Cherise E. (CherryDuck) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 151 - Page:
Adventures of Rusty & Ginger Fox
Adventures of Rusty & Ginger Fox
Author: Tim Ostermeyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/5/2010


Rusty and Ginger are two red foxes that are out exploring their world for the first time. On their adventures they discover many new animals.

The author has captured the mischievous Rusty and Ginger in adorable photographs guaranteed to make kids ooo and ahh. The photographs were quite beautiful and I enjoyed all the photographs of the animals they encounter along the way, as well.

When Rusty and Ginger come across each new animal, the author has a list of facts regarding that animal, along with a set of that animals paw prints on the side of the page. I thought this was a great feature. Its a nice little tool to subtly teach while entertaining your child with a good read.

The part that didnt quite do it for me was the addition of humans and a treasure chest at the end. The book was flowing along in nature and then WHAM here is a treasure box and two little girls. It broke up the story a bit for me and seemed like unnecessary filler. Though, I also should state that my son liked the addition of the treasure chest.

I am a lover of all things animal and nature photographs, so this combination was really a win win for me. The story is short and sweet and its a terrific little tale and a nice story for the whole family to enjoy.

Cherise Everhard, December 2010


An Affair of Vengeance
An Affair of Vengeance
Author: Jamie Michele
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


3.5 Stars
Angelina Quill is an American working undercover for the CIA in France. Oliver McCrea is a Scottish SOCA (Serious Organized Crime Agency/Basically British FBI) agent working undercover in France. The two meet and though neither knows the others agenda they have a certain chemistry. When it turns out they are both out for a little vengeance, different reasons, same enemy, they begin working together.

An Affair of Vengeance is fast paced and action packed, its even a serious page turner. Unfortunately it read more like a novella than an actual novel. While I enjoyed the storyline, even the characters, the shortness of the story ended up being a detriment as it didnt allow for their relationship to develop fully or realistically before they were professing their love and planning for their future. Had the author held off on hurrying us to the Happily Ever After she would have had a perfect start to what could be an engaging romantic suspense series starring an interesting investigative couple.

As it is I dont see this leading into a series, and thats a shame. The hero and heroine have definite appeal and the writer knows how to keep a captive audience. I am a sucker for all things romantic and it is not often that I lower a books rating based solely on the romantic portion of the story had this one not been rushed it would have been fantastic. All in all this was a great story lacking in a little detail and a heftier page number.

Cherise Everhard, November 2012


After the Kiss  (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 1)
After the Kiss (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 5/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a forbidden love story; Isabel is from a titled family and Sullivan is the bastard child of a marquis. His father doesnt acknowledge him, so to the ton hes just a horse breeder. Horse breeders and Ladys do not mix romantic company, but Sullivan and Isabel have a hard time staying away from each other.

I am a fan of Ms. Enochs Samantha Jellicoe series and have not read any of her historical romances, this was my first. I thought this was a great read. I found it while vacationing in the north woods and it kept me occupied and entertained while I maintained a lazy slug like status. Isabel and Sullivan were fantastic main characters and the book is filled with equally wonderful side characters and I am anxious to hear more about them. I laughed, I cried and I am dying to read the next book.

Cherise Everhard, July 2008


Against the Fire (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 2)
Against the Fire (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 2)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 4/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was, thankfully, a whole lot better than the first. Both main characters were well defined and likable; their chemistry, palpable. The story line was gripping and well, almost plausible.

The book really flowed for me, it's a page turner. I liked the secondary characters and enjoyed seeing their lives play out in that happily ever after warm fuzzy way that only romances can deliver. The author wrote a book that is easy to read and hard to put down.

So why only 3 stars? Like the first book there are a few things I just couldn't get on board with. Once again the main characters take the law into their own hands. Though, in this one they still work with the police, there is still a whole lot of investigating and amateur sleuth playing that just gets on my nerves. Especially when a side character gets hurt playing PI and the main characters charge on like no big deal.

My other rather large gripe had to do with Mattie and her man issues. I didn't buy it. I couldn't. Her father dies unexpectedly at an early age of natural causes. Mattie is a young girl and because he didn't leave them financially high on the hog - she can't trust men. *rolls eyes* If her father left them purposefully and penniless, then yeah I can see why she'd have some man hate. But from what I gather from the story he was a good father, her mother and him had a good marriage, all that he did wrong was die too early and with no life insurance. This is where I have to say Sh!t happens, grow up, get over it... Move on already! She also had man issues because of an ex-boyfriend. That resentment rang true and if the author would have left out the father BS, it would have made Mattie's character more believable.

Gripes aside, this was definitely a good read. The storyline was exciting and kept you on your toes. Do I think I will read Dev's story, the 3rd book in this trilogy? I am on the fence. I think Kat Martin and I have different ways at looking at things that just may prevent me from ever trully loving one of these books.

Cherise Everhard, April 2010


Against the Wind (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 1)
Against the Wind (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 1)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 4/10/2011
Helpful Score: 5


It has been a while since I have disliked a book this much.

I really wanted to like this book. In fact I ordered the second book in the series with the anticipation of enjoying this first one. But the fact is I hated it. I could not get into it at all. I never got attached to the characters and the storyline never jived with me.

First of all, Sarah was beyond cruel to Jackson in High School. She ripped out his heart and stomped on it publicly and made sure he was completely humiliated in the process. She was evil. Jackson still harbors, and rightly so, a lot of resentment towards Sarah. Yet the author expects to me to believe that he puts that all behind him and forgives her fully after a very poor apology. I didnt buy it.

There really wasnt any chemistry between Jackson and Sarah, yet Jackson walked around with an erection 99.9% of the time. If I had a dollar for every time the author spoke of Jacksons erection I would be taking my family out to a very nice dinner tonight.

My storyline problems stemmed from the fact that I felt like everything was too far fetched. I cant really get into details without offering spoilers, but there was stealing evidence from a crime scene and a police helicopter that was deployed on command from a civilian within a 20 minute period of time. Oh, and lets not forget the FBI forcing Sarah to investigate a criminal matter. I realize this is a fiction book, but come on. There was also a side storyline involving loggers that really served zero purpose, except to maybe voice the authors opinion on commercial loggers? I dont know.

I am really bummed I have the second book, because I really dont want to read it. But being full of quirks which include finishing books I cant tolerate and reading books just because they have been purchased and are already on my shelf, I will. I am hoping that the author stepped things up for the second book, because this one was a dismal failure.

Cherise Everhard, April 2011


Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 8/24/2013


Leah is back in Lucky Harbor working in her Grandmothers bakery while her hometown watches her on Reality TV every week in a cooking show. She is under contractual obligation not to reveal the results of the show but has promised herself that she will be out of Lucky Harbor before the season finale comes on television.

Jack is following in his late fathers footsteps as a hometown hero, aka fireman. Hes been juggling his job while trying to make his mom his number one priority while she is undergoing treatment for cancer. Having his best friend, Leah, back in town has been great. Until she tells his mom that they are dating and he is forced to give up his real love life to make his mom happy.

Leah did what she thought she had to in order to make his mother smile again. And so far her plan is working, although things are feeling a hell of a lot more real than she is prepared for.

This is one of those books where you laugh out loud, sigh out loud, and cry out loud. Kevin the dog and the senior citizens of this town kept me giggling. While the sweetness and the sincerity between Leah and Jack had me sighing and sobbing. Their friendship alone was brilliant, adding the romance to it made it spectacular.

When I read the last sentence in this book, I wanted to immediately flip back to chapter one and start over. I fricken love this series and with each new book I find myself loving it more and more. I could happily live in the pages of Lucky Harbor, forever.

Cherise Everhard, August 2013
I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.


The Angel (Original Sinners, Bk 2)
The Angel (Original Sinners, Bk 2)
Author: Tiffany Reisz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/13/2013


In the second book of the Original Sinners series, Soren is under consideration for Bishop which has also caused an investigation into his personal life and his church. He sends Nora away for the summer to train young Michael on how to be a sub.

I feel like I know the characters and like them all more, but my Goddess does everyone have a horrifying background. I feel like I am reading about people knee deep in misery since birth. There are some disturbing insights that broke my heart and turned my stomach. No one in this series is complete; no one has exactly what they want. Do any of us? Its like they are all settling making due whilst needing something more.

The sex scenes in this book were definitely hotter than that of the ones in The Siren. The sex is vivid and titillating even the pain was exciting.

Once again this isnt a rainbows and flowers happily ever after kind of story. But the writing, again, is exquisite. I feel like I am a bit of a masochist myself these books make me feel horrible, yet I ache and crave for more.

Cherise Everhard, April 2013
Book provided by and reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


Angels Landing (Cavanaugh Island, Bk 2)
Angels Landing (Cavanaugh Island, Bk 2)
Author: Rochelle Alers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/14/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I received this book free through Goodreads first reads.

Kara Newell is a social worker in New York on the verge of burnout when she gets a summons from a lawyer to attend the reading of a will of a man she has never met before. Suddenly this paycheck to paycheck gal has inherited a large historical plantation and a humungous bank account from the biological dad she never knew about. Not everyone is pleased with the results of the will reading and her late fathers lawyer asks the local sheriff, Jeff Hamilton, to keep an eye out for her.

I have to say I found this story so boring. Her newly found family is so crazy and incensed by the will that her lawyer feels she is in danger and needs protection from the sheriff yet nothing happens to prove that point until page 233. Before that the only other thing to happen is a member of her family, Analeigh, shows up to make friends with her and Kara has a weird feeling about her, doesnt trust her. Kara tells Analeigh she doesnt have time for her right now and Analeigh asks when she can come back. Kara tells her the next day at the same time and Analeigh is thrilled to bits and hugs her. When the local deputy comes by and takes Analeigh home, Kara realizes that she is mentally or emotionally challenged and suddenly that validates her feelings of not trusting her. How sinister of this relative to want to be friends. Yep, dont want to trust those crazy, hugging, overly friendly, mentally challenged types. (This is all said in my most sarcastic tone of voice.) How paranoid and narrow minded can you get? And BTW we never hear from the evil Analeigh again! It was completely anticlimactic and had no bearing on the story at all. I am not even sure why it was put in.

There was another part of the story where Kara throws her money at a virtual stranger in order for this person to open her own business. Even the said stranger is like huh, why would you do that? You dont even know me. Karas response is that as strong black women it is hard to make it in this world. Seriously? Maybe its because I am not a strong black woman, but I found this part completely ridiculous. Black, white, or purple, the girl was still a stranger and 99.9% of the Worlds population would be leery about financially backing a business run by someone youve known for a few hours.

The dialogue was odd to me. Jeff, Kara and most of the side characters were younger than me but they spoke like senior citizens. It was really weird. Had the author not mentioned ages I would have thought I was reading a book about much older adults.

In the end another threat happens and is resolved so quickly, and so easily, I found myself laughing out loud. Then suddenly all is rainbows and roses for Kara and crew. I had high hopes for this book; unfortunately it didnt deliver for me.

Cherise Everhard, October 2012


Anything But Sweet (Sweet, Texas, Bk 1)
Anything But Sweet (Sweet, Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Candis Terry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/6/2013


Charli travels from town to town sprucing places up for her TV makeover show. When she rolls into Sweet, Texas, she immediately sees the potential and charm underneath the outdated buildings. Reno owns the local hardware store and avoids change like the plague. He cant seem to muster the same enthusiasm the rest of the folks are feeling for Charli and her show. Hed like her to get back into her yellow hummer and leave Sweet alone.

The more Reno resists, the more Charli pushes and their chemistry is undeniable and a little sadistic. They like making the other one uncomfortable and once they get to know each other a little better they discover their chemistry isnt just sexual there is more to Charli and Reno.

Reno has a lot of crap in his past and it is extraordinarily sad. While everyone around him picks up the pieces and moves on, hed rather stay buried under those pieces and holding onto them with his life. Charli has her own past heartaches but her approach to life is a complete 180 from Renos. Charli has her work cut out for her, but man was their verbal sparring fun to read. I loved all the ways they got under each others skin to get to each others hearts.

This book had me chuckling, had me wanting to beat some sense into Reno, and had me falling in love with the town and all the characters. I cannot wait to read Sweetest Mistake, if its anything like this one it is going to be reading time well spent! I will be recommending this to my romance lovin pals!

Cherise Everhard,August 2013
Book provided by and reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


Archon: The Books of Raziel
Archon: The Books of Raziel
Author: Sabrina Benulis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


First of all I have to be honest and start out by saying I didnt finish this book. This is the first book in many many years where I have not been able to force myself to push through. I just cant. I started this book 6 days ago and have only been able to make it through to Chapter 19/Page 168. For someone like me who is used to reading a 300-400 page book a day, this has been a painfully slow process. I decided not to torture myself anymore.

First of all at 168 pages I am still not sure what kind of world we are living in. I know we are at the Vatican and that there are a whole slew of angels, demons, jinns, blood heads and witches. Although the main character is a blood head I am still unclear as to what exactly that means. There are so many characters thrown at me I was always confused as to who was what. Mainly because there are male characters with female names, female characters with male names and ambiguous angels.

At 168 pages I found myself no more knowledgeable of this world than I was when I first read the back cover blurb. The dialogue is sometimes written in a fashion where you are unclear who is speaking. At one point one girl speaks up and I was like when did she enter the room?

I feel bad about not finishing the book, but in the end determined that life is too short to waste days on a novel that lost your attention and interest somewhere around chapter 2.

Cherise Everhard, May 2013
Book Provided by and reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


Beach House No. 9 (Beach House No 9, Bk 1)
Beach House No. 9 (Beach House No 9, Bk 1)
Author: Christie Ridgway
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/4/2013
Helpful Score: 2


3.5 Stars

Jane Pearson is a Book Doctor. She helps authors keep on task, and organizes their thoughts and notes. When she is assigned to Griffin Lowell she arrives at Beach House No.9 expecting a hermit but finds her new author surrounded by 20somethings and the host of party central. Griffin doesnt want to work, Jane needs the work. The fun begins.

First I have to say I am a Christie Ridgway fan. I love her books and her characters. I loved the characters in this book but found myself getting frustrated at their obstacles and struggles. With the side story of Tess and David, I loved them and their brood, but found that their relationship resolution would have been a hell of a lot quicker had Tess went into a wife like rage like any normal woman would have done. She was way too calm and composed.

The story is romantic and heartbreaking at times. Their chemistry is undeniable and sexy. The pace moved a little slower than I would have liked, but in the end it was worth it. This is the first of a three book series and I am excited to read the next two. This book does a great job of introducing you to the players and setting up the next books. I am especially excited for Skye and Gages story.

Cherise Everhard, February 2013
Book provided by and reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


Before the Scandal (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 2)
Before the Scandal (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 5/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Years ago Alyse Donnelly and Phinneas Bromley were the best of friends. Their childhood homes/estates were next to each others and they grew up playing together. About the time when Phin began to see Alyse in a more romantic light, he left. For the past ten years he has been fighting on the battlefield and making himself a hero and a colonel.

Alyse was once the bell of the ball. Coming from a titled family and having looks and charm she was sought after by many gentlemen. But a scandal and the death of her parents changed all that. She is now essentially a Cinderella type figure in her home, catering to a cranky aunt and her over indulged son.

Phin rushes home when he gets a letter from his little sister thinking his brother is ill. What he finds is a healthy brother, an estate in trouble and Alyse. Hes shocked and secretly thrilled that she is still unmarried; their friendship picks up where it left off.

I really teetered on the rating of this book. My first problem was the title of the book, it promises a scandal and I was expecting a scandal involving the two main characters. The actual scandal itself is a little lame. Another issue I had was the mystery with the accident prone estate, it dragged on a bit and I couldnt help but think all of it could have been solved with a little communication.

For the most part though, I really enjoyed it; the characters are charming and entertaining. The aunt is written so well that I absolutely hated her; I kept hoping Alyse would trip her or something. The villains are loath worthy and the heroes lovable. I hope she writes next about Phins sister Beth and his pal, Lord Bramwell, next. I wouldnt mind hearing about his brother, William, some more, either. This book is not as good as the first book in the series, After The Kiss, but still an enjoyable read.

3.5 stars

Cherise Everhard, August 2008


Big Sky River (Parable, Montana, Bk 3)
Big Sky River (Parable, Montana, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 12/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Tara Kendall left her big city life in New York to come to Parable, Montana and start over after her divorce. The hardest part of the divorce wasnt losing her selfish ex-husband, but his twin daughters that she practically raised. Now living as a chicken farmer in the country, her ex-husband sends the twins to stay with her for a bit.

Sherriff Boone Taylor was raised in Parable. He met and married his high school sweetheart, had two boys and then lost her to Cancer way too soon. He never really recovered after that loss and his boys have been living with his sister in Missoula ever since. But when his brother-in-law has an accident that is going to require surgery and extra care from his sister he finally brings his boys home where they belong.

First I have to say I absolutely LOVE Linda Lael Millers books. I wait in breathless anticipation for every new release. But this series, so far, has been mediocre at best. The first book, Big Sky Country, was OK, but it started out a little slow. The second book, Big Sky Mountain, I actually really liked and now this one, again, was just OK.

Here you have two people reunited with children who desperately need real parental love. One who is bound by blood but has been separated by choice the other is a step parent who was separated by forces unstoppable. I guess my main problem with this book was Boone. I never got over the fact that when his boys needed him most because their MOTHER died, he shipped them to a different city to live with an aunt because he couldnt cope with his WIFE dying. That is just the most incredibly selfish and mean thing I could think of a parent to do. Essentially those boys lost both their parents that day. He took way too long getting his crap together. Then the reasoning for the forced reunion was flimsy at best. They made a knee replacement into more than it needed to be. They acted like the injury was life threatening and altering.

Tara was an amazing heroine and I really admired her spirit and loyalty. The relationship between her and Boone moved a little too quickly from enemies, to friends to getting married without ever having a real date. The progression to friends seemed natural and easy enough with the kids as a buffer, but I would have preferred a little more alone time before talks of housing, marriage and babies were brought up.

The kids, the dogs and the side characters were as charming as ever and I am really looking forward to reading Caseys story, Big Sky Summer, I think she will prove to be an interesting heroine as she is already shrouded in secrets. I just hope the book lives up to its potential and like the second one proves more likable and more up to Linda Lael Millers usual talent.

Cherise Everhard, December 2012
Reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


The Birthday Scandal
The Birthday Scandal
Author: Leigh Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/11/2012


Usually I start off a book review with a little synopsis of the story. With this book I am not quite sure what to say that would be any different from the back cover blurb. There is just so much going on in this tale that to try and say anything more would be to say too much or not say enough if that makes any sense.

The characters pull you in and they all have a ton of baggage to unload and sort through. The three siblings that this story centers around are as complicated as they are enchanting. I found myself rooting for them every step of the way and enjoying the way they cleaned up their pasts to make room for the future.

What I can say about this book is that I absolutely loved it. I found myself smiling at the nuttiness that is their lives. There just isnt anything about these three that is simple, or boring. The sex scenes were delish and really added a lot of fun to the story. Its a thoroughly fantastic read. It was cleverly written, impossible to set down and just practically perfect in every way.

Cherise Everhard, September 2012


Blood Stains (Searchers, Bk 1)
Blood Stains (Searchers, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 4/13/2011


3.5 Stars

I had a really hard time when rating this book. While for the most part I liked the book, I had a few issues with it as well. My first gripe is with the dialogue. Some of the conversations and word choices were downright hokey. They tended to take away from the seriousness of the situation or what I feel the characters personas were. There were a lot of references to the Lord in the dialogue. I am not a religious person in the traditional sense, so maybe thats why it stood out so much to me. But it felt to me, even in the case of the preacher, to be forced and teetering on the side of overkill.

The other problem I had was at times the bravado and protectiveness of a few of the characters, again it smacked of overkill. It seemed almost an exaggerated parody.

With those little nitpicks aside, I truly did enjoy the story. Sharon Sala sets up an intriguing new series with this book. It is exciting, unique and Maria and Bodie have plenty of chemistry sizzling between them. The story flowed nicely and I never felt like it was lagging or lacking in anything. I will be reading the next books, I want to read about Marias sisters and see how there searches into the past unfold.

Blood Ties
Blood Trails

Cherise Everhard, April 2011


Boomerang Bride
Boomerang Bride
Author: Fiona Lowe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/24/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Matilda leaves her home in Australia and arrives in Wisconsin to surprise her fiancé wearing her Grandmothers ill fitted wedding gown and carrying the family wedding cake. The trouble is suddenly her fiancé seems to be MIA, and shes stranded with no money. Enter Marc. Hes home for a short family visit when he spots the bride and he swoops in to rescue her.

When I first read the cover blurb of this book, I was equally intrigued and leery. It had the potential to be either really great or terribly bad. Luckily for me, really great it was! The plot as it stands on the cover blurb seems a little ridiculous but the author spins it in a way that makes it plausible.

I loved Matilda and Marc from the start, but Matilda especially. She is one gutsy lady. Shes honest, pulls no punches and speaks the truth even when its not the most comfortable. I loved her Australian way of speaking and the different words she usesshes fantastic.

There are a few painful moments here and there and you will cry a few times, but in the end all the tears are well worth it. The secondary characters are just as important to this story as Marc and Matilda are and they were just as interesting for me to read about. It was just an all around excellent read.

Cherise Everhard, July 2013
Book provided by and reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


Bound in Moonlight (Hidden Grotto, Bk 2)
Bound in Moonlight (Hidden Grotto, Bk 2)
Author: Louisa Burton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Enter into the Chateau de la Grotte Cachee (the castle of the hidden grotto), a secluded castle in France. It is the administrateur's job to provide carnal nourishment for the immortals or Follets, which live there; a djinni (shape shifter), a Nordic elf, the Goddess of the new moon and a satyr. Sex from mortals is something they can't live without. But because of their delicate status, they also require a protection and privacy of sorts. This book contains three short stories detailing three different individuals' experiences at the Grotto at different times.

Tutelage - Emmeline goes to the Grotto in search of her fiancé only to find him in flagrante delicto with two women. Disillusioned, she promptly breaks her engagement, but the weather and her curiosity have her remaining at the castle for a few more days. She is taken under the sexual wing of the satyr, Inigo. Her story is told as she reminisces the time in letters to her current lover.

Slave Week - Caroline Keating has been disowned by her family and is now penniless and homeless. When she is rescued one night by Lord Rexton, he tells her of a scandalous event, giving her an option in what looks to be a hard life. In an act of desperation she agrees to auction herself off for a week of sexual slavery at the Grotto.

Magic Hour - the present day Grotto's administrateur brings his daughter to the house in order to prepare her for her role as adminstrateur when he passes on. It has been an Archer family job, passed down from one generation to the next, for nine generations. A role she is not ready, nor does she want to take.

Each erotic tale is as unique as the heroine it is written about. Each story saturates the reader in a heavy dose of the sensual and the sexual, and this erotica is detailed, explicit and titillating. Nothing is taboo in the Grotto, anything goes, and the stories are definitely not for the prudish. While I like to think of myself as an open minded and audacious kinda gal, there were a few scenes in Slave Week that were a little too much for me; they edged a little too closely on the Sadomasochistic side for my tastes. It did not, however, ruin my enjoyment of the story, or the book on a whole. I found I liked each individual story for its own merits and when the third one ended I was more than bummed that this sinfully sexy ride was over. I have gone ahead and ordered the first book and look forward to reading the third. Ms. Burton is a gifted story teller, for sure.

Cherise Everhard, June 2008


Caden's Vow (Hell's Eight, Bk 6)
Caden's Vow (Hell's Eight, Bk 6)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 11/29/2012
Helpful Score: 3


Maddie OHare was born in a brothel and forced to turn tricks at a very early age. She has only recently escaped that life and often reverts back to her former way of coping by mentally checking out when things get too tough.

Caden Miller is also no stranger to hard times and he has a tendre towards Maddie he isnt quite comfortable with. Lately his friends have been marrying and that is something he has no interest in. But when Maddie gets captured by a rival Caden finds himself on the wrong side of a shotgun and standing in front of a preacher alongside of Maddie. Hes convinced she has betrayed him, but cant help all the feelings that she inspires.

I havent read the previous books in this series so I was worried I would feel like I was missing something while reading this book. Happily that wasnt the case. The author has written this book so you get enough background information from the previous books but still feel like you are reading a standalone romance book.

I happened to read the reviews AFTER I ordered this book and found quite a few people upset by how Caden treats Maddie. I was afraid I was going to agree with those reviews and I felt it would probably ruin the story for me if I didnt like Caden. Luckily, I didnt agree with those reviewers. I found everything that he said and did concerning Maddie to be very human and realistic. Was he always nice? No, but when is anyone? He said things in the heat of the moment that were cruel, but nothing different from what Maddie hadnt already said about herself. And he feels guilty after he spews his nastiness and he apologizes. It really brought a lot of emotion to the story and made it all the more believable.

Their romance isnt always sweet and easy but I think I loved their characters because of their struggles and flaws. Their happily ever after was deserved. I really liked this historical romance and it makes me want to read the ones that came before it and the ones that will come after it.

Cherise Everhard, November 2012
Reviewed for the Amazon Vine Program


Call Me Irresistible (Wynette, Texas, Bk 6)
Call Me Irresistible (Wynette, Texas, Bk 6)
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 1/28/2011
Helpful Score: 6


When Meg comes to Texas for her best friend Lucy's wedding, she meets Lucy's perfect fiancé Ted. Lucy is perfect, Ted is perfect and their relationship seems perfect, but Meg picks up on something that feels wrong. She discusses all this with Lucy the night before the wedding and then on the day of the wedding, Lucy calls it off and runs off. Tthe doubts that Meg confronted her with have been plaguing her for a while. But in Wynette, Texas, Ted is the local hero/God and they all blame Meg for him being left at the altar and for his broken heart.

Circumstances beyond Meg's control leave her stranded and broke in Wynette. While she tries to make enough money to get out of town, the folks of Wynette and Ted himself take pleasure in tormenting the outsider. Their antics and attitudes both frustrated and humored me.

I loved this book. I laughed out loud and shed a few tears. Reading this book was like visiting with old friends you haven't seen in a while, yet feeling like no time has passed. I have been 1/2 in love with Teddy since he was a brilliant and awkward little boy in Fancy Pants and I fell completely in love with the man that little boy has grown into. Catching up with favorite characters from my favorite SEP books was fun and I loved every minute of it. Meg is crazy and quirky and the perfect match for the reliable Ted; Ying and Yang.

I can't wait to read Lucy's story as SEP promises it is in the works. I hope it is as charming as this one was.

Cherise Everhard, January 2011


Can't Buy Me Love (Crooked Creek Ranch, Bk 1)
Can't Buy Me Love (Crooked Creek Ranch, Bk 1)
Author: Molly O'Keefe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/3/2012
Helpful Score: 3


Tara Jean Sweet has a past she isnt proud of and has more than a few demons haunting her. Agreeing to be an aging and dying ranchers new fiancée is a scam shes not quite comfortable with, but shed do just about anything for her friend. Lyle rescued her when she needed it, and now shes trying to get his estranged children riled up enough to make the trek back home.

Luc hasnt seen his father in years and there is no love lost there. He couldnt care less if he marries some young bimbo. He is a successful professional hockey player and doesnt need money and isnt worried about the will. His sister, Victoria, on the other hand feels differently. So she, her son Jacob and Luc head home to Texas.

Nothing turns out the way anyone plans. And when Lyle dies sooner than expected the complicated layers of these people get peeled away. What is revealed isnt always pretty, but tentative relationships are formed anyway.

I was a bad girl and after judging the book by the cover I was expecting a lighter fluffier read. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but I ended up getting a whole lot more than I bargained for. I was really pleasantly surprised by this story. These characters have some ugly and dark pasts and some emotionally devastating presents. I was on an emotional roller coaster from page one.

Amidst the shadows that hover, there is plenty of light. Tara and Luc generate enough electricity to light up Texas, they make a fabulous couple. Tara makes me giggle and when she is being sassy you cant help but smile. All the characters make me want to know them more and as I read the last page I was thrilled to find out this is the first in the series. I will most definitely be buying the next book. I have to know what happens next!

Cherise Everhard, June 2012


1 to 20 of 151 - Page: