Brenda R. (nurse) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 206 - Page:
16 Clues to Your Past Lives: A Guide to Discovering Who You Were
16 Clues to Your Past Lives: A Guide to Discovering Who You Were
Author: Barbara Lane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was not as I had hoped for. The clues were basically common sense type things we have all thought of. Having the feeling like you have been there before. Nothing to make you really stop and think.


Across Time And Death: A Mother's Search For Her Past Life Children
Across Time And Death: A Mother's Search For Her Past Life Children
Author: Jenny Cockell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very good book about how memories from a previous life can be remembered and proven. Jenny went to great lengths to prove to her self that the memories were real and convince many others as well. She was also able to resolve some of the unresolved feelings of hurt that were impressed upon her from this previous life.


Adult Children of Abusive Parents
Adult Children of Abusive Parents
Author: Steven Ma, Mfcc Farmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/16/2012


The counseling techniques in this book are excellent. This is a great guide to pair with extensive counseling that abused individuals need. The last chapter in regards to child rearing is in my opinion not always affective. There are many ways to teach a child and "time out" is just one of them. I believe explanation is always important.


After Long Silence
After Long Silence
Author: Helen Fremont
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/13/2007


Helen Fremont and her sister search for information regarding their jewish past. It was interesting how this family was able to hide their identities for over fifty years. I still don't quite understand their thinking and the neccesity in doing this. I found the author's parents especially the mother strange and very hard on her daughter. It was a good book and very different from other holocust experiences.


Against Our Will : Men, Women and Rape
Against Our Will : Men, Women and Rape
Author: Susan Brownmiller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/19/2007


This book is written by a reporter who starts off with different psychologists perspective on rape.From the beginning of time there has been rape and it is discussed what the punishment was. She goes on to discuss raping during war time.


Alice in Wonderland (Great Illustrated Classics)
Review Date: 4/19/2007


A note from the back of this new book:Seeing a rabbit run across a meadow is not so surprising, But when that rabbit is wearing clothes and talking out loud, Alice has to follow himand find out where he is from. Down the rabbit hole she goes and on to the oddest adventures a little girl has ever had.


All But My Life : A Memoir
All But My Life : A Memoir
Author: Gerda Weissmann Klein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 9/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! A great book about a young girl's experiences and determined struggle to stay alive. She lost and endured so much! A much better book than Survival In Auschwitz. A more detailed and descriptive book.


All for the Union: The Civil War Diary  Letters of Elisha Hunt Rhodes
Review Date: 6/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very interesting account of a Civil War soldier's experience. This is a compassionate man not only for the cause but for the people he was fighting for. He explains how they lived,fought and died for the union. His unit cared for the people of the South even though they were not were not always received well. He described his experiences with the the other side at times as almost friendly.


All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 3)
All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 3)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 532
Review Date: 4/12/2007


I like the character Dr. Kay Scarpetta in Patricia Cornwell's books. This particular one is about 4 couples who have disappeared,turned up dead and the Dr. solves it in her forensic lab.


Amazing American Women: 40 Fascinating 5-Minute Reads
Amazing American Women: 40 Fascinating 5-Minute Reads
Author: Kendall Haven
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/5/2008


This was a great book full of short stories that leaves you wanting more. It gives you titles to search for for extended reading which I plan to pursue. A great read for many ages nineth grade level and up. There are questions at the end of the chapters for discussion if you are a teacher.


American Sphinx : The Character of Thomas Jefferson
American Sphinx : The Character of Thomas Jefferson
Author: Joseph J. Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/28/2009


This book gives you some insights into the man as well as the politician.It was not my favorite biography of Thomas Jefferson but well worth the read. The book gives you an idea of what kind of father he was to his daughters as well.


An Uncommon Soldier: The Civil War Letters of Sarah Rosetta Wakeman, Alias Private Lyons Wakeman, 153rd Regiment, New York State Volunteers
Review Date: 2/9/2011


An interesting little book on the account of Rosetta Wakeman's time in the Civil War. I must of enjoyed reading it because I ordered and read it twice!You must read to get a feel for their struggles during that time.


An Uncommon Soldier: The Civil War Letters of Sarah Rosetta Wakeman, Alias Private Lyons Wakeman 153rd Regiment, New York State Volunteers
Review Date: 8/14/2008


Letters written by a female soldier during the civil war. Her time was very short dying of dysentery. She seemed to know at a certain point she would not be going home to her family. Rosetta's last letter home expressed her feelings of doom. This account did not explain how she came to fool everyone. She didn't hide her true identity in her letters until later in her last few letters. Her families letters were not included as part of the book. This was a very short account giving little desciption of her experiences.


Angel Visions: True Stories of People Who Have Seen Angels, and How You Can See Angels, Too!
Review Date: 5/5/2008


I enjoyed this book and lent it out immediately to a dieing patient whom I hope it inspired. I haven't read it lately so It is hard to remember. I do however recommend it to anyone who needs to believe in a higher power.


Angels 101 : An Introduction to Connecting, Working, and Healing with the Angels
Review Date: 9/17/2008


An informative book that is a great guide to helping you connect and work with angels. It identifies the names of the angels and their specific specialties. I recommend it so highly I plan to keep my copy! This book makes you feel closer to the ones who are their to help and guide you.


Archangels and Ascended Masters
Archangels and Ascended Masters
Author: Doreen Virtue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/13/2009


This book is a good reference guide on which angels to contact for each need. It also contains suggested prayers to use and a shortened reference guide in the back.


Ar'n't I A Woman?: Female Slaves in the Plantation South
Ar'n't I A Woman?: Female Slaves in the Plantation South
Author: Deborah White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This author gives a clear account of what a slave woman's life was like from the journey from Africa to The US and beyond. The book distinguishes between truth and fiction.


Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
Author: Benjamin Franklin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/24/2007


In this Autobiography Franklin focuses on material sucess,moral regeneration and renewal,and the hope of social progress. He mentions just a few of his gifts to society, his contribution to electricity, paved streets,the firestation and the library. It was a book written for his son. It does not however give much information about Franklin personally as I would have hoped but it does give information not widely known.


Basin and Range
Basin and Range
Author: John McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book is the first book in a series on geology and geologists, presenting a cross section of North America along the fourtieth parallel. A trip west is an intro to plate Tectonics probably the most readable summary extant. Geologists will fingd it sound ,others will find it illuminating.


Becoming Eichmann
Becoming Eichmann
Author: David Cesarani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/7/2009


This book was more about the man and the fact he was a paper pusher. He was a coward and did not feel any remorse for his part in the holocust. He admitted he followed orders but never ever told what actually happened to the jewish people. No details were given except the fact he admitted he was proud of the millions of jews exterminated. I found the book difficult to get through and boring at times but glad I read it.


1 to 20 of 206 - Page: