Reviews - Kelly P. (KellyP) - Marlow, OK

1 to 20 of 143 - Page:
All the Pretty Horses (Border, Bk 1)
All the Pretty Horses (Border, Bk 1)
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 363
Review Date: 7/5/2006
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a National Book Award winner (for fiction). It is a beautifully written book. We all enjoyed it very much - we being myself, my father & my husband. Highest recommendation to those readers who enjoy well-written, well-developed stories."


Beachcomber
Beachcomber
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 11/29/2005
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Fun, fun, fun!! Not weighty literature, but a good plot, great characters, a nice mystery. As the back of the book says, "Hot summer passion. Cold-blooded fear.""


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 3/28/2007
8 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Ha! Delightful!! This is a really fun novel - fun in all senses of the word. Character and plot development is strong; dialog is witty - and there is a happy ending. A super-fun book enjoyed by me, my mother & my daughter - making it a true "multi-generational" book."


Blindside (FBI, Bk 8)
Blindside (FBI, Bk 8)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 509
Review Date: 6/18/2005


"From the FBI Thriller series. Comes after Eleventh Hour."


Blood Orchid (Holly Barker, Bk 3)
Blood Orchid (Holly Barker, Bk 3)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 11/6/2006


"This is the 3rd in the Holly Barker series ... pretty good, kept me entertained. Plot was fairly well-developed with only a minimum of what I call "author contrivances." Best part of this book is that Holly has a new love interest! If you're reading the Holly Barker series, then it's worth your time to read this one as well."


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1520
Review Date: 3/23/2006


"All the fun, mystery & romance we've come to expect from Nora Roberts! High recommendations - perfect rainy day reading!"


The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 8/29/2005


"An edge-of-your-seat thriller! This is the first Lincoln Rhyme novel & is a great suspense novel!"


Booked to Die (Cliff Janeway, Bk 1)
Booked to Die (Cliff Janeway, Bk 1)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 10/18/2006


"This is the 1st of the Cliff Janeway books. My entire little reading circle (Mom, Husband, Friend & Me)all thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a cut above your normal, formulaic cop-murder-mystery books. Well-written with a tightly woven plot and witty dialogue. Well worth your time (and well-worth the credit!)"


The Bookman's Promise (Cliff Janeway, Bk 3)
The Bookman's Promise (Cliff Janeway, Bk 3)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 3/28/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The 3rd Cliff Janeway book. I think these books just keep on getting better. If you are new to this series, start with the 1st one, Booked To Die! If tightly woven, well-developed crime novels are one of your genres, give this series a try!"


The Bookman's Wake (Cliff Janeway, Bk 2)
The Bookman's Wake (Cliff Janeway, Bk 2)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 3/14/2007


"The 2nd Cliff Janeway book ... if you haven't heard about this series or read any of them yet ... do a little research & see if this something you would enjoy.

We find them very interesting & compelling ... good plot & Cliff Janeway if a great main character. Good, very well-written novels!"


Bowie's Mine
Bowie's Mine
Author: Elmer Kelton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/8/2006


"I don't know of one Elmer Kelton book that I didn't really enjoy. I have a few "favorites," but there isn't any that I didn't like.

This is one of his "boy-coming-of-age" stories. In this one Texas farm boy Daniel Provost heads off to Mexico with Milo Seldon & his packmules."


Captain's Rangers (Tales of Texas, Bk 1)
Captain's Rangers (Tales of Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Elmer Kelton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/13/2006


"Elmer Kelton's retelling of the border battle in 1875 between the United States and Mexico. Main historical character is Captain McNelly."


A Catskill Eagle (Spenser, Bk 12)
A Catskill Eagle (Spenser, Bk 12)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 12/19/2006


"This is the 12th Spenser. Hawk plays a major role in this book, which is always fun! This book is also longer than his previous books ... 368 pages of nail-biting action, wise-cracking remarks & cynical humor ... Spenser at his best!"


The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 5/30/2006


"This is the 3rd Goldy Bear (Goldilocks) Culinary Mystery. These books just keep on getting better!"


Ceremony  (Spenser, Bk 9)
Ceremony (Spenser, Bk 9)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 10/26/2006


"The 9th Spenser ... very good! Hawk & Susan are both substantial supporting characters in this book. A good, quick read!"


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 484
Review Date: 5/30/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My favorite books are ones that make me think, that have great characters, great plots and good development. I like it best when I can actually *join* the characters in the story.

Cider House Rules is like this. It is a wonderful book & I post it with a little hesitation ... I think it should probably be on my "Keep-and-Reread" shelf!"


Coast Road
Coast Road
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 3/2/2006


"And, yet another great book from Barbara Delinsky. My advice to people considering reading this book - do not be put off knowing that one of the main characters is in the hospital following a car accident. We get the background story through "flashback" and come to know and love the characters in all their faults, hopes, dreams and disappointments. This is a *great* book!"


The Coffin Dancer (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 2)
The Coffin Dancer (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 2)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 11/29/2005


"This is the 2nd of the Lincoln Rhyme novels by Jeffery Deaver. It is typical Deaver ... fast-paced, sit on the edge of your seat, tricky plot, etc."


Comanche Moon
Comanche Moon
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/28/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the 2nd book in the Lonsesome Dove series. This one finds Gus & Call in their middle years. A wonderful book - not as good as Lonesome Dove (that one would be hard to top), but much better than some of McMurtry's other books, in my opinion."


The Convenient Marriage
The Convenient Marriage
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/4/2010


"*Loved* this one!! This is absoultely one of my top three Heyer novels. Lord Rule is absolutely the very best & Heyer is at her all time best with witty & clever dialog. Setting is 1770's; in fact, in the "larger picture," England is trying to tame those rowdy rebels in the American colonies.

In this one, Lord Rule has offered to marry the oldest daughter of a genteel and well-placed, albeit impoverished, family. However, this oldest daughter is madly in love with a young gentleman trying to earn his place in the King's Army. Enter Horatia, the youngest sister, who very bravely offers to marry Lord Rule in place of her sister, strictly as a marriage of convenience, thus, giving Lord Rule the stability his family thingks he needs, the financial support his wife's famiy needs and the freedom for the oldest sister to marry her true love."


1 to 20 of 143 - Page: