Barbara L. (Cosmic844) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Cat-A-Lyst
Cat-A-Lyst
Author: Alan Dean Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/3/2011


How fun. If you are looking for some light reading for short trips or days at the beach, here is your ticket. Something for everyone! Cats, sci-fi, bad acting, saviors of the world, people from lost civilizations, you name it. Cute,surprising and written in 1990 so there is a bit of the taste of the last decade. Enjoy just to enjoy.


A Cat in the Manger (Alice Nestleton, Bk 1)
A Cat in the Manger (Alice Nestleton, Bk 1)
Author: Lydia Adamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 12/5/2010
Helpful Score: 2


a real surprise. The main character is so human - not in a cozy Ms Marple way, but in a very flawed way. I was all set for a "cozy" mystery but was delighted by a story and characters with real teeth.


Chinaman's Chance
Chinaman's Chance
Author: Ross Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/22/2008


Had not read any of Ross Thomas's work until this one. The intro by William Heffernan really set the stage. Loved the characters and found the book fast paced and fun. Very much like an old detective drama without the detectives.


Death Match
Death Match
Author: Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 1/13/2010


Lincoln Child spins a great yarn. Really enjoy reading his works. This was fast paced and unfortunately a little more predictable than some of the other works. However, a great entertainment!


Eight Million Gods and Demons
Eight Million Gods and Demons
Author: Hiroko Shawin, Hiroko Sherwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I was put off by the style of writing. Almost too simplistic. However plowed through to the end with great reward. Everyday people living everyday lives to what end. You figure it out. It made me want to be very thoughtful about how I vote in any election.


Envy
Envy
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 7/29/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is my first Sandra Brown book. I am not sure why, but have not previously been drawn to her. However, that has changed after reading Envy. Super characters, suspense, great story. Enjoyed to the very end.


Fur Person
Fur Person
Author: May Sarton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/28/2009


A lovely book and as a cat owner it really hit home. I recommend this highly for any pet owner and as a children's book also. I believe children would profit from realizing how pets and humans help one another.


Girl in a Box (Rei Shimura, Bk 9)
Girl in a Box (Rei Shimura, Bk 9)
Author: Sujata Massey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/21/2009


Always interested in what Rei is doing. Seems like she is growig up. Not as whiney as usual.


The Girl Who Played Go
The Girl Who Played Go
Author: Shan Sa
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/25/2008


Loved this book. Very compelling reading. Could not put it down. Enjoyed the way the story was written and the coming together of two lives/destiny.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 902
Review Date: 11/6/2010


Well written and a little less tense than G w/the Dragon tatoo. Enjoy his work and a peek into another country.


Handbook of Designs and Devices
Handbook of Designs and Devices
Author: Clarence P. Hornung
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/11/2009


Great designs and all inclusive. Will use for quilting.


The Life of an Amorous Man
The Life of an Amorous Man
Author: Saikaku Ihara, Ihara Saikaku
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/18/2009


Delightful and eye opening.


Lords of Light
Lords of Light
Author: Deepak Chopra, Martin Greenberg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/14/2009


Had not read any of Deepak Chopra's fiction and just loved this book. Teriffic suspense and just this side of believable. Would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed the DaVinci Code.


The Master of Go (Vintage International)
The Master of Go (Vintage International)
Author: Yasunari Kawabata
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/18/2009


Love Kawabata - he captures the essence of the situation and allows you to know the characters intimately and respectfully, like no one else can.


Mount Dragon
Mount Dragon
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 10/18/2009


Really love these books. True thrillers, page turners and escape lit. One of the best without Agent P.


Naked in Death (In Death, Bk 1)
Naked in Death (In Death, Bk 1)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 837
Review Date: 10/18/2009


Enjoyed the first am waiting for the 2nd. Not sure I can go through the entire collection without getting bored, but number 2 will tell.


The Night Visitor (Charlie Moon, Bk 5)
The Night Visitor (Charlie Moon, Bk 5)
Author: James D. Doss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/9/2010


I like to read a series in order if I can. Like to see characters develope, kinda get to know them. Well I have to say the more of James D. Doss's series regarding Charlie Moon, the more I want. Mr. Doss is an expert story weaver and teller. I can't wait for the next book. I know these people, love these folks and feel with/for these folks and that is aside from the wonder full storyline. Thank you Mr. Doss. Keepim commin!!!


Paper Mage
Paper Mage
Author: Leah R. Cutter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this story very much. Very believable fantasy with a journey plot. Wonderful reminder of "self-determination" in the truest sense.


People of the Book
People of the Book
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 4/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Amazing story. Ms. Brooks has interwoven past and present in such an amazing way. While fiction, I never doubted for a moment that at some point in someones life the events happened. Sometimes hard to read from the standpoint of being reminded of humanities inhuman obsurdities, but could not put it down.


The Thai Amulet (Archaeological Mysteries, Bk 7)
The Thai Amulet (Archaeological Mysteries, Bk 7)
Author: Lyn Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 3/19/2009


I really enjoy Lyn Hamilton's books but this was an especially interesting story. Very well done.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: