Kathy J. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 69 - Page:
Aftershocks
Aftershocks
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 6/13/2006


This copy is old and not in really great shape, but all the pages are intact. It has some tears in the cover and is yellowed. The story is typical Catherine Coulter romance/suspense.


The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/29/2006


Very funny!


Blue Willow
Blue Willow
Author: Deborah Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/29/2006


Definitely a romance, but not as funny as Charming Grace. Still worth the read, and pretty good characterization and plot. I was simply looking for something less serious and steamy.


Brideshead Revisited
Brideshead Revisited
Author: Evelyn Waugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 9/5/2006


interesting study of faith and the flapper era.


By the Pricking of My Thumbs (Tommy and Tuppence, Bk 4)
By the Pricking of My Thumbs (Tommy and Tuppence, Bk 4)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/11/2006


Fourth in the Tommy and Tuppence series. A wonderful book, with great characterization of a loving middle-aged couple. Also a very good mystery. I didn't guess who did it, even at the end.


Catholics
Catholics
Author: Brian Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/28/2010


Written in 1972, an interesting book about faith vs. the dark night of the soul. Was the abbot's final choice to sacrifice his own comfort to comfort his brothers enough?


The Christian's Secret of a Happy Life (Christian Library)
Review Date: 7/6/2006


This is a wonderful book. I have two copies, or I would keep it.


Cold Fire
Cold Fire
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 6/13/2006


Good condition. It's not my favorite Koontz book, but makes a good read. I didn't figure out the source of the "problem" until almost the end of the book, and even then I was surprised by the end.


The Company of Cats
The Company of Cats
Author: Marian Babson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/13/2006


Haven't read this book, yet.


The Corset Diaries
The Corset Diaries
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 487
Review Date: 8/10/2010


very funny. Reality show with the characters trying to live as people did in the Victorian era. Very well written as far as believable, etc. Liked the main character a lot!


Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man
Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 344
Review Date: 8/10/2010


I found this book to be laugh out loud funny! It was kind of like Fried Green Tomatoes, only all of it was from a kid's point of view.


Darby and Joan
Darby and Joan
Author: Maurice Baring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/13/2006


Maurice Baring is one of the great authors of the early 20th century that no one hears about anymore. This book reminds me a little of Trollope. It is story of love, sacrifice, and dedication. Very well written


Demon Seed
Demon Seed
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 10/24/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Pretty good book. Koontz does a great exploration of the way abusers justify and rationalize their abuse, and blame it on the victims. He also does an eerie send up of the sociopath's manipulation of our sympathies and gullibilities. All done with computers! I'm glad that I read it. It's not his very BEST writing, but it certainly is thought provoking and worth the read.


The Devil's Teardrop
The Devil's Teardrop
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 6/15/2006


Great book!


Do Black Patent Leather Shoes Really Reflect Up?
Do Black Patent Leather Shoes Really Reflect Up?
Author: John R. Powers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/31/2006


some of it was laugh out loud funny, some of it was crude, some of it was boring. So something for everyone!


Enchantment
Enchantment
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 6


Excellent example of modern fantasy in the type of De Lindt, Bull, and other authors of that type. A Ukrainian scholar wakes Sleeping Beauty. Being a Russian tale, love doesn't necessarily all run smoothly, but the characters are exploring the same relationship questions that Card explored in Children of the Mind, ie. how do strong men and women form relationship with one another? Beautiful characterization and interesting story lines.


The End of the Pier
The End of the Pier
Author: Martha Grimes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 6/13/2006


Good condition. I haven't read the book, yet. That is why I am putting it up for adoption.


Equal Rites (Discworld, Bk 3)
Equal Rites (Discworld, Bk 3)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 5/4/2013


The beginning of the discworld witches books. Very funny, very satirical. Made me laugh out loud several times.


Falcon
Falcon
Author: Emma Bull
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/21/2006


Good techno/psy-fi


Fanuilh
Fanuilh
Author: Daniel Hood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/13/2006


Science fiction, haven't read it. I just can't get myself started on it, so I decided to list it. The blurb says "The wizard Tarquin valued the miniature dragon Fanuilh as his familiar-and the human Liam as his friend. And when Tarquin was murdered in bed one rainy night, both were left to grieve-and to seek justice.

If Liam succeeds in his task, Fanuilh will accept him as master, and teach him all he knows of the wizard's magical arts.

But if Liam fails, no magic can save him...


1 to 20 of 69 - Page: