WANDA C. (rubuhroom) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
The Association
The Association
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 9/25/2006
Helpful Score: 5


Having worked for a homeowners assn management company for 5 years and living in a HOA-run complex, this book really hit home with me. What Bentley writes about these "little Hitlers" (as I call them) is more true than anything I've ever read. Mr. Little must have either lived in one or heard about the horror stories of what goes on and just took it several steps farther. Excellent, excellent read and so far my favorite from Little.


The Chairman
The Chairman
Author: Stephen Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/18/2006


From back cover:
When the legendary founder of New York's premier equity firm meets an untimely end, 36 year old superstar Christain Gillette gets the top job. With power and prestige, however, come great risks. Gillette is not surprised to find that he now has enemies who will stop at nothing to take his job---or even his life. But Gillette is determined to bring the firm and himself to even greater heights--no matter how aggressive or ruthless he has to be--in order to forge the alliances necessary to achieve his goals, he forsakes the cardinal rule: Never trust anyone. To break a deadly conspiracy of greed, he'll be forced to walk an ever-blurring line between loyalty and betrayal, attack and retreat, survival and destruction...in the ultimate game of profit and loss.

"High-stakes power play at it most ferocious level. Read It!" -- Donald Trump

I loved this book! It like the financial side of a Grisham novel. Highly recommended reading.


The Chamber
The Chamber
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 920
Review Date: 12/6/2005


Probably Grisham's best. I could not put this book down.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1949
Review Date: 6/29/2006


From the back cover:

A Child Called "It" is the unforgettable account of one of the most severe child abuse cases in California history. It is the story of Dave Pelzer, who was burtally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother: a mother who played torurous, unpredictable games--games taht left him nearly dead. He had to learn how to play his mother's games in order to survive because she no longer considered him a son, but a slave; and no longer a boy, but and "it".

My notes: When reading this book, please keep in mind that Dave was not the only child in this family...there are two brothers. When you're living in hell, you do anything you can to survive. And maybe that's why his brothers, nor his father came to his rescue. This is a gut wrenching book from which we can all learn. It's made me look differently at children who seem obnoxious, hateful, spiteful,and just plain mean. You can bet something bad is going on at home for a child to act out like that.


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 11/26/2005


Nice read. Slow at first but once the story picked up, I couldn't put it down.


The Commanders
The Commanders
Author: Bob Woodward, Edward Herrmann
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/4/2006


From the back cover:

The Commanders reveals the inner workings of the [first] Bush administration through two years of conversations and policy choices that twice led the U.S. to war. Here is a compelling group portrait of the decision-makers: President George Bush; Secretary of Defense Dick Cheney; Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Colin Powell; Secretary of State James A. Baker III; and National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft.

In this detailed account, we see the top leadership as never before, wrestling with the great questions of military policy in the closed meeting rooms and private offices of the Pentagon and the White House. The human story behind the momentous choices that are defining a new era in international relations, The Commanders is essential listening to understand the new world order dominated by American military might.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 11/9/2006


With more than 200 people having this on their club wish list, I don't think I have to say anything. But to the lucky person that gets it....ENJOY, I sure did!!


Dispatch
Dispatch
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 5/2/2008


Bentley Little's books get you thinking about what lies just beneath the surface of what is considered normal. This book did not disappoint me at all. Kept me guessing and thinking about my own little quirks.


East of Eden
East of Eden
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 444
Review Date: 11/28/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I grew up knowing about John Steinbeck and his book The Grapes of Wrath as I am a daughter of an Okie (my father) and was born and raised in the San Joaquin Valley, just south of the Salinas Valley where East of Eden takes place. The movie, The Grapes of Wrath was filmed near Bakersfield where I lived for 30 years so that bit of trivia was always coming up in the media or newspapers. So I keep asking myself why did I never read Steinbeck? I loved the movies that were made and I've always known that any book you read is much better than the movie. East of Eden is one of the rare books I give a 5-star rating to. The story, being historical and dating back to the late 1800's, could have taken place in 2009. If references to mode of transportation, communication, and architecture were missing from the book the charachters could be your next door neighbor today. This book was wonderful with so many unique characters and the Cain and Abel aspect, and gives you pause to examine your own angels and demons. It's a big book but I read it in just a few days because I did not want to put it down. Off to another Steinbeck!


Fast Women
Fast Women
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 3/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. The interaction between the two main characters was great! A real love-hate relationship.


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1014
Review Date: 5/23/2010


Many of the books I've read of this genre have moved me in so many ways. However, this book brought me to tears. While reading the authors reasons for writing the books it all came together for me. It's a novel, but based on her own personal relationships. This book is for daughters, best friends, mothers (both stay-at-home and working, grandmothers, and the relationships between any two of them. I give this book a five star rating it so richly deserves.


First Kiss
First Kiss
Author: Marilyn Pappano
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/4/2006


First is the opening move of a sizzling seduction.


Good In Bed
Good In Bed
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/18/2006


Thoroughly enjoyable!


Gut Feelings: From Fear and Despair to Health and Hope
Gut Feelings: From Fear and Despair to Health and Hope
Author: Carnie Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I've had this same surgery and her doctors are now my doctors. Even though my experience was different, a lot of the emotions and the healing are right on target. She seems a little self-centered, but I guess the book is about her so who am I to say. But she does write well and the book is interesting.


Heart Full of Lies: A True Story of Desire and Death
Heart Full of Lies: A True Story of Desire and Death
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 3/29/2006


Another great book by Rule. I always enjoy the end of her books where she talks about the mental disorder that causes these murderers to what they do. This murder is about greed and selfishness, plain and simple.


The Ignored
The Ignored
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 7/25/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Probably the most unique novel I've every read. Could not put it down and going to read more of Mr. Little's books.


Life Expectancy
Life Expectancy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 575
Review Date: 11/12/2005


I love Jimmy Tock and so will you! Here's a review from Dean's website and I couldn't agree more!

"A master storyteller and a daring writer... he gives readers bright hope in a dark world.... Life Expectancy pits good versus evil and carries a persuasive message, about the power of love and family and the miracle of existence... Koontz is a true original and this novel, one of his most unusual yet, will leave readers aglow."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review.


A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness
A Man Named Dave: A Story of Triumph and Forgiveness
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 514
Review Date: 6/28/2006


From the back cover:
#all those years you tried your best to break me, and I'm still here. One day you'll see, I'm going to make something of myself." These words were Dave Pelzer's declaration of independence to his mother, and they represented the ultimate act of self-reliance. Dave's father never interevene as his mother abused him with shocking brutality. The more than two million readers of Pelzer's previous international bestseller, A Child Called "It" and The lost Boy, know that he lived to tell his courageous story. But even after he was rescued, his life remained haunted by memories of his years as the bruised, coering "It" locked in his mother's basement. Desperately trying to make something of his life, Dave was determined to weather every setback and gain strength from adversity.

With stunning fenerosity of spriit, Dave Pelzer invites readers on his journey to discover how a lost, nameless boy finally found himself in the heart and soul of a man who is free at last.

My notes: To truly understand this memoir, I suggest that you read a Child Called "It" and possibly The Lost Boy before you read this. It will give you tremendous insight into the horror this man lived as a child and how and why he thought and behaved when he was finally out of the clutches of his extremely sick mother and overly passive father.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2140
Review Date: 3/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


When I read this book, I did not know that parts of it were not true. Even still, it has wonderful life lessons in it. It should also be noted that this man was most definitely an alcoholic, a drug addict and a criminal and he was able to recover on his own terms.


My Friend Leonard
My Friend Leonard
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 3/7/2006


This is the followup book by James Frey's A Million Little Pieces. Interesting read. I love Frey's writing style.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: