintage photos.


Hunger Point
Hunger Point
Author: Jillian Medoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 10/5/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Good book; hard to put down. I may be neither thin nor beautiful but it was easy to see myself in Frannie's shoes. Even though our stories are totally different, we had a lot in common. My only complaint is standard happily ever after ending. Life is funny like that -- things may get better but they never get perfect.


Impulse
Impulse
Author: Ellen Hopkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/29/2011


An overall good tale of suicidal teens in a psych facility. A quick read completed in just a couple hours, thanks to the "poetic" style it is written in. Some questions are left unanswered but they are minor. A sequel would pique my interest. My biggest complaint is the "teenagers fall in love and are cured of their deep seated mental illnesses" arc that many books like this tend to put out there. It just isn't believable.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: