Sharon G. (mustangsharon) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 80 - Page:
The Encyclopedia of Magickal Ingredients : A Wiccan Guide to Spellcasting
Review Date: 4/5/2015


I use this book often. There is so much good information and it is very easy to find what you are looking for. I would recommend it highly for every witch, especially somebody new to the path. I love that I have everything in one place and do not need to look in several books, (although I do anyway). And, I must admit, I am a lazy witch and have not written my own reference material in my BOS. The book touches on everything from plants, herbs, stones and crystals to zippers, urine and bones. What more can you possibly need?


Fever: A Novel
Fever: A Novel
Author: Mary Beth Keane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/8/2016


I am sad that nobody thought to have Mary write about her life. How incredible to be the first person discovered and to have your live changed in such a remarkable way.I can only imagine how confusing and scary it was, it would have been nice to have a true account of the details and emotions but I am happy Mary Beth Keane used her imagination and intuition to help create a world that may have been very close to Mary's real world. I am on the Mary was a victim team. Although the papers and trial documents portray her as "headstrong" she was an immigrant and a single woman that fought and clawed for what she wanted. I would have fought too. How sad that her live was ripped from her, to loose what little family and friendships, to be forced to live a prisoner and a hermit.


A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
Author: Haven Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 525
Review Date: 5/30/2014


I absolutely loved this book. I grew up in the same time frame as "Zippy" and she brought back so many memories. Even though I was a child of the suburbs of Los Angeles and she grew up in a small town we shared so many experiences. It was like reading through my own scrapbook. I would recommend this to everybody, it is a fast enjoyable read that will transport you to an simpler time.


The Girl On The Train
The Girl On The Train
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 6/7/2016


This is a story of a very dysfunctional alcoholic woman who is living a lie and spiraling downhill. She tries to imagine herself in the shoes of the couple that live in her old neighborhood to the point of meddling in their lives after a horrific murder. I have no sympathy for Rachel, or most of the characters really, only for the husband of the murder victim, he seems to be the most normal person and he is dealing with grief and being a suspect in the investigation then he must deal with Rachel to boot. It was a fast easy read but I really wouldn't recommend it.


The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 2/23/2019


I am not a baseball fan but my BFF is a HUGE baseball fan so I read this book with her love of the game in the back of my mind. The story is a bit slow, as is the game of base ball. The basics of the story is a young girl goes on a day trip with her mom and brother into the mountains for a hike. Her family is torn by recent separation/divorce and older brother attitudes. Due to family dynamics she somehow becomes lost in the woods. She is not alone, (of course not, this is a Stephen King Book, right?). She is followed, she has her companion, as well as others. Not only is the slowness of the story due to the way the game is played, I believe it is also due to the way it would feel to be lost in the woods, days wondering alone with your thoughts and fears, nights even longer as your fears claw at the edges trying to take over your resolve. How is it that she stays alive far longer than most adults would be able to? Was it her "god", was she in an alternative dimension (a fact we discussed in book club, brought up by friends who are into sci fi more then I am). Even though this was a "slow" book, it was by no means boring. It felt slow while reading but I actually finished it quickly, it was really strange, almost like being lost in the woods. Stephen King is brilliant, I love him, of course.


The Girl Who Wrote in Silk
The Girl Who Wrote in Silk
Author: Kelli Estes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/17/2017


We read so many books in my book club about the Civil War and slavery and this is the first one to deal with the subject of racism in the Pacific NW and the Chinese immigrants. It is a beautiful love story about a young Chinese girl who is saved by her father by being thrown overboard. She ends up being saved by the man who will be not only her savior but love of her life. Although her life is not easy it is her life and she makes the best of it. How do we know about her life? She left a gift to be found later. The gift is not found by her intended recipient but decades later. This is the second story, how the finder of this clue into Mae's life unravels the clues to discover what life was really like for the Chinese. I must admit, I enjoyed the parts about Mae's life more so than the parts in modern time. I would have been happy had the entire book been about Mae but then there would not have been the drama of discovery.


Go Set a Watchman
Go Set a Watchman
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/10/2016


When I began to read this book I had no idea what was going to take place basically in my own back yard. I live within 20 minutes of Charlotte NC. I was half way through the book when the demonstrations and riots in Charlotte broke out. I had the news on while I read the book. It was very interesting to get the feelings and beliefs from so many sides. So many layers, how have we not. as people, not changed in over 60 years. Why do we let self serving groups take over our lives and thoughts and make a total mess of what little positive gains we have made. The ladies in my group were very split on the book, most did not like Scout and thought she was a bit immature and rigid in her ways. I guess I was lucky to have read it when I did, I gave it the highest score in the club.


Good Omens
Good Omens
Author: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 591
Review Date: 6/7/2016


I was not impressed much to the chagrin of my friends at book club. Most of them consider this as their favorite book. Maybe it is because I have never read a Terry Pratchett book and I am a Neil Gaiman fan. I may re-read it at a later time when in a better state of mind to give it a fair chance.


The Great Sex Weekend : A 48-hour Guide to Rekindling Sparks for Bold, Busy, or Bored Lovers
Review Date: 5/30/2016


Nothing I didn't already know. Actually, a little boring.


The Hidden Messages in Water
The Hidden Messages in Water
Author: Masaru Emoto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/10/2019


LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. It could not have come at a better time in my life. Talk about a positive outlook. Although the book is based on scientific experiments with ice crystals the thought process of Masaru Emoto is so lovely and poetic. The pictures are beautiful and moving. He teaches us that water has memory, energy, power and we influence these aspects. We are made up of water, as is our planet so it makes sense that what we put out into the world affects everything and everybody and Marsaru Emoto's suggestion is that this all happens through water. You must read this book to understand what I am (poorly) trying to explain. It is a super easy read with lots of exquisite photos. You cannot read this book and not come out a better person at the end.


Homegoing
Homegoing
Author: Yaa Gyasi
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/5/2017


This book tells the tale of 2 sisters born in Asanteland and how, through circumstance, their descendants live completely different lives on different continents. The book is written in alternating chapters, the odd for the African side of the family and the even for the American side. My favorite was the African as we have heard so many stories told from the American slave point of view. The African stories were so interesting. Because each chapter covered one person/generation the characters were not as developed as they could be but that book would be twice as long. I hope Yaa decides to write stories about the most interesting people in her stories like Yaa or H. They were my favorites. My favorite chapter was about a town in the south built up around the coal mines. The mines were worked by black and white criminals. In this town every man was equal and had to work together or die. This is where H spent a good portion of his life.


How To Be A Wicked Witch : Good Spells, Charms, Potions and Notions for Bad Days
Review Date: 3/15/2015


I did not read this book in any seriousness, I did enjoy it. I found it fun and lighthearted.


How to Read Literature Like a Professor : A Lively and Entertaining Guide to Reading Between the Lines
Review Date: 6/1/2014


Enjoyable and Entertaining...and I learned alot. I would recomment this to all readers, students and well...everybody!!!


The Husband's Secret
The Husband's Secret
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 5/9/2016


I enjoyed reading this book. It was fun trying to figure out how all the seemingly distant people would all fall into the story line. It really wasn't about just one husbands secret but really the secrets that many of the characters hid, confessed to, got caught in. How keeping secrets or telling secrets or finding out secrets will change the course of your life. It was really fun to read but thought provoking too.


I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced
I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced
Author: Nujood Ali, Delphine Minoui
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 1/12/2018


It is so sad to read this, I had just spent the holidays with my nieces, who are the same age as Nujood was when she was married off. My nieces, playing with toys, sneaking deserts off the buffet, opening hatchlings, laughing and being kids. Then reading of Nujood, the horrors she went through when her "husband" did not honor the wishes of her father. Her strength to get away. She was the first to be able to get divorced, but hers is not an isolated case. Sadly, this happens hundreds of times a week to hundreds of little girls.


In My Own Words: An Introduction to My Teachings and Philosophy
In My Own Words: An Introduction to My Teachings and Philosophy
Author: Dalai Lama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/12/2015


I would recommend this book for anybody interested in Buddhism, interested in finding happiness, interested in making the world better. The Dalai Lama is a very spiritual and wise man but he is more then that, he is learned. He doesn't just tell you how to attain enlightenment but also how to find it in today's world with all of our technology and discoveries. I will be reading this book over and over again.


Jim Goad's Gigantic Book of Sex
Jim Goad's Gigantic Book of Sex
Author: Jim Goad
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2014


Wierd and Wacky, comic book styled. An interesting mix of articles, inormation and advertisements.


The Kabbalah Tree: A Journey of Balance  Growth
The Kabbalah Tree: A Journey of Balance Growth
Author: Rachel Pollack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/11/2016


This is a very good book for anybody that has no experience with Kabbalah. This is a good jumping off point. It is easy to understand the concepts. If you are interested in the Tarot and how the Kabbalah/Tree of Life is represented in traditional Tarot decks this is a very good book for you. If you can, get a copy that comes with the poster of Hermann Haindl's painting. The visual adds so much more and I am not sure if I would have liked the book less if I did not have the poster to refer to, and it is lovely as well.


Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 3/15/2017


LOVE LOVE LOVE this book, LOL funny. I grew up with 4 younger brothers and the friendship between Bif and Joshua is spot on for a boy growing up in modern times and I am sure was not much different in the time of Jesus. Mr. Moore treated Joshua with reverence and respect, he was never the butt of the joke, that was all on Biff and some of the other Apostles, Romans and Pharisees. You must have a sense of humor to read this book and you might just get a bit butt hurt if you are a rigid Bible toting conservative Christian. As Mr. Moore stated, this is not meant to be a historical reference but a possible, semi plausible, might have been kinda this almost accurate look at what it may have been like to grow up the Son of God. Completely funny, tug at your heartstrings, sad at times and even thought provoking good time. I was truly sad the story ended, but as you know, it did end the way the Bible said it did.


Lily and the Octopus
Lily and the Octopus
Author: Steven Rowley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/11/2017
Helpful Score: 2


I pity the person that hasn't has that "one" pet, the special one, that came a the perfect time, was your soul mate, understood you better than any human ever could, your best friend. I also hurt deeply for that person when, as all pets do, move "over the rain bow bridge", or as mine do, "go to college" because that just makes me an empty nester, not a grieving pet parent. This book captures every nuance if these special relationships. Who of us hasn't spoken to our fur family? I know I hear them answer back, with their eyes, a tail wag or a hiss. I for one have whole conversations with mine. This book touched on every emotion, excitement of meeting our new family member, gowning pains, joy of life, all the steps of grief when we hear the news, denial, bartering, acceptance and the others, the bottom of your soul wrenching pain when we have to make that final decision for our beloved. You must read this book, even if you are not a dog person, or a cat person, or a snake person, if you are human, this book will make you feel all the feelings.


21 to 40 of 80 - Page: