Rebecca R. (Waterlogged) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
Admissions
Admissions
Author: Nancy Lieberman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The vicious Manhattan sport of getting your child into the right so he can be admitted to the appropriate Ivy. Of course, the parents turn the competition into a greater face-off the the WWF championships.


Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is what happens when the high school "diva" we all loved to hate comes back to her home town and plans are set to settle the score.


Around the Next Corner
Around the Next Corner
Author: Elizabeth Wrenn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A great book for a dog lover. From the get-go you know you are going to cry but not in a bad way. Deena trains a dog for the blind and while she does that, the dog trains Deena in how to take better care of her own life.


Blue Diary
Blue Diary
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Interesting novel. It made me ask what is justice and whether rehabilitation or punishment is more important.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 3/13/2007


This book helped me to understand the tragic recent history of Afghanistan and how it became a pivotal player in America's fight against terrorism all at the same time I was enjoying a great read.


Breadfruit (Materena Mahi, Bk 1)
Breadfruit (Materena Mahi, Bk 1)
Author: Celestine Vaite
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/8/2007


This is the sequel to Frangipani. In a review the Christian Science Monitor compares the character of Marerena to Alexander McCall Smith's Precious Ramotswe and I think it is because the author realistically captures the voice of someone from a culture we don't know much about. We like her and want to know her better.


The Brooklyn Follies
The Brooklyn Follies
Author: Paul Auster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 6/7/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Just when a guy thinks he's ready to die, life starts getting interesting. Maybe your overweight nephew has given up on life and is wasting his talents working for a gay bookseller with a questionable past or your niece has been out of touch after her porn career ended with drug rehab or your daughter doesn't speak to you. But, nothing stays the same. Life comprises not just the unexplainably bad but also the unexpectedly good.


Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Robinette Moss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It is considered a memoir of the south but to me it was one of triumph of any abusive, disfunctional rural family and how a young woman comes to understand the beauty she holds within despite what her world around her shows and tells her.


Confessions of a Teen Sleuth
Confessions of a Teen Sleuth
Author: Chelsea Cain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Ah, Nancy Drew. We only thought we knew you. Now she is setting the record straight and we'll know what was really going on with her and Ned.


The Cotton Queen
The Cotton Queen
Author: Pamela Morsi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 2/25/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Three generations of women, each an navigating her times as best she can, wondering about the decisions that her mother made and why her mother doesn't understand the decisions she makes.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 4/18/2007
Helpful Score: 16


Introspective and beutifully written. The author made choices I do not understand but they seemed to enrich her own life experience.


Empress Orchid
Empress Orchid
Author: Anchee Min
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 2/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Although a novel, it offers wonderful insight into the young woman who became the last Empress of China and ruled China through the Boxer rebellion. I can't wait for a sequel to read about what comes next!


The Exploits & Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy
The Exploits & Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy
Author: Elizabeth Aston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A nice sequel to Mr. Darcy's Daughters, it was a light read easily finished in a weekend. It dragged a little about midway, but skimming those pages didn't diminish my ability to follow the plot.


Father Joe: The Man Who Saved My Soul
Father Joe: The Man Who Saved My Soul
Author: Tony Hendra
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/2/2007


Deeply touching. The author discovers his spiritual side through the inspiration of Father Joe.


Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Author: Cokie Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/2/2007


Could have been deeper but a very easy read.


Frangipani
Frangipani
Author: CÚlestine Vaite
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/8/2007


The author carries us to a place and culture where we want to linger. She creates an authentic voice in Materena and it is fun to get to know her and her Tahitian point of view.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3404
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


At first I thought "just another book about a disfunctional family" but my opiniton changed as I followed Jeannette's story and saw the respect and humor she infused. It's great to see women who can overcome adversity and flourish in their adulthood.


Kate Caterina: A Novel
Kate Caterina: A Novel
Author: William Riviere
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting story about Italy in the pre-WWII era and an English bride who sees the impact of the coming war upon the family around her.


The Last Anniversary
The Last Anniversary
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 3/13/2007


A fun read.


Leonardo's Swans
Leonardo's Swans
Author: Karen Essex
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/25/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A novel in the spirit of Tracy Chevalier and Sarah Dunant, this novel interweaves Leonardo da Vinci in the power struggles of two ruling Renaissance sisters in two northern Italian duchies.


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: