Reviews - Shelley A. (shell6834)

1 to 20 of 97 - Page:
3 by Flannery O'Connor
3 by Flannery O'Connor
Author: Flannery O'Connor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/13/2010


"I had to read this book for a literature class in college and it is still one of my favorites. O'Connor has a way of writing that makes you chuckle when you should probably be bothered by the subject. I highly recommend O'Connor for those who have a sense of humor."


African Skies (Palisades Pure Romance)
African Skies (Palisades Pure Romance)
Author: Karen Rispin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/10/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I kept reading thinking it was going to get better, after page 87, I gave up. The writing was poor and the lengthy descriptions of everything offered little to the story, but added plenty of length to book. At one point, Darren had allowed Laurel to take control of his small plane they are flying(she's not a pilot)and when he resumes control the author writes "The controls steadied under her hands. She had a powerful impression of strength and stability, like Darren was touching her through the plane...". I attempted another book from this author previously and also did not finish it, but thought I would give her another chance. Unfortunately, my opinion remains that with a plethora of great authors to choose from, don't waste your time with on this one."


All the Tea in China (Rollicking Regency, Bk 1)
All the Tea in China (Rollicking Regency, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Orcutt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 12/23/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book! It was fast moving and should appeal to those who enjoy suspense and romance."


Along Came Jones
Along Came Jones
Author: Linda Windsor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 3/31/2010


"I have never read any of this author's book, but am now a fan. I loved this book and found myself laughing out loud a time or two."


Angel's Den
Angel's Den
Author: Jamie Carie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/17/2010


"Jamie Carie is one of my favorite authors and although I enjoyed this book, it was not my favorite. A great and easy read."


Autumn's Promise (Seasons of Sugarcreek, Bk 3)
Autumn's Promise (Seasons of Sugarcreek, Bk 3)
Author: Shelley Shepard Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/23/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I couldn't get into this book, found it predictable with somewhat remedial writing."


Beguiled
Beguiled
Author: Deeanne Gist, J. Mark Bertrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 1/13/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Being a big Deeanne Gist fan, I was looking forward to this book. I was disappointed and didn't even finish it."


Blessing (Steeple Hill Women's Fiction #24)
Blessing (Steeple Hill Women's Fiction #24)
Author: Deborah Bedford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/7/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a cute book, quick read."


The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, Bk 2)
The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, Bk 2)
Author: Marylu Tyndall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 12/9/2009


"I absolutely love this series and this one is my favorite. The descriptions are so real, I was able to see the story unfold in my mind."


Bluegrass Hero (Love Inspired, No 458)
Bluegrass Hero (Love Inspired, No 458)
Author: Allie Pleiter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/13/2011


"Cute book, easy read."


The Bride of Stone
The Bride of Stone
Author: Thomas Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/25/2010


"Ugh."


The Bride Ship
The Bride Ship
Author: Deborah Hale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/17/2010


"I enjoyed this book, however, I was led to believe that is was a Christian Romance and it is not."


Carbon Copy Cowboy (Love Inspired)
Carbon Copy Cowboy (Love Inspired)
Author: Arlene James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/3/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Typically I enjoy this author, but was beyond let down with this book. One plot twist was the only thing that kept me turning page after disappointing page, to find the book end abruptly without revealing the answer. I literally kept flipping the page back and forth looking for pages I knew I must have missed and then checked to see if pages were ripped out at the end; nope, that was the real end. I think she left it open for another in the series, but she could have wrapped it up a little better than that. A story of 2 sets of twins separated as very young children, a woman with amnesia, a mother in a coma, and a missing ill father told with the overuse of the word "past". Don't waste your time."


The Centurion's Wife (Acts of Faith, Bk 1)
The Centurion's Wife (Acts of Faith, Bk 1)
Author: Janette Oke, Davis Bunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 1/24/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book! It gives you a look into the lives of those living during Jesus' time and the hardships they endured. Great history lesson."


Chasing the Dream (Montana Skies, Bk 3)
Chasing the Dream (Montana Skies, Bk 3)
Author: Paige Lee Elliston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/29/2010
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"After reading another in this series, I was looking forward to this book, but was very disappointed. The author had an annoying overuse of the word "texture" and the characters could use more development. The main character, Amy, relocates to Montana to start a new career and leave "baggage" behind, but that baggage is never revealed and the back cover makes it sound as though she has to decide between the love of 2 men, when one character only makes a minimal appearance in the book. Oh, and a tornado is getting ready to rip through the area and on her way to seek shelter, she decides to stop and get her raincoat, good grief. I found myself skipping large, boring portions of this book in order to finish it."


Chosen (Full Circle, Bk 5)
Chosen (Full Circle, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/9/2010


"I loved this entire series!"


The Christkindl's Gift
The Christkindl's Gift
Author: Kathleen Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/17/2010


"This is such an easy read and Kathleen Morgn fans won't be disappointed."


Circle of Honor (Scottish Crown, Bk 1)
Circle of Honor (Scottish Crown, Bk 1)
Author: Carol Umberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 3/31/2010


"I loved this entire series! If you enjoy this time period, this series is a must!"


Clueless Cowboy
Clueless Cowboy
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/15/2010


"Cute story, easy read."


The Colonel's Lady
The Colonel's Lady
Author: Laura Frantz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/19/2012


"It's been a while since I've read a book that I wish would never end, but that's how I felt about this book. You are hooked from the very beginning with detailed descriptions of the frontier, realistic characters, and a plot that keeps you guessing with a little romance tossed in the mix. I highly recommend this book to historical fiction and romance fans!"


1 to 20 of 97 - Page: