Karen S. (KarenLS) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Almost
Almost
Author: Elizabeth Benedict
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/31/2007


Excellant book - I didn't want it to end! I will definately be getting her other novels.


Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Beyond the Highland Mist (Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 672
Review Date: 1/5/2006
Helpful Score: 25


This is the 2nd best series I've ever read!! (First being Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series). These books MUST be read in the correct order: Beyond, To Tame, The Touch, Kiss, Dark and the Immortal. Spell is yet to come out in paperback. Enjoy!!!!


Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 12/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I was very disappointed in this book. Others by her were great; it was a cute idea, but very boring to read.


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1432
Review Date: 1/6/2006


Excellant book!!! All his are really worth reading, and re-reading, etc....


The Dark Queen  (Dark Queen, Bk 1)
The Dark Queen (Dark Queen, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 5/26/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Excellant historical fiction. This is the first three, The Courtesan and The Silver Rose being 2 and 3, respectively. I highly recommend it


Dawn on a Distant Shore (Wilderness, Bk 2)
Dawn on a Distant Shore (Wilderness, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Donati
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 3/4/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This is an excellant series; second only to Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. This is book two of four in the series; #5 comes out "mid 2006 - tentatively titled Queen of Swords" - that is from her web site. Elizabeth and Nathaniel will remain in your hearts.


The Devil's Queen (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Devil's Queen (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis, Kate Reading (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/25/2013


This is the same novel as The Medici Queen, by Jeanne Kalogridis; one is a US version and one is a UK version.

Same book; different titles.


Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 12/8/2007


No one does it like Diana Gabaldon. This series ROCKS!!!!


The Drowning Tree
The Drowning Tree
Author: Carol Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/29/2006


Really good book; in the top 10% I've read this year!


Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Drums of Autumn (Outlander, Bk 4)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 12/8/2007


No one does it like Diana Gabaldon. This series ROCKS!!!!


The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 12/8/2007


No one does it like Diana Gabaldon. This series ROCKS!!!!


The Good Nurse: A True Story
The Good Nurse: A True Story
Author: Charles Graeber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/1/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This should be a must read for any hospital administrator, employee, or anyone entering the hospital.

Being in the medical field myself, and having worked in many hospitals and various facilites, this book is spot on. The Pyxis system is flawed that many items are available when you request something.

And medical facilities are Business', not medical facilities helping those who need it as their main goal.


The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness, and Murder
Review Date: 6/1/2013


This should be a must read for any hospital administrator, employee, or anyone entering the hospital.

Being in the medical field myself, and having worked in many hospitals and various facilites, this book is spot on. The Pyxis system is flawed that many items are available when you request something.

And medical facilities are Business', not medical facilities helping those who need it as their main goal.


Lucky Man : A Memoir
Lucky Man : A Memoir
Author: Michael J. Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 1/23/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great book!! I wish he'd write another one, he has so much to say.


The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation, Bk 2)
The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation, Bk 2)
Author: Lauren Willig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 1/3/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I enjoyed the book for the historical fiction aspect of it. She could drop the "chic lit" stuff, and concentrate on the rest for a better read, IMO.


The Medici Queen
The Medici Queen
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/25/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This is the same novel as The Devi's Queen, by Jeanne Kalogridis; one is a US version and one is a UK version.

Same book; different titles.


Nectar : A Novel of Temptation
Nectar : A Novel of Temptation
Author: Lily Prior
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/1/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is a strange little book. As it ended, I double checked to make sure I was at the end of the pages; I felt sure there was more to come. I enjoyed it, just would've enjoyed it more if there was more to the story. It was a very easy read.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 508
Review Date: 12/8/2007


No one does it like Diana Gabaldon. This series ROCKS!!!!


The Silver Rose (Dark Queen, Bk 3)
The Silver Rose (Dark Queen, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 5/18/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is book #3 of an excellant series; I highly recommend anyone to read it who enjoys historical ficture, with a touch of magic. The Dark Queen and The Courtesan are #1 and #2, respectively.


A Stranger Like You
A Stranger Like You
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/3/2011


I liked this, BUT, I don't know why, I skipped through alot of it; that's not like me.

I just didn't care much about the 2 characters; their stories were good, but they were bland characters? Does that even make sense?

Perhaps if someone else wrote the book at a different angle, different, I don't know.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: