Kibi W. (Kibi) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 583 - Page:
2061: Odyssey Three
2061: Odyssey Three
Author: Arthur C. Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 3/16/2006


Classic Arthur C. Clarke, July 14, 2001
Reviewer: Roger A. Mccoy (Stockton, CA USA)

It's true that 2061 doesn't add much to the series in terms of learning about the monoliths or Bowman -- in fact, it would probably be LESS confusing to skip this book and read 3001 instead (the "Trinity" and "3001" chapters don't mesh well with what comes later). But if you truly appreciate Arthur C. Clarke's writing, you'll probably enjoy this book. Just like with 2001, 2010, 3001, and Rendezvous with Rama, Clarke takes you on a voyage into a world of his creation, giving you the chance to explore it and marvel at it. Although the voyage to Halley's comet is completely unnecessary in plot terms, it is a classic example of Clarke acting as a tour guide on a fascinating voyage through his world. Also, this book is another milestone in Clarke's progress as a character author -- a change that can be seen as you move through Clarke's 2001 saga. Don't expect any answers to questions you may have about 2001/2010, but if you enjoy Clarke touring you through the universe, it is definitely a worthy read.


365 Ways To Cook Vegetarian
365 Ways To Cook Vegetarian
Author: Kitty Morse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/1/2007


Lovely international recipes.


Abarat
Abarat
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/31/2005


This is actually a paperback book!
A wonderful book full of humor, suspense, wonder, and discovery, it was great fun to read.


ABCs of the Human Mind
ABCs of the Human Mind
Author: Reader's Digest editors
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/18/2006


From School Library Journal
YA-- This beautifully illustrated and highly readable book succeeds in its stated purposes: to inform and entertain. The six major parts present the vast subject in a popular rather than scholarly manner. Occasionally a topic is oversimplified or mentioned superficially--a minor drawback. The book is in a question-and-answer format. The questions are listed again in the ten-page table of contents--fine for browsing, but for information, readers will rely on the excellent index. The text is supplemented by classic cases, ideas of major thinkers, and questions to ponder. Students and adults are sure to enjoy finding answers or browsing for pleasure in this appealing volume.
-Judy Sokoll, Fairfax County Public Library, VA


Adventuring In The San Francisco Bay Area
Adventuring In The San Francisco Bay Area
Author: Peggy Wayburn, Sierra Club
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2006


This is a great book for discovering San Francisco. I used it when I lived in the Bay Area, and it would be an excellent resource for a vacation to the Bay area.


Algebra  Trig: Subj
Algebra Trig: Subj
Author: Mustafa A. Munem
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/21/2006


Algebra and Trigonometry With Applications

This book was written to provide students with a straightforward, readable text that presents algebra and trigonometry in an appealing manner. We have tried to "talk" with our readers, without patronizing or lecturing them; and we have avoided sophisticated "mathematical elegance" in favor of an intuitive approach to algebra and trigonometry.

The material in this book can be understood by the student who has had the equivalent of two years of college-preparatory mathematics in high school, including algebra and some plane geometry, or who has taken a college-level course in introductory algebra. Determined students with less preparation may be able to master the contents of this book, particularly if they use the accompanying Study Guide as an aid.


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 535
Review Date: 3/9/2006


I loved this book, but read it ages ago. Since it has been so long since then, I am borrowing a review from Amazon.

one of the best of the kind, March 7, 2006
Reviewer: Aleksandra Nita-Lazar (Boston, MA USA)

Caleb Carr is a historian and it shows. His books are a separate category. Of course, there is a mystery to solve, but there is so much more..."The Alienist" (named after the old-fashioned word for "psychiatrist") is a novel set in New York City, when Theodore Roosevelt (my interest in him as a historical figure and admiration for him as a person date from reading this novel) is the Chief Police Commissioner. The story is told by the reporter John Moore, turned amateur detective, who relates the search for an elusive murderer of young prostitute boys. The technique of fingerprinting is just in its wake and fingerprints are not legally approved as evidence in the US, but this does not stop the investigators from using them, among other novel methods. The most important one is the use of psychology to imagine how the killer's mind works. The cooperation (and friendship) of Moore, detective Sara Hamilton, scientist brothers, Roosevelt, and, last but not least, the renowned psychiatrist Laszlo Kreizler, results ultimately (and unsurprisingly, of course, although after a tantalizing struggle making a great story) in a success. New York City is described perfectly and accurately. It is easy to imagine how the streets and buildings of SoHo and the East Side looked, and what was the street and night life like at the turn of the 19th and 20th century. A delicious treat for the fans of the Big Apple and the dark secrets of its alleys, and although it is not a small tome, it is so fascinating, it reads breezily.


The All Color World of Cats
The All Color World of Cats
Author: Peter McHoy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/30/2005


From the inside jacket flap:
Cats and men live together in a very special relationship in which the cat retains a certain measure of independence. This book explores the independent yet affectionate nature of cats. It also gives information on the different breeds of cats from all over the world, including such exotic types as the short-haired Abyssinian, the long-haired Persian and the ever-popular Siamese. The author gives much good advice on how to ensure that the family cat stays healthy and happy. The joys and problems of breeding cats and raising kittens are also covered.
Over 100 great color photographs of cats and kittens show many breeds and many sides of the delightful feline character.


All the King's Men
All the King's Men
Author: Robert Penn Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/31/2005


This novel won the Pulitzer Prize, and is well worth reading. It is about "the rise and fall of an American dictator."

Editorial Reviews

From Amazon.com
This landmark book is a loosely fictionalized account of Governor Huey Long of Louisiana, one of the nation's most astounding politicians. All the King's Men tells the story of Willie Stark, a southern-fried politician who builds support by appealing to the common man and playing dirty politics with the best of the back-room deal-makers. Though Stark quickly sheds his idealism, his right-hand man, Jack Burden -- who narrates the story -- retains it and proves to be a thorn in the new governor's side. Stark becomes a successful leader, but at a very high price, one that eventually costs him his life. The award-winning book is a play of politics, society and personal affairs, all wrapped in the cloak of history.


Altgeld's America
Altgeld's America
Author: Ray Ginger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2006


Subtitle: The Lincoln Ideal Versus Changing Realities

This book was required for a 9-hour college class called "The American Experience." It was so good, that I have saved it for several decades.

Press and Reviews for Altgeld's America

"A dramatic biography of a vivid era in the history of Chicago and the nation"New York Times

"A rich and juicy book" New Yorker phis book sings" Chicago Sunday Tribune

"Excellently documented, tautly written, and highly readable, this book is an invaluable contribution to the literature of America's social and political development and philosophy" Kirkus Review

"Altgelds America focuses on Chicago from 1892-1905, describing the forces that had remodeled America from the rural society of Lincoln's day... Here are the business leaders: Marshall Field, Gustavus F. Swift, Philip D. Armour, George M. Pullman and Charles T. Yerkes. Here are labor organizers, including Albert R. Parsons and Eugene V. Debs, and politicians ranging from Gov. John Peter Altgeld to the gray wolves of the City Council. Here also are thousands upon thousands of new immigrants rewarding the ward bosses with their votes in return for significant welfare services; Jane Addams and her associates at the Hull House struggling on the urban frontier; Clarence Darrow, Henry D. Lloyd, Thorstein Veblen, John Dewey and Theodore Dreiser in their different ways exposing the follies of a generation lusting for material success." New York Times


Alvin Journeyman (Alvin Maker, Bk 4)
Alvin Journeyman (Alvin Maker, Bk 4)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 3/15/2006


The story grows in interest and wonder, January 5, 1997
Reviewer: A reader

I cannot recommend this book and series enough. My wife turned me on to the series and I am eagerly awaiting all future installments. Alvin seems destined for greatness, but like all great men, considers himself "just a normal man". I can't wait to see how he and the Indians of this alternate U.S. build his glorious city. This story also is terrific in how it shows the love/hate relationship between Alvin and Peggy, and how she had to voluntarily lose him in order to find him and their relationship together.


American Catalogue
American Catalogue
Author: Bruce Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/9/2006


A catalog of cats in American art. Purr-fect.


The American Covenant: The Untold Story
The American Covenant: The Untold Story
Author: Marshall E. Foster, Mary E. Swanson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/25/2006


Few people in history have been as self-flagellating as the American emerging from the decade of the seventies. The people who astounded the world for two centuries with their hope and enthusiasm suddenly seemed rudderless, losing themselves in soap operas and superbowls, but sensing deep within an impending collapse. Even those in power, who often had preached a Pollyanna message of future glory, declared that we as a people were experiencing a "national malaise."
It seemed as though the loose-knit coalition of secular values was coming apart in the "me generation." Time-Life publications examined this phenomenon in detail in a special project called The American Renewal. In the March 1982 edition of Life, Henry Grunwald summarizes well our dilemma.

"The belief in an even better tomorrow, the conviction that obstacles exist to overcome and that the U.S. has a strong and beneficial role to play in the world -- these constitute the American secular religion. For some time now, that religion has been corroded by doubt. Intractable inflation seems to have turned the good life into a treadmill and shaken our confidence in the future -- America's last frontier. Our industry appears to have lost its productive magic, its daring, and sometimes even its competence. Our government is intrusive, inept -- and expensive. Our democracy too often produces mediocrity and deadlock."


The American Dream: Vision and Reality
The American Dream: Vision and Reality
Author: J. Derek Harrison
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/30/2006


As difficult as it is to define, the American Dream helps shape the national identity. The editors of this anthology have chosen to develop six aspects of the Dream: The Struggle for Liberation, The Business of Business, The Power of the Land, The Freedom of Expression, The Promise of Education, and The Search for Values. For each of these topics, essays and short fiction have been selected to develop the idea of the American Dream from its emergence in early American writings to its contemporary interpretations.

Paperback


American Medical Association Family Medical Guide (American Medical Association Home Health Library)
Review Date: 3/11/2006


This book was a gift intended to be used as a reference. Since I have never actually read it, I am borrowing a review from Amazon:

A godsend for parents., December 21, 1999
Reviewer: Jonathan Leach (Coppell, TX USA)
When a child's temperature zooms at midnight, this is the book you want. Our family has relied on it, time after time, and through every imaginable crisis. I agree with the comment below that the flow charts and graphic arrangement make this an especially user-friendly book: zip-zip-zip through the chart, and you'll have either an accurate diagnosis, or a sense of comfort about what illness you're NOT dealing with. Very authoritative and thorough, but extremely easy to use, as well.


America's Best Vegetable Recipes
America's Best Vegetable Recipes
Author: Food Editors of Farm Journal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2006


This book was a gift to me; I need the shelf space, and rarely use cookbooks any more. It has been so long since I actually used it, that I am borrowing some reviews from Amazon:

A Life Resource!, February 23, 2002
Reviewer: "gtheaven" (San Diego, CA)
I received this book as a wedding present in 1968. It became a family favorite for soups - especially the beef-vegetable. There isn't a vegetable recipe in this book that is a flop. Arranged by vegetables alphabetically, this book is an excellent resource for new cooks. It is not, however, low fat! Not much was in 1968! I loaned it to a friend and never got it back which is why I'm having to reorder it now. I truly don't to be without it.

A Valuable Companion to The Joy of Cooking, July 10, 2000
Reviewer: Elizabeth H. Stewart (Raleigh, NC USA)
I bought this book in 1970 and have used it at least once a week ever since then. Just this weekend we made a trip to the North Carolina State Farmer's Market and I came home and started cooking the wonderful fresh vegetables we bought. Whether you like to use only fresh vegetables or have only canned vegetables at your disposal, this book is full of good recipes for you. My copy is falling apart, I've used it so much. With today's emphasis on healthy eating and making sure we have at least 5 fruits and vegetables on our plate, this book is invaluable. I'm currently looking for a good used copy for a friend whose kids have all declared themselves vegetarians. She needs this book, but I won't give up my copy!


Anackire
Anackire
Author: Tanith Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/19/2006


Classic fantasy, April 17, 2000
Reviewer: K. Freeman (Apple Valley, CA USA)

This is characteristic of Lee's earlier work: fantasy as it should be. Decadent and bizarre, yet with plenty of action to hold the reader's interest, Anackire is a must read.


Ancient Images
Ancient Images
Author: Ramsey Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


From Publishers Weekly
British horror writer Campbell here focuses on one of his most intriguing inventions, a horror film supposedly starring Boris Karloff and Bela Lugosi, made in England in 1938 and immediately suppressed. When film editor Sandy Allen decides to track down a print of the film, her detective work leads her to Redfield, a rural community known for the delicious wheat that grows on its rich soil, fertilized by blood from an ancient massacre and, it turns out, in need of a fresh infusion every 50 years to maintain its fecundity. During her search, Sandy is shadowed by bizarre creatures that sometimes look like dogs and sometimes like scarecrows. After Sandy finally pins down the connection between the film and Redfield, the creatures come out of the shadows and reveal themselves. Campbell's novels tend to be dense and less accessible than his short stories, but this narrative seems more relaxed and simplified--perhaps his most readable effort since his debut in The Doll Who Ate His Mother.


Ancient Secret of the Fountain of Youth.
Ancient Secret of the Fountain of Youth.
Author: Peter Kelder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Low risk, high return potential, September 12, 2004
Reviewer: AnaElisa DeOliveira (Denver, Colorado)

I have been doing these exercises for 4 years (almost everyday). I've never been sick, have plenty of energy, have practically no gray hair, and many people tell me I look at least 8 years younger.
I do not agree with the reader who said "if these exercises were as good as they claim the whole world would be doing them". For years the medical community has been saying we should eat 5 or 6 servings of fruits and vegetables to prevent cancer and heart disease. How many people do you know who actually do it?
I can't say for sure my good health is caused by these exercises because there are others things I do such as: I walk and hike a lot, I drink lots of water, use sun block, don't smoke, and drink alcohol very rarely (haven't stick to all those vegetables yet).
To know if these exercises really work, we would have to do a control experiment. There is no other way to know for sure but a scientific experiment to separate the variables. (Too bad we can't make rats do the exercises!!)
Meanwhile, the book is inexpensive, there are very few risks and potential for high return. But, like others readers, I am open to and still waiting for "miracles". I am waiting for my perfect vision. Best to all.


Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 3/5/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This was a fun read.

There really was a great lake 10K years ago that stretched between what is now North Dakota, Minnesota, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Archaeologists are researching lost coastal civilizations from 10K years ago that are now underwater. This book is a fun twist on the theme.


1 to 20 of 583 - Page: