Candace B. (sdstargazer) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
The Alexandria Link (Cotton Malone, Bk 2)
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Interesting story, fast-paced. It's fascinating to me that Steve Berry can write a fictional story that indicates the Jewish and Christian faiths are based on lies but you don't hear much controversy; yet Dan Brown writes a fictional story about the Holy Grail and the Catholic church and the world screams blasphemer.


The Anubis Gates
The Anubis Gates
Author: Tim Powers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/24/2006


Book had a great premise but it was so bogged down by "weirdness" it was very hard to get through. This was my first book by Powers and I doubt I'll ever read another.


The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 2/2/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Fun read. Fforde has a great imagination and uses it to entertain the reader. Love his books.


Booked to Die (Cliff Janeway, Bk 1)
Booked to Die (Cliff Janeway, Bk 1)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 5/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


First book in Cliff Janeway series. Good mystery.


Borrower of the Night (Vicky Bliss, Bk 1)
Borrower of the Night (Vicky Bliss, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 2/10/2007


Enjoyable read. Peters tells a good story.


Break No Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 9)
Break No Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 9)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 7/31/2006


From book cover: Summoned to South Carolina to fill in for a negligent colleague, Tempe is stuck teaching lack-luster archaeology field school in the ruins of a Native American burial ground on the Charleston shore. But when Tempe stumbles upon a fresh skeleton among the ancient bones, her old friend Emma Rousseau, the local coroner, persuades her to stay on and help with the investigation. When Emma reveals a disturbing secret, it becomes more important than ever for Tempe to help her friend close the case.

The body count begins to climb. An unidentified man is found hanging from a tree deep in the woods. Another corpse shows up in a barrel. There are mysterious nicks on bones in several bodies, and signs of strangulation. Tempe follows the trail to a free street clinic with a belligerent staff, a suspicious doctor, and a donor who is a charismatic telvangelist. Clues abound in the most unlikely places as Tempe uses her unique knowledge and skills to build her case, even as the local sheriff remains dubious and her own life is threatened.

Tempe's love life is also complicated. Ryan, her current flame, has come down to visit her from Montreal, and Pete, her former husband is investigating the disapperance of a local woman--and he and Tempe are staying in the same borrowed beach house. Ryan and Pete compete for her attentions, and Tempe finds herself more distracted by her feelings for both men than she expected.


The Buried Pyramid
The Buried Pyramid
Author: Jane Lindskold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 11/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very good writing; good story. Not exactly what I expected but the story wasn't any worse for that.


Calculated Risk
Calculated Risk
Author: Katherine Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/19/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Katherine Neville is a superb writer. I enjoyed "The Eight" but this story is easier to read with less characters whom she really gives in-depth personalities. The story is good, though a little outdated when describing the technology...book was publisheed 1992. Worth the read.


The Copenhagen Connection
The Copenhagen Connection
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Story is typical mystery but no real surprises. Peters as always is a good author whether the story itself is middle-of-the-road effort.


Cravings
Cravings
Author: MaryJanice Davidson, Eileen Wilks, Laurell K. Hamilton, Rebecca York
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 11/16/2006
Helpful Score: 3


OK stories. Nothing spectacular.


Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 3/15/2007


This book hooked me from page 1. The story didn't go where I expected but it made it all the better reading because of that. I've never read Morrell before this book but look forward to reading more.


Crimson (Dead World, Bk 3)
Crimson (Dead World, Bk 3)
Author: Jordan Summers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/3/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This is the third book of a trilogy. I enjoyed this book and it wrapped things up nicely. The first and third book in this series were engaging and hard to put down, however, the second book was just filler. Introduced a few characters not in the first book, but basically a setup book for the 3rd book. I would recommend the series as a whole but unfortunately you cannot skip reading the second book. I'd definitely give the author another read as I think she's talented. Hopefully getting this first series under her belt she will be a more consistent writer in the future.


Dance of Death (Pendergast, Bk 6)
Dance of Death (Pendergast, Bk 6)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 7/4/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great story. Love all of their books.


Deepsix (Engines of God, Bk 2)
Deepsix (Engines of God, Bk 2)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 8/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of my favorite books by McDevitt. The adventure and drama are compelling and he does such a great job of world building. This was my first McDevitt book and I've devoured all of his other books as a consequence. He's one of my favorite authors. His books should be read in order because of the relationships that are built throughout the "Priscilla Hutchins" books. He has another series I enjoy with the main character of "Alex Benedict" and "Chase Kolpath". Great series as well. His stand-alones are worth reading as well.


Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Definitely Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 6)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 6/24/2006


Excellent!


Derik's Bane (Wyndham Werewolf, Bk 3)
Derik's Bane (Wyndham Werewolf, Bk 3)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 647
Review Date: 8/14/2006


Fun romp. Entertaining.


Don't Let The World Pass You By!
Don't Let The World Pass You By!
Author: Sam Benson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/26/2007


52 reasons to have a passport. Short stories, lessons, examples of what you can do with a passport. Good ideas.


The Door into Summer
The Door into Summer
Author: Robert A. Heinlein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/16/2007


This was absolutely the best book I've read in some time. Even though this book is 50 years old, the story is very entertaining. With a little mystery in it and sci-fi, it really kept my attention and kept me reading well into the night. This book shows why Heinlein is one of the greats.


Driving Mr. Albert : A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Driving Mr. Albert : A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Author: Michael Paterniti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 9/4/2006


Interesting book about the guy who did Einstein's autoposy and kept his brain. Book detailed parts of Einstein's life as well, personal and professional.


The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
Author: Katherine Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 2/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The search is on for a missing chess set with powers men are dying for. It's a very good book with great twists and turns. Excellent book...highly recommended.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: