Leeankh - Reviews

1 to 20 of 140 - Page:
1984 : a novel
1984 : a novel
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/16/2010


Surprisingly, I was never given this book as an assignment for a class. I took it upon myself to read it because it is a book that is found on every "must read" book list. I'm glad I read it, even though it did not do a lot for me. When I read Fahrenheit 451, The Picture of Dorian Gray, and On the Road, I immediately understood why these books are considered classics and on "must read" book lists. They intrigued me and stayed with me long after I put them down. Will 1984 have that same impact? Probably not. I am glad I read it and I did enjoy the freaky parallels between Orwell's dystopian future and our present. But, for some reason, the story didn't move me the way I anticipated. It felt like a chore to read and I was secretly pleased I'd never had to read it for a class. I was even more pleased that I didn't have to write a paper on it! :)


Alpine for You  (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Alpine for You (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Author: Maddy Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I thought it was great! It was especially great as the introduction to a new series. Emily is a great character and I liked the slap-stick comedy that was thrown in. It was very entertaining and I enjoyed remembering some of the sights in Lucerne as they were discussed in the book. The mystery aspect was great considering I wasn't sure who the killer was until just before the reveal. Even then, I had my doubts. Excellent read and I can't wait to read the rest of this series. A new favorite I do believe!


Angel At Troublesome Creek (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 1)
Angel At Troublesome Creek (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 1)
Author: Mignon F. Ballard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book. I did expect the story to be told from the guardian angel's perspective, but it wasn't. I think that it is really clever to have a recurring character that moves the story, but doesn't tell it. Overall, I really liked Augusta and I look forward to reading more of this series. :)


Another Day in Paradise: International Humanitarian Workers Tell Their Stories
Review Date: 6/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book. I've been fascinated by humanitarian work for many years. I've read more about the Peace Corps than most people I know. This book was written for people like me. :)

The stories aren't candy coated. They are gritty and real and cover the horror as well as the beauty of the work. Some people would read this book and feel turned off from humanitarian work. But, when I read it, it deepens my understanding of what it takes and I feel encouraged to explore my humanitarian side more deeply. I want to know the stories more intimately and have one to share. Truly a fascinating book and I'm very glad I was able to read it.


As Seen on TV (Red Dress Ink)
As Seen on TV (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 6/2/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This book was crazy. It was my first novel by Mlynowski and it prompted me to check out her other novels. I love how the main character gets sucked into the world of reality TV "fame". My cousin also read it and loved it. I think she liked it even more than I did! :D


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Well, it was very different from the movie it inspired. I was prepared for that and I still didn't like it very much all told. I didn't care for Sophy because she seemed to have some kind of personality flaw. Obviously she was very concerned with making her mother happy and keeping up appearances, but then the outbursts and thoughts she had seem to contradict that. It just didn't work for me. The dialogue was a bit unnatural to me at times as well. (I find myself saying that rather often about British books, however, so take it with a grain of salt.) Honestly, I didn't really like the interactions between her and Josh very much. She was neurotic about her looks and practically delusional about how Josh viewed her. Was it the worst book I've ever read? Nope, not even close. It was enjoyable enough for me to finish it and give it 3 out of 5 stars. This is one time, however, where I actually enjoyed the movie more than the book. For me, they took the best parts of the book and created the movie around that and really made it work. Of course, your mileage may vary. :)


Assassination Vacation
Assassination Vacation
Author: Sarah Vowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 11/27/2006
Helpful Score: 3


My first Sarah Vowell book and I'm in love! I will read basically anything she ever writes because she makes history sound exciting and brings it to life. Plus, she has the best voice in the world and I can hear it when I'm reading her words. :)


The Boy I Loved Before
The Boy I Loved Before
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/27/2006
Helpful Score: 2


At her friend Tashy's wedding, Flora's boyfriend is about to propose and she realizes her life isn't what she thought it would be. Flora makes a wish to go back to age 16 while Tashy is cutting the cake. The next day, she wakes up and she's gone back a few weeks in time and she's 16 again. She tries to figure out what to do and whether to stay 16 or go back to 32. One thing that bothered me, though, is that the back cover and discussion questions say the character's name is Sashy, not Tashy. It's totally random! I liked the story though. I'm surprised she never told her 16 year old best friend what was going on though. I think she should have tried to offer some explanation to her. Oh well.


The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/8/2007


Wow. Just wow. This book left me speecheless. I read it in one sitting and had a really hard time going to sleep after I finished it. I was just in shock and processing all of it took me some time. A highly, highly recommended read. It may be labelled as a children's book, but it is not for young readers. It is strictly for mature teens and adults, in my opinion.


Bring Your Own Poison (Trailer Park, Bk 4)
Bring Your Own Poison (Trailer Park, Bk 4)
Author: Jimmie Ruth Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 11/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


While the mystery of this book isn't as exciting as I would have liked, there are a lot of character developments that help make up the difference. In fact, the only plot points that I recall with clarity have to do with the main characters and what is happening in their lives. It's only been 3 days since I've read this book and I find it is difficult to recall who did what, how, and why. I wouldn't say it's poorly written, but the character developments definitely overshadow the mystery for me. I look forward to reading more in this series, despite not loving this installment.


Burning The Map (Red Dress Ink)
Burning The Map (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Laura Caldwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 1/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Casey's life is so on track that everything is actually wrong. So, before she starts her life as a lawyer, she takes a last hurrah type trip with her friends Lindsey (Sin) and Kat. They go from Chicago to Rome and then on to Greece. Casey goes through a lot during the trip before she burns the map of her life (so to speak) and decides to live life for herself. Loved it. Another great Laura Caldwell book.


A Charmed Death (Bewitching, Bk 2)
A Charmed Death (Bewitching, Bk 2)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 9/13/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Honestly, I felt that the description on the back was a bit misleading. I don't view the main character as a witch at all. If I had to label her, I'd say she's an empath testing the waters of paranormal investigations. Felicity identifies as a witch and I think that's fine, but saying Maggie is a new witch just didn't feel quite accurate to me. But, that's mostly just me nitpicking over word choice. :)

Anyway, I love this book and the series so far. The whole paranormal cozy genre is fantastic. What a concept! This book is a great example of the genre. I thought the mystery was engaging and quite a bit seedier than I anticipated. In fact, the plot was actually quite dark by the end. Overall, I really enjoyed it and I can't wait for the next one. :)


The Cluttered Corpse (Charlotte Adams, Bk 2)
The Cluttered Corpse (Charlotte Adams, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Jane Maffini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 11/8/2009
Helpful Score: 3


My main criticism/observation from the first book in this series was that the main character, Charlotte, never finishes an organizational job during the book. In fact, I finished my review for Organize your Corpses by saying, "Perhaps Charlotte will be able to finish a job in the next book? Ha ha!" Well, imagine my surprise to discover the same thing happens in this book too! I just don't get it. Again, Charlotte is interrupted during a big job with a mystery, so that explains the hold up on the big job. But, she never actually finishes any other job either. This is really striking me as odd for a series with organization as a theme. Am I the only one bothered by this? I guess I just expect a little more from Charlotte than I've been given thus far. Of course, I enjoy the books overall and will continue with the series, despite this random concern. The author does throw in a lot of organizational tips, but I'd kind of like to see her complete a job from start to finish as well as help solve a mystery. Am I asking for too much here? :/

I did find parts of the mystery a little obvious to solve and other parts impossible to solve until the reveal. I had no reason to suspect who was behind everything and how it all came together, which can be both good and bad. I liked that it was a surprise, but I don't like that I had no chance of solving the case before Charlotte. What can I say? I'm competitive with these fictional sleuths and I want a chance to beat them at their own game. :)


Code Name: Blondie (Code Name, Bk 4)
Code Name: Blondie (Code Name, Bk 4)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 7/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It was enjoyable but not a favorite. I've not read anything else in the series and I won't go out of my way to do so either. Miki is a photographer that ends up stranded on an island with a Navy SEAL and his highly trained dog. Max, the SEAL, doesn't know if she's a hostile enemy or not. The plot is thick and generally interesting, but I really didn't like the last 2 chapters. The pace at the very end seemed rushed to me and there were a few minor grammatical errors. It just didn't satisfy me all told. Honestly, the romance genre isn't my favorite, so take my view with a grain of salt; especially if you enjoy the genre. :)


Coming Clean: The Best and Worst of DailyConfession.com
Coming Clean: The Best and Worst of DailyConfession.com
Author: Greg Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/22/2007


I confess that I was such a fan of this site a few years ago that I bought the T-shirt. I wore that shirt all the time and got so many comments on it! At one point in time, I even received an e-mail from the webmaster that I've saved. Fun stuff. Now, onto the book. I really enjoyed it. There was part of me that felt I had to read it just to make sure one of my confessions wasn't in there. :) Was one of the confessions mine? Wouldn't you like to know! There was a great variety of confessions included and lots of the talk backs. Sometimes I was annoyed by the talk backs, but that's because they left any spelling and grammar errors in. I enjoyed that for the authenticity factor, but it was also a bit annoying to see errors like that in a book. Overall, an interesting collection of confessions from an intriguing website. Recommended for anyone that's spent hours reading through confessions on the site or those that are just curious about the things people can tell strangers that they wouldn't tell their closest friends or family. :)


Cooking Up Murder (Cooking Class, Bk 1)
Cooking Up Murder (Cooking Class, Bk 1)
Author: Miranda Bliss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 8/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Overall, I really liked this book. I liked Annie and Eve quite a bit. After reading a review or two, I noticed Eve wasn't as popular as Annie. Personally, I know people like Eve in real life, so she seemed very real to me. Additionally, I just like the idea of 2 friends working together to solve a mystery. I've always thought that if I were to become an amateur detective in real life, that I'd have to work with a friend. I would need that other person to bounce ideas off, if nothing else. Plus, I would feel safer if I had a friend with me when dealing with possibly dangerous situations. :) Now, my biggest problem with the book was the ending. It wasn't as strong as I would have liked, but it wasn't bad. I think the author was a touch lazy about some of the finer points when it comes to believability, but it wasn't so unrealistic that I felt dissatisfied by it. A big plus, though, is that one of the recipes supplied at the end of the book sounds really good and I think I'm actually going to try it. (It's bacon pinwheels... Honestly, the name alone sounds great to me!) I look forward to reading more in this series and I have a feeling they will get better with each installment. :)


Crossing the Line (Jane Taylor, Bk 2)
Crossing the Line (Jane Taylor, Bk 2)
Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is the sequel to The Thin Pink Line and it is so much better. Jane isn't the same woman she was in the first book. This time around, she has found a baby she wants to raise as her own. The baby is not her race, however, so she knows she has to come clean about her fake pregnancy. The other characters are surprisingly accepting and even rally behind her while she's being investigated by social services. She does a few outrageous things but nothing like in the previous book. There were a few times when I was almost uncomfortable with the race discussions. Overall, however, I enjoyed it a million times more than The Thin Pink Line.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4387
Review Date: 3/11/2006


I've heard a lot of hype about this book, and I'm happy to report that it lived up to it! It was a really quick read and I loved every minute.


Dead and Loving It: Monster Love / Santa Claws / There's No Such Thing as a Werewolf / A Fiend in Need
Review Date: 12/20/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Truthfully, I did not enjoy this book very much. It's basically werewolf erotica; two words that I don't like having to type together! If you like a good sex scene, then you'll probably like this book more than I did. I just don't like reading page after page of descriptive sex. I'm not prudish in my real life, but apparently I am when it comes to what I read. Who knew? It was nice to see George from the Undead series as a main character, but not as a sexual beast. It was just too weird for me! Yuck. Werewolf erotica is just not the genre for me, I guess.


Dead End Dating (Dead End Dating, Bk 1)
Dead End Dating (Dead End Dating, Bk 1)
Author: Kimberly Raye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 4/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I don't really like when an author changes vampire lore to better suit their plot. This author has all kinds of rules about born vamps vs. made vamps and it kind of annoys me. The story was interesting though and I would read more by her. The main character loves love and decides to start a dating service mostly for vampires to find their eternity mates. She falls for a made vamp bounty hunter in the process and together they are trying to catch a murderer.


1 to 20 of 140 - Page: