Sharon G. (mustangsharon) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 72 - Page:
1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1638
Review Date: 10/6/2015


I read this in high school but reread it for book club. I am so glad I did. In high school it was before the actual year 1984, that mixed with the fact that I was reading with the mindset of a teenager this reading was from a very different position. As a teen I was more interested in the first half, the life style, the relationships, the surroundings. As an adult, I found the second half, after his experience at the Ministry of Love, the way the Party worked, how they thought, the way Newspeak worked, very thought provoking. As a teen, this was a story that could never happen, as an adult with many years behind me I see how this could threaten our very society. I think reading this as a teen so much was lost on my own inexperience, BUT as a college student, this would have a greater impact. Sorry, not much here about the book, I do think it should be mandatory reading for every person.


Advanced Celtic Shamanism
Advanced Celtic Shamanism
Author: D. J. Conway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/21/2014


I love this book, it was my first DJ Conway book and I am excited to read more work from her. I am drawn to the Celtic religions and this book was very informative. Each section guides you on your unique journey to spirituality and concludes in a guided meditation. A very good addition to your library.


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 967
Review Date: 9/21/2014


Really good book. I love the way the "old" gods were incorporated into modern day and the fight between the gods of our forefathers and the gods of our children. Makes you look at the evolution of our dieties in a whole new way. I very much recoment this book.


Aradia: Gospel of the Witches
Aradia: Gospel of the Witches
Author: Charles G Leland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/21/2015


This book was written in the late 1800. Before the growth and popularity of withcraft today. I would recommend this book to anybody interested in the true "old" ways from a Strega stand point. Tells the story of Diana and her daughter Aradia. Has the myths and legends, conjuring and prayers and much more information. Do not think it is going to be difficult to read, it is actually very easy to read and enjoyable.


At the Water's Edge
At the Water's Edge
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/18/2018


I really wasn't sure I would like this book by the way it started, (I am not usually interested in stories about "rich" people),but it quickly became interesting. I ended up having very strong opinions of all the characters in the story. Although, at first, I really did not care for the main character, Madeline, she grew into a kind person with standards and morals. Her husband, Ellis, on the other hand became more and more horrible until I completely despised him. I found the side characters every bit as interesting as the main characters and all in all I truly enjoyed the book. I believe the setting, Scotland during the war, added depth to the story but did not distract. I would highly recommend this book and look forward to reading more from Sara Gruen.


Badass Zombie Road Trip
Badass Zombie Road Trip
Author: Tonia Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/10/2014


Great characters, Great friends, Great adventure. Completely believable, absolutely funny. You will really care about the guys, rooting for them against all odds. This was my first Tonia Brown book and I am hooked, I can not wait to read all of her books.


Beatrice and Virgil
Beatrice and Virgil
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/7/2017


Let me preface this with the confession that I did not read Life of Pi. That being said, I did not go into this book thinking about how it would measure up against Martel's earlier work. I really did not like this book very much. I did not like that it was written in one long chapter. I did not like the two main characters having the same name. When we first met the taxidermist my first thought was this is Buffalo Bill from Silence of the Lambs, run before he puts you in a pit and wants you to rub the lotion on the skin. I did enjoy the injections of conversation between Beatrice and Virgil, the donkey and monkey who are the main characters in the taxidermists play. If the entire book were to have been this play I would have enjoyed it much more. Read it if you must, it was a really fast read but read it with a grain of salt. It is a play within a book written in diary form with main characters that are not very interesting. Martel tries to use tricks to capture our attention. And lest I forget, the horrible games at the end are very disturbing, I did not find them thought provoking, I just found them awful.


The Blind Owl
The Blind Owl
Author: Sadayat Hedayat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/11/2015


I know people that say this is the best book they have ever read and it is life changing. I was not one of those people. I found the first half to be a bit tedious. It was not until the very end that I bagan to connect with the storey. I felt as though I was reading a jouranl written to capture the details of a recouring dream. I have been told I need to read it again to gain a greater understanding and appreciation. It is a book of few pages so that is not completely out of the question. I will give it another chance and possibly add to this review. I am glad I read it, if only to say that I have read it.


Buckland's Book of Gypsy Magic: Travelers' Stories, Spells & Healings
Review Date: 5/31/2014


My first Buckland book, I found it was enjoyable and had some fun facts about Gypsy life.


The Camel Bookmobile
The Camel Bookmobile
Author: Masha Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/6/2017


I really enjoyed this book, it started a bit slow, laying the groundwork for Fiona but once she got to Africa it was very interesting. I love the interplay of charters, each one very well rounded. I was fully invested in all the charters. Marsha Hamilton told a very descriptive and colorful tale, one that I felt I could see in my mind like a movie. The lives of the semi-nomadic village, living in what most would consider a bleak existence, but from their point of view was rich in history, community, celebration and close to nature. A tale of how even the smallest gift, a hand pump and hose to bring water from the well, a teacher, some crazy books about avalanches and stories of lovers in big American Cities, can change their lives but also threaten their history and the continuation of their village and the life that they knew. At what point do modern devices and ideas become destructive to live as you know it? Read the book and you will see, a totally surprise ending, not anything that I was expecting. This was a very quick and easy read, don't forget to jot down the address to the real Camel Library so you can donate any books you may not need anymore. The information is at the end of the book.


The Carrie Diaries
The Carrie Diaries
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/31/2014


Read this for book club, I really liked it. I am a huge fan of "Sex in the City" series and this added a sense of history. I have added the sequel to my wish list and also other books by Bushnell. Great summer book to read at the beach or pool.


Coffee, Tea or Me? The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses
Review Date: 10/30/2015


Loved this book, light and airy snippets of the lives of flight attendants, back when flying was a special event. I can see Don Draper putting the moves on Trudy. I remember flying back in the day, in awe of the beautiful, poised, glamorous stewardesses. Now I got to delve into the inner circles and learn the secrets of those lovely ladies.


The Colour
The Colour
Author: Rose Tremain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/11/2018


Even though the book club questions want you to discuss how the story is about class divide, in my opinion it is about pride and shame. Although it was very slow to start it may have been intentional to show how dire the characters lives were. They had no connection to each other and I had very little connection to them. It was not until Joseph left Harriet in the hopes of finding gold did the story get interesting for me. Rose Termain is a brilliant author, her way with words made me think the title was about the scenery of New Zealand. (I did not read the back cover or even notice the gold pan on the front cover, I was really busy and just needed to get the book read before I lead the discussion at book club). I could really see what she as so eloquently describing. My favorite quote in the book, was a saying from Pao Yi's father "We may avoid shame if we choose, for shame seldom takes us unawares, but has it's warning cry and we can hear that cry clearly. If you read this for a book club, please discuss pride and shame. Even though I didn't like the book until the middle, after a certain point, I really did enjoy it.


Creative Spirituality: The Way of the Artist
Creative Spirituality: The Way of the Artist
Author: Robert Wuthnow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/18/2016


I really enjoyed the individual stories of each artist. It was interesting to see where each person came from and how their lives lead them to their artistic path. I gained a greater understanding and respect for my artist friends and see how much of themselves they pour into their work. I do want to point out this is through the Univ. of CA press so it does read like a thesis.


Diary of a Submissive: A Modern True Tale of Sexual Awakening
Diary of a Submissive: A Modern True Tale of Sexual Awakening
Author: Sophie Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/27/2016


Very entertaining. Sophie really lives life to the fullest and has an incredible deep understanding of her wants needs and desires and where they come from. She is luckier then most when it comes to the D/s community or possible she just a great judge of character to only find the Doms that are in it for the right reasons or possibly she didn't write about the harmful side. What Sophie Morgan did do is show a lifestyle the most of us will never experience. It was fun, exciting and a little vouyeristic.


Doreen Valiente Witch
Doreen Valiente Witch
Author: Philip Heselton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/9/2017


What an incredible woman. She lived such a rich live with so many experiences. The book is a little heavy on the "lived on this street during this time then moved over hear for a while and moved again" but the parts that were just about Doreen as a person were amazing. I felt a real kinship with her as we look at life in the same way.


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 8/10/2017


I enjoyed this book more than I expected.


Drawing Down the Moon: Witches, Druids, Goddess-Worshippers, and Other Pagans in America
Review Date: 5/31/2014


Very indepth look at the modern pagan movement. I love the way the book has been updated to add information on the current pagan movement yet holds the historical nature of the original printing. It is a book that will take some dedication to read as it has so much information and I would not call it an easy read but it is absolutely a must read. Again, this is a permanent book in my library and I will never post it to share. Sorry...


The Encyclopedia of Magickal Ingredients : A Wiccan Guide to Spellcasting
Review Date: 4/5/2015


I use this book often. There is so much good information and it is very easy to find what you are looking for. I would recommend it highly for every witch, especially somebody new to the path. I love that I have everything in one place and do not need to look in several books, (although I do anyway). And, I must admit, I am a lazy witch and have not written my own reference material in my BOS. The book touches on everything from plants, herbs, stones and crystals to zippers, urine and bones. What more can you possibly need?


Fever: A Novel
Fever: A Novel
Author: Mary Beth Keane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/8/2016


I am sad that nobody thought to have Mary write about her life. How incredible to be the first person discovered and to have your live changed in such a remarkable way.I can only imagine how confusing and scary it was, it would have been nice to have a true account of the details and emotions but I am happy Mary Beth Keane used her imagination and intuition to help create a world that may have been very close to Mary's real world. I am on the Mary was a victim team. Although the papers and trial documents portray her as "headstrong" she was an immigrant and a single woman that fought and clawed for what she wanted. I would have fought too. How sad that her live was ripped from her, to loose what little family and friendships, to be forced to live a prisoner and a hermit.


1 to 20 of 72 - Page: