Stephanie C. (stephlys) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
The Angel of Darkness
The Angel of Darkness
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 11/27/2005
Helpful Score: 1


The Alienist is better but this is still an exceptional read.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 9/25/2005


I loved it, my sister hated it, calling it weird and depressing. I thought the characters extremely interesting and the language beautiful.


Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 11/27/2005


outstanding!


Bold Sons of Erin (Abel Jones, Bk 5)
Bold Sons of Erin (Abel Jones, Bk 5)
Author: Owen Parry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/11/2005


Couldn't get past the first chapter because the writing was forced, didn't ring true.


Callings : Finding and Following an Authentic Life
Callings : Finding and Following an Authentic Life
Author: Gregg Michael Levoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/3/2006


Very well-written.


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1429
Review Date: 1/21/2006


Slow moving but a nice twist.


A Dangerous Fortune
A Dangerous Fortune
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/25/2005


Very good. A quick read that was less formulaic than I expected.


The Dante Club
The Dante Club
Author: Matthew Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 9/18/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Good but takes itself too seriously. Not the lightest of reads.


Discovering Eve: Ancient Israelite Women in Context
Review Date: 7/10/2005


Never read it. It was purchased for a very interesting class though.


Everyday Sacred : A Woman's Journey Home
Everyday Sacred : A Woman's Journey Home
Author: Sue Bender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/11/2006


A thought-provoking gentle read.


Greyfax Grimwald (Circle of Light)
Greyfax Grimwald (Circle of Light)
Author: Niel Hancock
Book Type: School Library Binding
  ?
Review Date: 2/26/2006


This is a set of all 4 cicle of light books.


Healing Mudras : Yoga for Your Hands
Healing Mudras : Yoga for Your Hands
Author: Sabrina Mesko
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/10/2005


Not very pratical.


Hornet Flight
Hornet Flight
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 12/20/2005


nice idea but abrupt ending after I actually kindda cared about the characters. Obviously a "get it finished and get paid" book.


A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 1)
A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 1)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 6/9/2006


Quick read that held my interest.


Lucia, Lucia
Lucia, Lucia
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 3/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


These are starting to get formulatic but still enjoyable.


Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1090
Review Date: 7/16/2005
Helpful Score: 3


An easy read and a glimpse of how "the other half" lives, when that really means the other 2/3. It is less anthropology than writer dabbling in poverty but it does raise awareness, doesn't pretend to be actually experiencing the pains a person who has no choice experiences, and is interesting.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1159
Review Date: 8/23/2005


Exceptional historical fiction. I enjoyed it tremendously.


The Professor & the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity & the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary
Review Date: 7/16/2005
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed this history more than most but am fascinated with the OED. It isn't a quick read and seems to lose some of its initial steam but it was interesting. I would recommend it to any English geek I know.


The Queen's Fool
The Queen's Fool
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1331
Review Date: 4/3/2006


I enjoyed The Other Boylen Sister more though this was an enjoyable beach read.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5487
Review Date: 7/10/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Exceptional book with intriguing images that are hard to forget.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: