Donna H. (Dhende6577) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Blue Nowhere
The Blue Nowhere
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 4/10/2008


This was my first read by this author but it won't be my last! Enjoyed the pace, the characters (not developed too much but enough for the storyline), and the subject (computers - I don't know how accurate the info given was but it was presented in a plausible manner). Now where are those other Jeffery Deaver books . . .


Burn Factor
Burn Factor
Author: Kyle Mills
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I am a big Kyle Mills fan but this book was disturbing. Twisted, evil, psychopath apply in much detail. Although I was drawn in by the original premise (computers and mystery), and I couldn't not finish, my mood has been dark for a few days. I guess that's just the nature of this genre . . .


The Collectors (Camel Club, Bk 2)
The Collectors (Camel Club, Bk 2)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 4/21/2008


Thoroughly enjoyed this one - better than The Camel Club. Couldn't figure out switching back and forth between two exciting storylines but about midway the author brought them together - a little anticlimatic but still a good read and now I'm looking for Stone Cold a continuation of the characters (series?)


The Fourth Procedure
The Fourth Procedure
Author: Stanley Pottinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Slow start. Not sure about the "page turning" description. Current premise for our times, outside my normal whodunit. Would consider other books by this author as an alternative.


Intern
Intern
Author: Bonnie Hearn Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/22/2008


A fast-paced read. Switching back and forth between the five main characters (and group) kept the storyline easy to follow and surprising still. Straight from the headlines, add a little supposition and speculation, and the story becomes it's own.


Orange Crush (Serge A. Storms, Bk 3)
Orange Crush (Serge A. Storms, Bk 3)
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 6/24/2008


Funny, fun book! The pace was steady enough, characters quirky, and the adventures had me laughing out loud. Probable or improbable? Who knows it's politics in an election scenario. If we just changed the names and the office . . .


Outbreak
Outbreak
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 11/2/2009


This was the first Robin Cook thriller I've read, but I blazed through it and was hunting for another one from my TBR piles. The book may have been written a couple of decades ago but the subject is still relevant, and Mr. Cook's writing style is descriptive but smooth and coherent. I was delighted to find (somewhere) I have about ten books to look forward to!


The Rainmaker
The Rainmaker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 6/24/2008


Everyone knows that screenplays are not always true to the book or clumsily truncated versions, but I enjoyed the movie by this name. However, the book is one of my favorite John Grisham novels. Mixing legal and insurance (as they do in the real world) and revealing the relationship between the two and the real lives that get mangled in the process strikes an authentic chord with anyone who's had to deal with such issues, and makes the rest of us shudder because but for the grace of God . . . And Mr. Grisham makes the characters easy to identify with or villify. Of, course we are (as we should be) left none the worse for the read and always with hope.


Widow's Walk (Spenser, Bk 29)
Widow's Walk (Spenser, Bk 29)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


First time I read this author, Robert B. Parker, won't be the last. Very intriguing writing style. Simple, short, easy, not too much in the way of flowery description, and yet enough to set the scene and get the picture. The book, another murder who done it, but again, the writing style hooked me.


1 to 9 of 9