Becky Y. (byby) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
Anil's Ghost
Anil's Ghost
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 7/9/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Although dark, difficult subject, an engrossing read. Excellent characterizations. Enlightening and heartbreaking at same time.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 9/1/2006


A nice summer read. Characters were interesting, story engrossing.


The Borderland : A Novel of Texas
The Borderland : A Novel of Texas
Author: Edwin Shrake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/24/2006


From back cover: "In the tradition of Larry McMurtry & Charles Frazier, a sweeping novel that tells the tale of how mighty Texas was born."


The Breast Cancer Survival Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide for the Woman With Newly Diagnosed Breast Cancer
Review Date: 12/6/2011


Excellent resource. Very accessible to lay people, good illustrations, very reassuring.


Bright  Captivity (Georgia Trilogy, Bk 1)
Bright Captivity (Georgia Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Eugenia Price
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/25/2006


This is an autographed copy.


CALLBACK
CALLBACK
Author: Ginger Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/24/2006


From back cover: "Exercises in creative visualization in character, using scens from classic and contemporary plays. . . "


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 800
Review Date: 6/27/2006


Kinsella is not my cup of tea - nor my choice in authors, but to some it's very funny and romantic.


Charms for the Easy Life
Charms for the Easy Life
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 4/3/2006


Another Kaye Gibbons book that I enjoyed very much. Her characters come alive; Gibbons makes reader care what happens to every one of them.


The Constant Gardener
The Constant Gardener
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 12/19/2005


One of le Carre's best. The political conflict, the well drawn characters, the intrigue held me captive till late hours. See the movie, but read the book, too!


The Country Ahead of Us, The Country Behind
The Country Ahead of Us, The Country Behind
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/30/2006


Short stories by author of Snow Falling on Cedars.


A Cup of Tea
A Cup of Tea
Author: Amy Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/23/2007


Held my interest from beginning to end; good short book for book discussion groups. Plenty to talk about!


A Cure for Dreams (Large Print)
A Cure for Dreams (Large Print)
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 4/25/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A good read. I like Gibbon's portrayals of Southern women and she's a good storyteller.


Disobedience
Disobedience
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 12/19/2005


Struggles of teenage boy as he learns secrets of family he cannot reveal to others


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1500
Review Date: 12/19/2005


Sweet, sad, authentic story of frienship of girls growing into women in the South. Lots of fun to read


Eden Close
Eden Close
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 12/6/2006
Helpful Score: 5


I got this book from this site for reading with my book discussion group. We had a great discussion of it. We not only liked the story, but were entranced by Shreves use of words and phrases, her description of physical surroundings, her insight into people's feelings, especially of those suffering emotional hurts. We were very impressed that it is her first novel. Others made a bigger 'splash' - The Pilot's Wife, etc. - but we think this one deserves lots of readers.


Fair Is Fair: World Folktales of Justice
Fair Is Fair: World Folktales of Justice
Author: Sharon Creeden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Collection of ancient tales of justice that explain contemporary ideas of fairness.


A Family of Her Own (Dundee, Idaho, Bk 3) (Harlequin Superromance)
A Family of Her Own (Dundee, Idaho, Bk 3) (Harlequin Superromance)
Author: Brenda Novak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 5/13/2006


From the back coer: "Brenda Novak spins a taut, spine-tingling story with imagery so vivid it leaves you breathles."


Foreign Affairs
Foreign Affairs
Author: Alison Lurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/17/2010


Absorbing, delightful novel. I'm wondering how I missed in the mis '80s. Characterizations superb; descriptive language throughout. One of the best novels I've read recently.


Ghost Dancer (Howard Moon Deer, Bk 1)
Ghost Dancer (Howard Moon Deer, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Westbrook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/21/2006


From back cover: "A clever, sexy, modern mystery."


Great Books for Girls:  More than 600 Books to Inspire Today's Girls and Tomorrow's Women
Review Date: 1/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent annotated list of books for girls of all ages. From back cover: "In these books, girls and women are creative, capable, articulate, and intelligent, solving problems, facing challenges, resolving conflicts, and going on quests. They are not sidekicks or tokesn, waiting to be rescued; they are doing the rescuing. Nor are thay waiting for a male to provide a happy ending.


1 to 20 of 56 - Page: