Alexa A. (SCOUT-FINCH) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 87 - Page:
Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin, Bk 12)
Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin, Bk 12)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 12/19/2005


I love dear old, bad old Aggie - this is one of the better installments in the series..


Agatha Raisin and the Haunted House (Agatha Raisin, Bk 14)
Agatha Raisin and the Haunted House (Agatha Raisin, Bk 14)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/19/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I love Agatha Raisin and all of her faults and foibles - while this was not my favorite installment, it has most of the familiar characters, and is still worth reading if you're an Aggie fan like me.


The Alpine Advocate  (Emma Lord Bk. 1)
The Alpine Advocate (Emma Lord Bk. 1)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 11/25/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoy this series - great introduction to Emma Lord and the small town of Alpine, Washington.


The Alpine Betrayal (Emma Lord, Bk 2)
The Alpine Betrayal (Emma Lord, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/3/2005


After absolutely loving The Alpine Advocate and vowing to read everyone in the series in order (which would be a mystery series first for me), I was a bit disappointed by this somewhat convoluted mystery...I also never like Hollywood subplots with sexy actresses and hunky co-stars and such - I live in LA and it always feels phony in books...
I still plan to give Alpine Christmas a try, and we'll see from there...


Alpine Christmas (Emma Lord, No 3)
Alpine Christmas (Emma Lord, No 3)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoy the Emma Lord series and for the first time in my mystery reading career, am trying to read them in order (the ABC order of the titles is making that easy!) Emma is a newspaper owner and editor in quirky small-town Washington - I find I like my cozies taking place in small towns, and while Alpine isn't as quirky as Maggody, it has its unique charms. I enjoy her on/off romance with Tom Cavenaugh, her priest brother Ben and just about everything in this easy to read, light in tone (well, except for the dismembered body parts) mystery.


Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 11/15/2005


this was the first in this series I had read, and I enjoyed it very much, in fact I've requested another Grace and Favor mystery via this website! Saw this at my local library's Book Sale, so bought an extra copy to swap.


Attack of the Soggy Underwater People (Maximum Boy, Bk 6)
Attack of the Soggy Underwater People (Maximum Boy, Bk 6)
Author: Dan Greenburg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/14/2006


My son and I love this series - definitely 7-10 year old boy humor (probably funny to girls too, but I only have a boy!)


Bare Your Soul: The Thinking Girl's Guide to Enlightenment (Live Girls Series)
Review Date: 8/6/2005
Helpful Score: 4


This was a little too new-agey for me, plus I think I'm too old...looking for the Thinking Woman's Guide at this point...I love the idea, though, essays from young women of many different faiths and beliefs.


Bet Against the House (Freddie O'Neal, Bk 5)
Bet Against the House (Freddie O'Neal, Bk 5)
Author: Catherine Dain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/6/2006


"Freddie O'Neal is a latter day Travis McGee"..."a private eye with wit, grit, heart and lasting power". A unique and engaging crime-fighter wholikes cats and keno and who gambles with her own life in tackling crime in Reno."


Better Off Wed (Annabelle Archer, Bk 1)
Better Off Wed (Annabelle Archer, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Durham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/23/2005


couldn't get into this Cozy Mystery centered around the escapades of a Washington DC wedding planner and her sometimes business partner. This book is registered with BookCrossing.com


A Bicycle Built for Murder (Manor House, Bk 1)
A Bicycle Built for Murder (Manor House, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 11/8/2005


I received several of these Manor House Mysteries in a Bookcrossing.com bookbox. While I love cozies, this series just isn't my cup of tea. Hope it finds a more appreciative audience here!


Bringing Nettie Back
Bringing Nettie Back
Author: Nancy Hope Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/4/2005


This book is for reading level 5.0 (ages 8-12) but it seems that the theme is more 10+. "Clara becomes best friends with Nettie almost the day they meet. Everything about Nettie is wonderful, including her family who seem to live a charmed life, full of warmth and laughter...so different from what Clara is used to. But then, in just a split second, that perfect world is shattered and Clara discovers the strengths of her own family and a new understanding of the true meaning of friendship."


Carpe Demon: Adventures of Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/14/2006


So not my usual type of book, but I really enjoyed it! The title alone was worth the price of admission (which, I guess was the $1.42 I spent sending someone else a book to get the credit). I would think Buffy/Angel fans would love it..


The Christmas Garden Affair (Gardening Mystery, Bk 7)
The Christmas Garden Affair (Gardening Mystery, Bk 7)
Author: Ann Ripley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/8/2005


While I did not enjoy this installment as much as I enjoyed the first one I read (Death of a Political Plant), I do enjoy Ripley's style and would seek out more in the series. It's funny, because I have a pretty black thumb, but the escapades of Louise Eldredge, hostess of a PBS gardening series still entertain me!
Registered with bookcrossing.com


The Crepes of Wrath (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 9)
The Crepes of Wrath (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 9)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 8/4/2005


I enjoy this Cozy Mystery series in small bits. While I find a series set in Amish Country inherently interesting, stylistically I find the main character grates after a while. Her whines and rants don't change much from book to book. The mystery aspect is always solid, though.
This book is registered with BookCrossing.com


Dead Angler (Loon Lake Fishing, Bk 1)
Dead Angler (Loon Lake Fishing, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Houston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/2/2006


A cozy mystery that takes place in small town Wisconsin and is centered around a female police officer and fishing.


Death Flips Its Lid (Brenda Midnight, Bk 3)
Death Flips Its Lid (Brenda Midnight, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Jaye Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/23/2005


So many cozies, so little time..this one felt a little dated to me so I admit to not finishing it. Your miles may vary..!


Death of a Domestic Diva (Stain Busting, Bk 1)
Death of a Domestic Diva (Stain Busting, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Short
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 11/2/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Is it sophomore syndrome? I just did not enjoy this Josie Toadfern Cozy Mystery nearly as much as the first one I read in the series, Death by Deep Dish Pie. Maybe it's the not-very-loose Martha Stewart tie-in..sigh..I'm pretty tired of Martha...


Death of a Gossip (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 1)
Death of a Gossip (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 1)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/19/2005
Helpful Score: 1


an average Hamish McBeth is better than almost any other Cozy, and this is better than average! Hamish is still mooning over Priscilla, and his adventures take him to a Highlands fishing school where a Gossipy student meets an untimely end.


Death of a Village (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 19)
Death of a Village (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 19)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 11/1/2006


I love every book MC Beaton writes and this is no exception..though I admit to being slightly more partial to Agatha Raisin instead of Hamish McBeth (who is the protagonist here)


1 to 20 of 87 - Page: