Donna T. (realtrgrl3) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 78 - Page:
Angels
Angels
Author: Oscar Walter McConkie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


LDS. Mormon. Do angels exist? What are they? What are their functions and purposes? What is their ministry? Is there rank or precedence among them? Of what importance are they to us? Have angels ceased to minister? Through testimonies of persons in our own day, we read that angels do exist, that they do function today, and that they do direct and guide the affairs of women/men in the church.


The Anglos Saxons & the Vikings - Alfie's Adventure with the Anglo Saxons and Vikings
Review Date: 1/10/2012


We bought these 4 books for our children while living in England. The Anglo Saxons & Vikings, The Victorians, The Tudors, The Romans. They are very colorful, heavily illustrated, not too much text. Great way to learn. These went along with our visits to Castles, Great Houses, Stonehenge, London, etc. Now, my youngest is a senior and I am reluctantly putting them out there for another lucky family.


Anne of Green Gables: Childrens Classics (Children's Classics)
Anne of Green Gables: Childrens Classics (Children's Classics)
Author: L.M. Montgomery
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/31/2012


This edition was published in 1983 by Grosset and Dunlap. The illustration on this special edition, hard bound front is the one of Anne with her hand up to a large flowered hat on her head, not the one pictured. Pristine Condition.


The Barber's Song
The Barber's Song
Author: K. Douglas Bassett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


LDS, Mormon. About a BYU professor's handicapped son, and the family journey regarding him. To hear this professor speak about the subject is a tear jerker, very motivating.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 1/2/2014


This book pulled me in. Suspenseful. Believable. Even now, months/a year after reading it, I remember the story almost perfectly. You won't forget it either. A good read.


Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 1/10/2012
Helpful Score: 2


So far I'm only a couple chapters in, and I think the book is OUTSTANDING. Excellent info, test studies, compilation of data and experiments, easy to read. Interesting. I've already learned something (nasty) about myself that I am going to change. I didn't know it was such an indicator of a bad marriage, one that will break up. We haven't broken up in 24+ years...but I need to stop something. This is a thinker's book. Love it!


The Book of Mormon: It Begins with a Family
The Book of Mormon: It Begins with a Family
Author: Deseret Book Company
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


The BOM is replete with great prophets and fascinating personalities. However awesome the BOM mayt be in it's scope of history and civilization, it's record is a personal one of individuals. This is about these individuals and the single family heritage to which they belong. Various authors: Arthur Bassett, John Welch, Marshall Craig, Allen Bergin, C. Terry Warner, Eugene England, Orson Scott Card, Robert Rees, Jeffrey R. Holland, Francine Bennion, Lenet H. Read, Chauncey C. Riddle, James R. Moss, Brian Best, Marilyn Arnold, W. Cole Durham, Jr., Henry B. Eyring, Marjorie Meads Spencer


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 5/28/2011


Excellent! This is on the required reading list for those deploying to Afghanistan. My husband recommended it, and I resisted. But then I gave it a try - and read it last year and this year. Also, my book club read it. The book is eye opening for what REALLY goes on in Afghan homes. The multi wife situation. The favorite wife situation. The truly dismal living conditions. The plight of Afghan girls. Very interesting to read what is going on in households on the other side of the world.


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 1/12/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Outstanding. I was hooked from the very first chapter: "Raymond R: "I'm not saying I didn't do it. I don't know". Awesome writing. Great character delineation. Masterful buildup of suspense. I coudn't put it down. Had to read in the tub. Take with me to lunch with a friend, in case she was late. Read past my bedtime. Worthwhile. I read fast and read a lot of books. Lately, have been running into mediocre books, which I won't continue. They don't hook me. They don't interest me. This is definitely a thumbs up!


Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 5/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Thought this would be fun to read, but not really. It just didn't seem compelling, and it lost me in a short time...


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 5/31/2012


I'm a Balducci fan. This book may not have been as deep as others, but I enjoyed it. Was an easy read. A fun holiday book. Light.


Conversations with J.K. Rowling
Conversations with J.K. Rowling
Author: Lindsey Fraser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/31/2012


The ONLY authorized biography of JKR.


The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
Author: Cornelia Read
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/10/2012


This has so much foul language, despite looking interesting I put it down.


The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
Author: Cornelia Read
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 1/10/2012


Foul language alert. Lots of it.


Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 593
Review Date: 11/19/2011


David Sedaris makes me laugh. I liked "Me Talk Pretty Someday" better. That was the first book of his that I read. His chapters on learning French had me uncontrollably giggling to tears. I still think about his experience on that subject and smile.

Maybe I was sometimes reading while asleep, but I never found the corduroy and denim connection...

I will definitely read more of David Sedaris.


Dry : A Memoir
Dry : A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 717
Review Date: 12/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs hooked me on his life and writing. This is a book I won't forget. His struggles about quitting drinking reminded me of my struggles with food addiction. No matter what diet, eating plan, exercise, etc. - I still want to eat too much and eat what I want. When I want. I especially want to eat this way when I'm eating a strict good food plan. :-) It's just not easy. Life is complicated. My past enters in. My emotions determine a lot.

I love Augusten's views on life, relationships, love, work. He's so normal and insightful, yet thinks he's a mess. As do we all on some occasions. Augusten shuns a former boyfriend, not giving him the time this friend needs, only to find out too late how much he loved his friend. Why didn't he show him how much he loved and needed him while there was still time? One of the dilemmas of life....May of us have been there, regarding parents passed on, children, etc.

Augusten represents us all. We're all human beings. Sometimes jerks, sometimes loving, sometimes we mess up bigtime, sometimes we keep it together...just barely. LOVE, love, love his memoirs. I've ordered 2 of his other books and right now, he is all I want to read. His appalling upbringing (Running with Scissors), his work in advertising & jerks encountered, his friends - like the National Enquirer - "I want to know".


The Echo Maker
The Echo Maker
Author: Richard Powers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 4/28/2012


I got over 100 pages in then gave up. Just didn't care.


Emily Post's Teen Etiquette
Emily Post's Teen Etiquette
Author: Elizabeth L. Post
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2011


I got this for my teenage, un-polite daughter. She said she will kill herself before she reads it. Hmmm...


Eye Contact
Eye Contact
Author: Cammie McGovern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 5/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent learning disabled children murder mystery! A real page turner. From the beginning, I was caught up in the drama. Who did it? There are lots of twists turns and characters, but I was still surprised. A very good read.


For they shall be comforted
For they shall be comforted
Author: Alma and Clea Burton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


LDS, Mormon classic. When sorrow or grief comes to us or our loved ones, our souls reach out for comfort and assistance. At such times we seek meaningful explanations of life and it's purposes. Messages of inspiration, hope, and comfort have been given by many people-those of past generations as well as those of today.


1 to 20 of 78 - Page: