Kimberly Y. (princesspeanutsmommy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
A. D. 62: Pompeii
A. D. 62: Pompeii
Author: Rebecca East
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/3/2009


I was so excited to finally get this book on PBS, but have been disappointed with it ever since. The premise is SO good, but the writing really falls short. There is no doubt the author did an amazing job researching, but at many times in the book I felt lectured at on ancient Pompeii, instead of these bits of information seamlessly integrated into the story. What I found most annoying was the fact that she would repeat herself over and over again on small historical details, often using the same exact sentences again and again. Very irritating. If you can get past the poor writing and constant repeating, there is a good story line in here--good luck!


Alias Grace
Alias Grace
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 9/29/2007


Ugg, I could not get past page 36 and that took me several weeks to psyche myself up to read that much! I know it got good reviews on several websites, but I was bored to tears!! My bookclub abandoned it as several of us could not get past this point in the book (I read the furthest in it and I only made it to page 36). Do NOT recommend!!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 6/24/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I could not get past page 48 in this book and many of my book club felt the same way. His writing style is very descriptive, but to the point of stalling the action of the book. Sorry, but I have to say I hated this book and will NEVER read another book by this author.


Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type
Click, Clack, Moo: Cows that Type
Author: Doreen Cronin, Betsy Lewin (Illustrator)
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 9/29/2007


Very cute! My daughter found it funny and I enjoyed reading it to her. I look forward to finding more of this author's books. BTW, my daughter is 2 years old.


Cold Sassy Tree (Cold Sassy, Bk 1)
Cold Sassy Tree (Cold Sassy, Bk 1)
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 9/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not my cup of tea. The thick southern colloquialisms ground my reading speed to an annoyingly slow, southern pace. At one point I thought there would be a pivotal event making it a worthwhile read, but it never happened. I know many people loved this book, it just wasn't for me. I never finished the book, life is too short for bad reading!!


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4402
Review Date: 9/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book was ok, although I didn't see the point to it... It definitely gives you the world view from a mentally challenged individual, but I didn't feel the story was that evolved. That being said, it was a quick read and I wouldn't say NOT to read it.


Ender's Game
Ender's Game
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 1/16/2008


30 years after it was written, it's a little outdated. I found several things annoying about this book, the dialog at the beginning of each chapter and the political themes, but this is just not my genre and I read it as part of my book club.


Gilbert the Great
Gilbert the Great
Author: Jane Clarke, Charles Fuge (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/29/2007


Very cute book. Especially if a child has a friend that has moved away and is sad about the experience, this could help them through that.


The Grouchy Ladybug
The Grouchy Ladybug
Author: Eric Carle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/18/2007


My daughter (2 years old) loves Eric Carle books. She particularly liked this book as it shows different animals and the pages are interactive. Very good book.


A House for Hermit Crab
A House for Hermit Crab
Author: Eric Carle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 9/29/2007


My duaghter enjoyed this book. As with all Eric Carle books, there is the lesson in the story, but many other lessons to be taught throughout the book. I don't think we've met an Eric Carle book we haven't liked yet!


If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (If You Give...)
Review Date: 9/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My daughter (2 years old) loves this series of books and likes to see what will happen next. I enjoy reading it to her, the illustrations are cute and we very much like this book. Enjoy!


If You Give a Pig a Pancake
If You Give a Pig a Pancake
Author: Laura Numeroff, Felicia Bond (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 9/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


My daughter loves this series (2 years old) and I enjoy reading it to her. The illustrations are adorable and we love to see what will happen next. I look forward to more books by this author.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5702
Review Date: 9/29/2007
Helpful Score: 17


This was well written, incredibly descriptive and a great story. Irony is found throughout the many twists and turns of this book. You will feel passionately about the charachters, both good and bad. Can't wait to see it in movie form and I hear his next book is even better.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3366
Review Date: 9/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was....interesting. If you can get through the first 100 pages or so, it gets better and there is quite a twist at the end. I read this for my book club and there was much to discuss about it. Not a quick read, but worth it in the end.


Maisy's Mix-And-Match Mousewear: 216 Different Outfits
Maisy's Mix-And-Match Mousewear: 216 Different Outfits
Author: Lucy Cousins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/29/2007


My daughter loves this book as she can "dress" Maisy for many different situations and mix and match and make up funny outfits. Recommended, but beware that the pages are thin and easily ripped if the child is rough with it.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5398
Review Date: 10/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The premise of this book was really intriguing and seemed there would be no way to mess it up. However, I was not really invested in the charachters and this was not a page-turner for me. It was a good story, but I just did't really feel involved or compelled to continue reading. I realize I may be in the minority here, but I am not overwhelmed by this book. A decent read, though.


Merry Christmas, Maisy
Merry Christmas, Maisy
Author: Lucy Cousins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/18/2007


My daughter LOVES Maisy!! She's 2 years old. This is one of her favorite books and brings it to me to read to her ALL THE TIME! My only complaint is that it has flaps to lift and pull tabs, etc and they are kind of on the small side and easily ripped. My daughter is actually quite careful with her books and does not rip them on purpose, etc, but she did tear one of the flaps. Otherwise, the book is quite cute.


Merry Christmas, Maisy
Merry Christmas, Maisy
Author: Lucy Cousins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/29/2007


My duaghter loves this book! Very cute for all your Maisy fans. Beware the lift the flap papers are quite small and thin and will be easily ripped and torn.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2500
Review Date: 9/29/2007
Helpful Score: 7


I LOVED THIS BOOK!! That being said, my best friend is trodding through it begrudgingly. For me it was one of my top 10 books I have ever read, I really enjoyed it, from beginning to end, I did not want to put it down. Several of my book club members told me they did not enjoy the beginning but liked it better once it got further along.


The Mixed-Up Chameleon
The Mixed-Up Chameleon
Author: Eric Carle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/18/2007


Eric Carle continues to entertain us over here in this household. My daughter (2 years old) loved to see the different parts of the animals on the chameleon and pointed out all the colors, the pages are interactive as usual and we loved this book.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: