Donna T. (realtrgrl3) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 78 - Page:
Forever Kate
Forever Kate
Author: Cheri J. Crane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/31/2012
Helpful Score: 1


LDS, Mormon fiction. The sequel to the best selling Kate's Return. An unforgettable story about friends, falling in love, and facing the future. 20 y.o. Kate Erickson has come a long way from the tragic accident that turned her rebellious youth around.


The Forgotten Garden, a Novel ( Large Print)
The Forgotten Garden, a Novel ( Large Print)
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/31/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! By an Australian best selling writer, the story is set in Australia and England. I was hooked right away by the riveting opening situation. The chapters jump back and forth between time periods and characters, which only adds to the suspense in the 2nd half. This is a mystery. If you've ever been to Cornwall, you will picture the descriptions...I read a lot, and had just put down our book club selection as boring and hard to remember which character is which. Picked this up instead, and am sorry it ended. Very satisfying read.


Garden Spells
Garden Spells
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 2/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book hooked me from the beginning, when I thought I would "just take a peek". There is magic but it's almost believable, and very delightful. I like the questions put forth - do we determine our own destiny, or do family labels? Traditions? Apple trees? It's complicated...

I liked the relationships, which all were realistic.


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 755
Review Date: 6/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I've heard so much about this book. So I got it off the New Books shelf at the library. Started out ok, although I did NOT like the voice of Amy. But I kept reading. The writing is good. I also HATE the nickname of 'Go". Every single time I read it, it jarred me. Distracted me. What kind of a name is 'Go'? To me, it just doesn't work.

I'm around p. 89 and I'm aborting. I don't want to know. Yes, I DO want to know what happened to Amy. But I don't want to be depressed doing it, and it's heading in that direction. I just read reviews and no none seems to like the ending. I don't want to devote time to a book that will disappoint me in the end...


Great Mormon Women, dramatized
Great Mormon Women, dramatized
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/7/2011


This are outstanding accounts of famous (and not so) Mormon women. Motivating, fun to listen to, great to listen while walking. Good for classes.


Hidden Wedges
Hidden Wedges
Author: Spencer W. Kimball
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


Classic LDS, Mormon. Pride, envy, selfishness, dishonesty, intemperance, doubt, secret passions, sin. Very small almost pocket size book. Gold. Very short. 23 pages. Pristine condition. Non smoking home.


The Hiding Place
The Hiding Place
Author: Trezza Azzopardi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very well written, I see why it was a bestseller and Booker Prize finalist. Very sad story, yet compulsive. The poor narrator. Her sisters, some nice, some mean. The poor circumstances of their family. Their DAD! I really didn't like him. Only a well written book could have given me such insight into this family and their circumstances. The hopelessness of it all, the ups, the downs, the children's lives in the balance. I did care about the girls and their Mama. Was surprised, but not surprised, by the revelations near the end. An ugly, gritty reality for many that live in poverty I suppose.


The Hobbit (Lord of the Rings, Prequel)
The Hobbit (Lord of the Rings, Prequel)
Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1110
Review Date: 9/22/2012


This is a cute book which makes me smile when I read it. Written for a younger reader than the Lord of the Rings trilogy, but still a great and entertaining read. It is a must if you plan on seeing the Hobbit movie coming out this December!


Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Honolulu
Author: Paul Theroux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/13/2011


This book is ok. I thought I was getting a real life travel and living account. After a few chapters, when I seriously thought he's GOT to be making this stuff up, I noticed it's a NOVEL. In depth look at the goings on at an old hotel. Interesting characters. I was hoping for more description of Hawaii, but maybe I didn't read far enough... Gutter language abounds.


House of Sand and Fog
House of Sand and Fog
Author: Andre Dubus III
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 808
Review Date: 5/31/2012
Helpful Score: 3


One of the finest and best written, evocative books I've read. The story will stay with you....forever. However, the book is a downer. Tragic, but superb storytelling.


How to Hug a Porcupine: Dealing With Toxic and Difficult to Love Personalities
Review Date: 9/14/2012


This IS a 5 star book. I stumbled over this while on vacation this summer, and bought it thinking specifically of one of my children. However, I learned so much! There is something in here for everyone. We ALL know/live/work with a toxic person, and WE have some toxic qualities ourself. This book is very easy to read and engaging. It lists pages of toxic behaviors! It gives antidotes. If YOU are the toxic person, it gives suggestions. How to change your thinking. If you feel this, do this instead. Very, very practical. I can't recommend this book enough.

Basically, this lays out how we should all communicate and gracious ways of living with each other. The world has gotten so lax, so "everything goes", that sometimes we forget what it takes to get along with each other.


Island of Lost Girls
Island of Lost Girls
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 12/31/2011


This was a good read. HOWEVER, it was hard to keep all the characters names separate in my mind. I had to keep going back....again and again...to figure out who is who. That really bothered me, and I almost put the book down. But since I've been sick, and there was nothing to do but rest, I kept on. Ultimately, I liked the book. It was all just so confusing at first! Peter, Peter Rabbit, Lizzie, Tock, Clem, Aggie, huh? Down the road, I put 2 & 2 together about Tock and Peter. I felt bad that Rhonda and Lizzie were no longer friends. It bothered me that the beguiling picture on the front of the book does NOT match the description of the girl described in the book.


Israel and the Aramaeans of Damascus
Israel and the Aramaeans of Damascus
Author: Merrill F. Unger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


Baker Studies in Biblical Archaeology. This book, termed "an authoritative work" (Cyril J. Barber, the Minister's Library) is a prominent example of how the science of archaeology has performed a revolutionary ministry in clarifying vast sections of biblical history. Especially in Old Testament backgrounds, a flood of light has been shed upon the ancient world in which Israel lived.


It's All Too Much: Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff
It's All Too Much: Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff
Author: Peter Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 12/3/2013


I really like this book. It gives me new ideas for why we keep our stuff, and if we should. I don't agree with everything, but that's ok. Some Mama's keepsakes from raising her babies just AREN't going to be tossed.


Jane Eyre (Barnes and Noble Classics)
Review Date: 11/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Our 17 year old daughter watched the PBS version of Jane Eyre recently upon our recommendation, and loved it. She asked for the book. I was worried about the old time language, but she said she enjoyed the book a lot.


Kate's Turn
Kate's Turn
Author: Cheri J. Crane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/31/2012


LDS Fiction, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The book every girl and her mother will want to read. As far as Kate Erickson is concerned, prayer doesn't work and testimonies are only illusions. She dismisses her parents as being old fashioned and far too restrictive. You'll want to take sides with Kate one minute and punish her for her outrageous behavior the next.


Kitchen Privileges
Kitchen Privileges
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 1/22/2012


Outstanding memoir. Humor, hardship, love. A snapshot of growing up in the Bronx long ago. Marrying her sweetheart. Facing life as a young widow of 5 children. Working hard. Losing many she loves. Includes how to be a good writer, how to win friends and influence people, how to look on the bright side.... Highly recommended, and I'm not even a Mary Higgins Clark fan.


Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's
Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's
Author: John Elder Robison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 6/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed reading this. It's very different from his brother's books, not so much harsh language and blatant gay sex descriptions, thank goodness. Because of Asperger's John Elder was frequently judged to be dumb. This book proves just the opposite. He has a brain. He has feelings. He did succeed. He did learn social cues and graces. He was very aware when others were making fun of him....

This book is helpful for all those that deal with kids or themselves who are different in any way. There seems to be a large crop of boys growing up these days who fall thru the cracks, don't seem to "get it" very quickly, are rather unmotivated, YET - they aren't retarded, mental, slow. They just deal with things differently, at a different pace. As a parent of one such young man, I found this book extremely interesting.

The story of his childhood is heart rending.


Marrying George Clooney: Confessions from a Midlife Crisis
Marrying George Clooney: Confessions from a Midlife Crisis
Author: Amy Ferris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


An ok book. Amy Ferris is talented, but I don't like her use of foul language. Often. She does make me laugh sometimes, but I don't appreciate her very intimate tales of her husband's late night habit with toilet paper. Is this necessary? How does he feel about being exposed? I'll be re-posting this one.


Maze Castles in the Sky
Maze Castles in the Sky
Author: Adrian Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2012


We bought this for our children when we were living in England, and visiting castle after castle, and Great Houses, Stonehenge, etc. I used it when I substitute taught the middle and High school in case I needed something extra or fun. I always photocopied what I wanted to use, so as not to ruin a page forever. Great for teachers, or those visiting England. British.


21 to 40 of 78 - Page: