Katie M. (carrotrunr) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
The Baker's Apprentice (Bread Alone, Bk 2)
The Baker's Apprentice (Bread Alone, Bk 2)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/19/2010


This was a quick, fun read.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 3/7/2010


This was a fun, fast read. I enjoyed the tie-ins to baking, and I even learned a few bread making tips!


Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year
Educating Esme: Diary of a Teacher's First Year
Author: Esme Raji Codell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 12/4/2009


Engaging read--I read it in 2 sessions. It was interesting to read about all of the different emotions that teachers experience, and I enjoyed Esme's creativity in the classroom.


Honor Thyself (Large Print)
Honor Thyself (Large Print)
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/5/2010


This was a fast read. The beginning was a little slow, but the book became more enjoyable at the end. Danielle Steel has written better books, but overall, this was entertaining.


The Lightning Thief  (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 1)
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 9/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fun, quick read. I liked the concept of the story, but I thought the characters and execution of the plot was a bit weak. It is comparable to Harry Potter, but not as entertaining.


Next to Nothing: A Firsthand Account of One Teenager's Experience with an Eating Disorder (Adolescent Mental Health Initiative)
Review Date: 9/19/2010


This book was a little slow for me.


No Finish Line
No Finish Line
Author: Marla Runyan, Sally Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/5/2010


This was an enjoyable (and fast) read about Marla Runyan. I was quite interested in reading about how she has thrived in racing (and life) in spite of her blindness.


Passing for Thin: Losing Half My Weight and Finding My Self
Passing for Thin: Losing Half My Weight and Finding My Self
Author: Frances Kuffel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/5/2010


I enjoyed sections of this book, but on the whole, it was too long and repetitive.


Peculiar Treasures (Katie Weldon, Bk 1)
Peculiar Treasures (Katie Weldon, Bk 1)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/31/2010


This book was a fun, quick read. I loved the characters and stories that were developed in the Christy Miller series and the Sierra Jensen series, and this book continues those themes.


Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities
Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities
Author: Alexandra Robbins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 12/4/2009


I was interested in the topic, but the author seemed to go on and on...I felt like I was reading the same story again and again throughout the book.


Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life
Room to Grow: An Appetite for Life
Author: Tracey Gold, Julie McCarron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/5/2010


This was a very fast read. I enjoyed learning about Tracy's childhood and adolescence. There is some discussion of Tracey's eating disorder, but it is somewhat minimal, and I feel like she oversimplifies it.


1 to 11 of 11